Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
29
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 September 2004
For those of us who have reached mature age and understand quality this is the perfect combination !! The BEST music from Buddy Holly performed by the BEST guitarist, Hank Marvin makes this record THE best this side of heaven. There can be no doubt Hank is one great Buddy Holly-fan as he himself readily admits; it is easily noticed in his treatment of the fabulous treasure of music left to us by Buddy. Incidentally, why should this masterpiece be intended only for "those of us who have reached mature age" ???? Hey kids !!! Buy this one and feel your roots !!!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2000
With Hank Marvin's genius at the guitar and Buddy Holly's enduring appeal how could this CD miss.It's got "buy me" written all over it, especially for those of a "certain age".
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2002
The MUST be the best record ever made. (One of) the world's greatest guitarists plays the immortal music of (one of) the world's greatest Rock & Roll singer/songwriters. This combination simply cannot be surpassed ! It is virtually unbelievable the the recording industry did not pack up for good after the release of this record.
This is THE ULTIMATE RECORDING !!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2016
Hank Marvin playing the tunes of one the iconic masters of rock and roll, what more could you ask for, great choice of tracks played flawlessly as usual. Never get bored of listening to that Stratocaster sing in the hands of probably the best guitarist ever lived...... But as you have probably guessed, I am a Hank Marvin fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2015
This CD is Hank at his best in my opinion he did his best work when he and the shadows split from Cliff Richard, two other former members of the group who also whent on their own did very well, this CD has some exelent tunes on it for example Peggy sue and o boy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
5 out of 5 for the guitar playing but those dratted vocals spoil it. If I'd wanted vocals I'd have bought a Buddy Holly CD. Some of the tracks I'd most looked forward to were spoilt by vocals like "That'll be the day" and "Oh Boy". Even "Rave On" was destroyed.
Can't understand why CD makers imply instrumentals but can't resist adding vocals or backing vocals. It would be great if Hank made a 'Rock & Roll' CD with guitars only.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
Yet another brilliant CD by Hank Marvin and his musicians. Great guitar playing and arrangements of the late Buddy Holly's popular tunes.
Fully recommented to any Budsdy Holly fan or likewise Hank Marvin. This is a real treat for any lover of good music and would make fabulous party background music.
Thanks Hank!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2016
It's Hank Marvin as we know him playing a fitting instrumental tribute to Buddy Holly. It was Holly who influenced Marvin and this is his payback. Sadly Holly is not there to appreciate it, fortunately we can. Luckily Hank issued this album before his forays into 'gypsy' style music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
There's 2 minutes short of an hour on the 17 tracker on which Hank Marvin plus a number of session musicians play a selection of Buddy Holly songs
Faultless but I suppose one person will criticise it
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2009
I have to say I was more than delighted with `Hank Plays Holly'. Hank expresses in his inimitable style the clean-cut vintage tone of a Fender Stratocaster, the quality we all recognise as the classic Shadows sound. There are some interesting key changes that inject some vibrancy into Hank's renditions of the original tunes. But wisely he has resisted the temptation towards over-arrangement and simply lets the melodies speak for themselves. This is not an album only for Shadows or Buddy Holly fans, or the more mature amongst us. Whether you are a guitar player or not but appreciate the Stratocaster sound at its best you should certainly add this album to your music collection - you won't be disappointed. This is an album to be enjoyed time and time again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.98

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)