Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars go on then, another 5 star
i have owned this album since december 1993, when as a teenager in my penultimate year of high school, the whole 'grunge' thing was underway - i bought the cassette from grey & pinks record store on a trip to town after school - i remember the first time i had to listen to the whole album from start to finish, bizarrely, was on the way to participate in an indoor tennis...
Published on 8 Jan. 2010 by Quaddy

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Good.
Published 3 months ago by Anderson


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album Ever, 28 Feb. 2006
This review is from: Siamese Dream (Audio CD)
I have had this album for years, recently discovered it again. My god it is good. Ok so i am no typical pumpkin by everyone else's standards, but just something about it puts me in a weird trance. This album is a sound track to everyones life and just 'means' something when you listen to it. It will make you think for hours and sing along without realising. A must for anyone who considers themsleves a music fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Couldn't put it down". I can't explain it in the first line, 19 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Siamese Dream (Audio CD)
Simease Dream is undoubtedly one of the greatest CD's of all time. The first time I heard it, I was listening to "Today" and when it started I stopped the CD and paid for it. It is beyond words. The pure instrumental harmony expressed through out this album will leave you with goose bumps, Made whole with the voice that rocks the album. You don't even have to hear it, just go out and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gothic- yea right, 13 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Siamese Dream (Audio CD)
i was once told that smshing pumpkins are a useless no good gothic rock band. Whoever told me that must have been listening to a different album. Siamese dream's mix of emotionally crisp lyrics, powerful guitars and balanced drums is just out of this world. Billy Corgans gothic style take on life is haunting. from the heavy rock ballad "cherub rock" to the emotionally disturbing "disarm" this album is among the truly greatest albums of all time. Seeing this placed as 35th in the top albums of 1993 is a crime. Always at the top of my record collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Siamese Dream (Audio CD)
excellent everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Im hooked., 6 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Siamese Dream (Audio CD)
This is the first Smashing pumpkins album i bought and it wont leave my cd player.This album is so amazing,You wont need this album to grow on you trust me cause you will fall in love with it straight away!!!! So the only advice i can give you is buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Siamese Dream (Audio CD)
Perfect! Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pumpkins of the world unite, 16 Mar. 2005
This review is from: Siamese Dream (Audio CD)
Theres an album by The Smashing Pumpkins called Siamese Dream, and I love it so much. It's like every note, and every word of this album is written inside me - it creates an emotional reaction in me that nothing elso comes close to. Billy Corgan's vocals are so urgent, and so passionate, so authentic, and so from the gut - you can hear his yearning, his anger, his pain, his empathy, his love and his hunger and desperation. It sounds like he HAS to be singing these words, for the sake of his sanity. And he has so much to say - some people think Billy's lyrics are obtuse and difficult to understand, but if you know where he's coming from, they are really easy to connect with, and speak to a really deep part of you. They are wonderfully poetic, deeply personal, incredibly beautiful, and he absolutely means every word from the bottom of his soul. They are so intimate, it's as if hes poured his whole life, and all his thoughts and feelings into this album. And I just totally relate to the sense of restraint he feels - having so much love inside you, and not being able to express it, because theres all this stuff getting in the way. And because this album is so pained, i listen to it whenever i feel down, whenever i feel lonely and alienated and misunderstood, and it offers me a wonderful sense of community - i feel like theres someone in the world who understands how i feel, so i don't feel so alone, and i find it offers me some consolation. Listening to this album is like a cathartic experience for me, as it clearly was for Billy to make. And the music itself is so powerful - majestic, loud, beautiful and important. Music that demands your attention, hypnotises you and draws you in, and then pummels you in the head. The Smashing Pumpkins are a band that people are passionate about, a band that people hold close to their hearts, and they have some of the most rabid fans of any band, and i hope i have successfully communicated some of the reasons why in this review. This is an album that you can really fall in love with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What music is about ?, 16 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Siamese Dream (Audio CD)
For me this album defines everything that music can be. It is both light and dark, full of Corgan's powerfull metaphors on life and love. I was introduced to this record in 1995, and six years on, it has lost none of it's freshness, beauty and power. Even now it still takes me to places where I can feel happy, sad, lonely and hopefull, all in the space of an hour.
Corgan has to be recognised as the outstanding writer and musician of his or any other generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 Oct. 2014
By 
This review is from: Siamese Dream (Audio CD)
At their best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Siamese Dream [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Siamese Dream
Siamese Dream by Smashing Pumpkins (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews