Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant memory
Searching for the link between the burgeoning house and techno scene and the former wave of electronic pop, I came across E101 on the radio late one night. The song was Tell Me When The Fever Ended and I was captivated. If Yazoo had stayed together despite all the feuding and point-scoring for six years longer than they did, this is what it might've sounded like...
Published on 27 Aug 2006 by sonik57

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Smooth, classy House
Imagine Aretha Franklin backed by Kraftwerk! Electribe 101 were a UK synth-funk band from Birmingham with German songstress Billie Ray Martin on vocals. They produced intense dance pieces in an idiom variously described as "deep house", "trance dance" or "hypnosoul." The single Talking With Myself gave them a UK hit in 1990. Distinguished by captivating lyrics, songs such...
Published on 6 Dec 2002 by Pieter Uys


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant memory, 27 Aug 2006
This review is from: Electribal Memories (Audio CD)
Searching for the link between the burgeoning house and techno scene and the former wave of electronic pop, I came across E101 on the radio late one night. The song was Tell Me When The Fever Ended and I was captivated. If Yazoo had stayed together despite all the feuding and point-scoring for six years longer than they did, this is what it might've sounded like.

The first thing I noticed was Billie Ray Martin's emotive but subtle vocal qualities, singing of loss, regret and a whistfull experience that spoke of heartache and joy. Formed in Birmingham in the mid-eighties (a time when electro was experience a guitar-based backlash), E101 pulled together a good deal of what had gone before and added the embryonic Chicago house music of Fingers Inc and Marshall Jefferson to the Detroit techno of Juan Atkins and Derrick May to produce dance music with real subtlety and soul. They signed to London records and this is their debut (and only released) album.

Fever and the subsequent killer singles Talking With Myself and You're Walking are here but the album's other tracks stand up well too, especially Heading For The Night and Diamond Dove.

Even their name is interesting: Electribe has several connotations, denoting electronics and tribal following; 101 being part of a name of a classic Roland monosynth and also indicating intimacy: one-on-one.

Despite supporting Depeche Mode and Erasure (at the Wild! party at Milton Keynes), E101 never broke through to sustained big-time success. They demoed and recorded a second album for London which the label declined and they were dropped soon after. Billie went solo, releasing her fabulous debut Deadline For My Memories in 1995 on Magnet and the three blokes went onto form The Groove Corporation. BRM is still a major talent and I'm still one of her biggest fans.

What more can I say? Buy this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Old Skool House, 6 Mar 2005
This review is from: Electribal Memories (Audio CD)
I was lucky enough to see Electribe 101 play live as a warm-up to Depeche Mode in the early 90s where I basically heard this album for the first time. Back in the days when tape or vinyl was the big seller I bought it on tape but sadly lost it over the years. A top album with classic old house tunes..Billy Ray's vocals are unmistakable and this album certainly didnt get the recognition it trully deserved. Like the previous reviewer...its an album ahead of its time and still sounds fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original Chill-Out, Original House, Original Times!!!!, 17 Oct 2004
This review is from: Electribal Memories (Audio CD)
Stunning. Classic, early UK house with a Euro feel. Well ahead of it's time. Loved by those in the know! Deservably broke through to the mainstream but didn't sell out!
Beautiful, gut-wrenching sounds, draped in emotional, electro-licks.
If you know your stuff, you'll know E101 anyway, if you're don't BUY NOW and immerse yourself.....
e
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Electribal Memories, 3 July 2007
By 
J. J. Mcgirr "Hitherman" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Electribal Memories (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic album, not just because it holds great memories for me of dancing the night away in a long since defunct dance club in Deptford South London but also for the brilliant composition of each track and the shear brilliance of Billy's voice. crystal clear and shot with emotion and soul. Upbeat and, in some tracks, frantic but definatly not mediocre. 'Tell me when the fever ended' is anthemic in sound and 'Diamond dogs' is sultry and slick. This album is a journey through classic electric dance music. I can't recommend it enough, If you want to discover the true definition of early electro club dance music then get youself a copy of this album, you won't be dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hair Raising......, 16 Sep 2005
By 
Mr. RJ Rowley "Richie" (Kidderminster, Worcestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Electribal Memories (Audio CD)
What can I say. I had this album on tape in the early 90's when it first came out, and played it over and over. Now atlast I have the CD. You're walking is probably the most hair raising tune and compares to the likes of Massive Attack - Unfinished Sympathy. It's shame their isn't more of this band to listen to. Billie Ray Martin had huge potential.
If you like Massive Attack you will probably love this album. Go for it and you wont regret it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eclectic late 80's dance album ahead of it's time., 3 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Electribal Memories (Audio CD)
Low key basslines with the off-key cabaret vocals of Billie-Ray Martin. Unusual combination ideal for late-night background music. Still doesn't sound dated, 12 years on. A real smooth modern classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard to find, worth the effort, 6 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. C. J. Fitzgerald (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electribal Memories (Audio CD)
Having heard the main track; talking with myself, on some compilation or other, I checked this out on Spotify and decided to buy it. It was then that I realised that I couldn't find it in any record shops here or in America. Eventually I had to settle for a 'used copy' from Amazon.

It's perfect, just like new. The album itself is rather excellent. Great driving or chilling music. Billie Ray Martin, the vocalist, has such a mesmerising voice. What a shame that they disbanded after this their first and only album. The genre of 'electronic' is a ittle misleading as I would put it more into a sort of jazz/trance fusion category if one existed. Maybe I'm wrong. Anyway, worth adding to your collection even if only to play in the background when you are doing other things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electribal Memories, 17 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Electribal Memories (Audio CD)
Electribe 101 were at the very forefront of quality British music, and after hearing this cd after a very long absence,I can confirm that they are still there for me......this'll live forever!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Smooth, classy House, 6 Dec 2002
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Electribal Memories (Audio CD)
Imagine Aretha Franklin backed by Kraftwerk! Electribe 101 were a UK synth-funk band from Birmingham with German songstress Billie Ray Martin on vocals. They produced intense dance pieces in an idiom variously described as "deep house", "trance dance" or "hypnosoul." The single Talking With Myself gave them a UK hit in 1990. Distinguished by captivating lyrics, songs such as Tell Me When The Fever Ended and Lipstick On My Lover are perfect vehicles for Ray's icy cool voice. A little aloof perhaps, but this is an accomplished album that oozes class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6b55864)

This product

Electribal Memories
Electribal Memories by Electribe 101 (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews