Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Criminally underrated; one of Elton's best
A Single Man is probably the most underrated of Elton's albums. Maybe it got lost under the roar of punk rock in the late seventies; maybe the 2 year break after Blue Moves and such an apparently low-key return was a mistake but there are some absolute gems here. Part Time Love was a great slice of pop, It Ain't Gonna Be Easy is dark and brooding and Georgia and Shooting...
Published on 3 Mar 2002 by Anthony Lynas

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Single Man - bought for Return to Paradise
I wanted "Return to Paradise" and bought the CD to get it. I do like some of the other songs but not all of them.
Published 14 months ago by Mrs. Brown


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Criminally underrated; one of Elton's best, 3 Mar 2002
By 
Anthony Lynas (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Single Man (Audio CD)
A Single Man is probably the most underrated of Elton's albums. Maybe it got lost under the roar of punk rock in the late seventies; maybe the 2 year break after Blue Moves and such an apparently low-key return was a mistake but there are some absolute gems here. Part Time Love was a great slice of pop, It Ain't Gonna Be Easy is dark and brooding and Georgia and Shooting Star are great tunes as well - all that and Song for Guy as well. Even the bonus track Ego (a minor hit over here when it was a single only release) is creative golddust.
At the end of the day, this is a great album of 70s soul influenced pop, and while it might not be quite as good as Elton's very best albums (Tumbleweed Connection, Madman, Don't Shoot Me, Goodbye Yellow Brick Road and Blue Moves) it sits right behind them and a long long way ahead of what he is doing today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Singularly fabulous, 30 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Single Man (Audio CD)
This is my all time favourite of Elton's albums. My vinyl copy is scratched to bits from so much playing. It cheers me to hear this collection, from Shine on Through to Madness. Part-time love is a joyful song and the football chorus on Georgia makes me tingle. Song for Guy is excellent. If you are an Elton fan, you'll love this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lost But Not Forgotten, 30 Oct 2009
By 
Philip Evans (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Single Man (MP3 Download)
I first bought this album in 1978 and really liked it. Despite the absence of Bernie Taupin with the lyrics, this is still very listenable and will always remain dear if only for the one track "Song for Guy" which obviously comes from the heart.
I had copied this to an audio cassette and passed on the original vinyl, but then moved house and lost most of my cassettes in the process, so for all these years I have been without - until now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Single Man (Audio CD)
I used to have this on LP but lost it. Was overjoyed to listen to it again. One of Elton's finest with a real mix of songs, not in the classic Elton John style, but instantly recognisable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Record from Elton that deserves more., 13 Dec 2011
By 
David Calcano (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Single Man (Audio CD)
The first album without his famous lyricist Bernie Taupin... well, Elton got a a lot of grief because of Bernie's absence, we all love him; but I wouldn't dismiss this album just because he isn't there. In fact, this record has brilliance marked all over. Elton has more soul influences in the choruses, experimenting a lot more here, with his great piano playing and melodies untouched. If you are an Elton fan, by all means grab this album instantly, it has so many great songs that you won't believe is such an unknown record. I guarantee you some great hidden gems like 'Song for Guy' or the soulful country influenced 'Georgia'.

Let the music play!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classics, good songs . . . and a dud or two, 20 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Single Man (Audio CD)
This album contains an interesting mixture of songs of different styles - some fast, some slow; some loud, some quiet; some sensitive, some in-your-face . . . and even what is virtually an instrumental ( "Song for Guy" ); unfortunately, the result is that one or two songs are not quite so pleasant to listen to ( e.g. "Big Dipper" and the really quite awful "Madness", where - unusual for Elton John - there is rather more shouting or ranting than singing to be heard ). "Song for Guy" is, however, such a beautiful classic ( and a strong candidate for being Elton's best ever song ) that it alone would make the album worth buying, even if all the other songs were merely mediocre. That, however, is far from being the case - "Part Time Love", "Shine on Through" and "Georgia" being some other very notable stand-out tracks. Although this reissue contains 5 further bonus tracks that were not on the original album and that are actually rather mediocre, this fact cannot take anything away from the top quality of most of the rest . . . and the record can, after all, be switched off after the final lovely strains of the last "official" track, "Song for Guy", fade and die in the air.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Single Man (Audio CD)
Brilliant - I used to have this when it first came out, now I can enjoy it again. In quality sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overlooked, 16 July 2013
By 
Kenneth Mchardy "baronynine" (Bonnie Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Single Man (Audio CD)
This mid 70's album s often overlooked amidst the great Goodbye Yellow Brick Road and Captain Fantastic And The Brown Dirt Cowboy. Worth the price alone for "Ego"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Single Man, 7 July 2010
By 
John Barber (BIRMINGHAM, WEST MIDLANDS UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Single Man (Audio CD)
Not one of his best, but it has its good points. Namely "A Song For Guy."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Single Man - bought for Return to Paradise, 17 May 2013
By 
Mrs. Brown (Nottinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Single Man (Audio CD)
I wanted "Return to Paradise" and bought the CD to get it. I do like some of the other songs but not all of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Single Man
A Single Man by Elton John (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews