Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A greatly underated live album!
The Rolling Stones have been around for a VERY long time... so there are very few ideas they haven't tried several times. The concept of a live recording capturing the Stones not only in a stadium but also in a small club is a great one and was used in the excellent 2003 'Four Flicks' dvd.However, this idea was actually first used in nearly thirty years earlier in the now...
Published on 28 Aug 2007 by Nik

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't love this turkey - dead or alive!
Bought this on LP years ago, and recall selling it again very quickly due to horror and disappointment. As I've recently re-bought (now on CD) about 20 Stones studio albums, I thought I'd give this live one another chance. Uh-oh, as pitiful as I remember! It reminded me of the big sticking point : Jagger's vocals. You can't argue that he's allowed to be out of breath from...
Published 15 months ago by Mr. David Watson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A greatly underated live album!, 28 Aug 2007
By 
Nik (Hull, East Riding Of Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love You Live (Audio CD)
The Rolling Stones have been around for a VERY long time... so there are very few ideas they haven't tried several times. The concept of a live recording capturing the Stones not only in a stadium but also in a small club is a great one and was used in the excellent 2003 'Four Flicks' dvd.However, this idea was actually first used in nearly thirty years earlier in the now forgotten 'Love You Live'!
At the the time there was a very real feeling that the band were about to end; Keith Richards seemed bound for jail following the infamous Toronto bust and and by popular consensus the Stones had lost their way in an excesses of the rock n' roll lifestyle - producing substandard music after their creative peak between 1968 and 1972.
The idea that this- to quote an old Stones song- is the 'last time' you'll hear the Stones is a marketing ploy they have endlessly reused to promote every tour they undertake! But in 1977, there was a very real sense that this was a swansong, that the Stones were redeeming themselves just before their demise. Of course, NOW the popular story is that the 'Some Girls' album of 1978 was the band's return to form and 'Love You Live' is mistakenly viewed as part of the Stones' dodgy mid seventies period.
There is something heroic about success at the brink of failure, more heroic than simply being good when all is well. In these terms 'Love You Live' is the ultimate Stones album. Three sides of the album are from a 1976 concert at Les Abattoirs in Paris. This show took place shortly after the death of Keith Richards's newborn child. That the show took place at all is, incredible, that its so good is amazing. In the first track, 'Honky Tonk Women', Keith's guitar sounds ragged, he badly misses a chord and Mick says "C'mon baby!" However the rest of the song is note perfect with a solo by Keith that is jaw dropping; this recovery is really something to hear!
The sides from Les Abattoirs stand as a reminder of just how long the Stones have played their 'greatest hits' live show, with only a few later written favourites like 'Miss You' and 'Start Me Up' absent from the track list. However there are also some great seventies tracks like 'Hot Stuff' and 'Fingerprint File' that really groove. The band's energy level is top notch, Jagger's singing largely excellent (though a bit out of puff on an otherwise brilliantly played 'Jumping Jack Flash'). The guitar interplay between Keith and -then-new boy Ronnie Wood is more akin to the lead/rhythm model used by Keith and Mick Taylor then the 'ancient art of weaving' that evolved in later years but it works well and Ronnie has some great solos.
The club recording on side three -at least on my old vinyl copy! - from El Mocambo in Toronto in March 1977 is REALLY impressive. Remember this concert was recorded as Keith was awaiting his legal verdict. This is the sound of a band staring down the barrel of a gun and playing their socks off! Old blues standard 'Mannish Boy' is slightly marred by Jagger's mannered singing but his harmonica part is great and the music really cooks with inspired guitar interplay between Keith and Ronnie (noticeably better than on the Les Abattoirs tracks the year before). `Crackin' Up' is a rare reggae track that is brilliant in a very sexist way! `Little Red Rooster' evokes the original Stones sound to a degree that Brian Jones would've been proud of and the closing Chuck Berry cover `Round and Round' features an electrifying solo from Keith -that noticeably excites Mick's singing - and CAN'T be played too loud!
Listened to in 2007, this album reminds you just how GOOD the Stones were in their -comparative- youth. The music is played with conviction and energy long since lost to them (not that they don't excite these days though!) and is a reminder that even as late as 1977 they really were a truly great band. Get a copy of this forgotten classic and turn up the volume!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crackin' Up to Hot Stuff, 30 July 2013
This review is from: Love You Live (Audio CD)
Disc I

01 Intro
02 Nonky Tonk Woman
03 If You Can't Rock Me/Get Off My Cloud
04 Happy
05 Hot Stuff
06 Star****er
07 Tumbling Dice
08 Fingerprint File
09 You Gotta Move
10 You Can't Always Get What You Want

Disc II

01 Mannish Boy
02 Cradkin' Up
03 Little Red Rooster
04 Around And Around
05 It's Only Rock `N Roll (But I Like It)
06 Brown Sugar
07 Jumpin' Jack Flash
08 Sympathy For The Devil

This is a great live album with recordings from America in 1975, from Europe in 1976 and from the El Mocambo Club in Toronto in 1977. As well as the Keith Richards/Mick Jagger compositions they play songs by the likes of Mississippi Fred McDowell and Rev. Gary Davis, Bo Diddley, Chester Burnett and Willie Dixon, and Chuck Berry.

This is a CD that I come back to time and time again, I particularly like Keith's Hot Stuff and the songs from the El Mocambo.

Some songs apparently over-dubbed after the initial recordings but hey still a great set or live recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of their better live albums, 4 July 2013
By 
Mr. R. Powell (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love You Live (Audio CD)
The first album you hear by your favourite bands is often the one that makes a great impression, and this was my experience with this album. It was 1978 I was 13 and just discovering the delights of rock music. My cousin had this album and let me borrow it. Of course I had heard of The Rolling Stones but (And I know you might find this surprising)I had never heard anything by them. By the time I'd finished listening to this I certainly wanted to hear more.

I can never understand why critics and many fans see this as a poor album, to me it is what The Stones are all about. Yes it's a bit sloppy in places, but that's what rock'n' roll is all about, it's not about perfection. If you want perfection head off to the classical or opera section, r'n'r is about a bunch guys playing and singing in the garage, it's about the 'feel' and attitude of the music as much as the execution. And believe me there is plenty of attitude on this album.

It all kicks off with 'Honky Tonk Women', Keef hits those opening chords, Charlies drums kick in and you can hear the crowd clapping and know that Jagger's strutting his stuff around the stage and then he starts singing all sloppy and arrogant. Many have tried to copy him but few have managed to master it and none have have managed to better it. After that the setlist includes many of the usual suspects with a few lesser known tracks thrown in. I love the performance of 'You Can't Always get What You Want' on here, no choir, no French horn, just the band, it's certainly my favourite live performance of the song. Side three (Vinyl enthusiasts, tracks 1-4 disc 2 the rest of you)is from a small club date and has four songs from their formative years including faithful renditions of Muddy Waters' 'Mannish Boy' and Chuck Berry's 'Around and Around' showing they knew their blues and their roots. And at the end the old war horses are dragged out for some really rockin' and lively performances again capturing the whole essence of The Stones live, spot the bum chord in 'Jumpin Jack Flash'.

This is not The Stones' best live album, that award goes to 'Get Yer Ya's Ya's Out' but it's better than 'Still Life', 'Flashpoint' and 'Got Live If You Want It' (You don't). Give it a go and see what their live reputation was built on, but if you want to know the heights they were really capable of reaching in the '70's head over to their website and download 'The Brussels Affair'. That night they really were cookin'!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved-up Live, 31 Jan 2012
By 
Alan Robert Lancaster (Forest Gate, London E7, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love You Live (Audio CD)
A great album this, with all the atmosphere of a live concert. As well as some punchy tracks like 'Hot Stuff' and 'Mannish Boy' performed for a receptive audience, there's a jokey introduction to the band members by Mick, and Ronnie grabs the mike to tell everyone about the 'new boy in the band' - Mick. A must-have for Stones' camp-followers and long-time (as well as long-in-the-tooth) fans like yours truly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 stars. Great live material, 1 Aug 2003
By 
Docendo Discimus (Vita scholae) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Love You Live (Audio CD)
Almost all of the Stones' numerous live albums are worth a listen, even if some are markedly better than others, and to me "Love You Live" is among the best.

Great sound, good "live" feel, and the arrangements and the playing are different enough compared to the album versions to make it interesting.
Jagger's vocal on "Honky Tonk Women" sounds just a little bit tired compared to the one on "Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out", but it's not bad at all, and Keith Richards' chunky rhythm guitar playing is rock-steady all the way through.

The Stones do a killer rendition of the sleazy up-tempo rocker "Star Star", pure Chuck Berry with a mean streak. They groove on the slow blues "You Gotta Move" and perform excellent live versions of "It's Only Rock 'N' Roll" and the irresistable "Brown Sugar", and the seven-minute epic "You Can't Always Get What You Want" is laid-back and loose without being sloppy or disinterested. "Sympathy For The Devil" is suitably menacing

New lead guitarist Ron Wood fills Mick Taylor's shoes with no problem, and the band's sound is fleshed out by keyboardist/organist Billy Preston (who played with the Beatles) and pianist Ian Steward, the original sixth Stone. Stewart in particular plays some wonderful boogie piano.
The band tackles the classics during a little "blues set" on disc two, performing a surprisingly authentic-sounding "Mannish Boy" (the Muddy Waters number), a superbly groovy "Crackin' Up" (I'm not sure that's what he sings during the chorus, though), and a fine take on Howlin' Wolf's "The Little Red Rooster" with some great slide guitar. Okay, so Jagger isn't the Wolf, but he does a good job.

This fine album can be enjoyed by hardcore fans and more casual ones alike, since it boasts a strong song selection as well as showcasing some lesser-known gems that don't usually show up on various Stones compilations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ROLLING STONES - AT THEIR BEAUTIFUL BEST, 9 Dec 2000
This review is from: Love You Live (Audio CD)
This album is amazing. The rolling stones - perhaps the best riffs band ever, are her, at their most best live. This album captures them at their peak with superb performances such as you cant always get what you want, happy and jumpin jack flash, which are unmatched by any other live album. Its mix of huge rock riffs and catchy tunes which merge to produce a mass of easy-listening tracks which is often hard to cpature with live albums. For any stones fans it's got to be a sure buy, the band are captured superbly here and that is all there is to say - i mean the best band in the world at their best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ROLLING STONES - AT THEIR BEAUTIFUL BEST, 9 Dec 2000
This review is from: Love You Live (Audio CD)
This album is amazing. The rolling stones - perhaps the best riffs band ever, are her, at their most best live. This album captures them at their peak with superb performances such as you cant always get what you want, happy and jumpin jack flash, which are unmatched by any other live album. Its mix of huge rock riffs and catchy tunes which merge to produce a mass of easy-listening tracks which is often hard to cpature with live albums. For any stones fans it's got to be a sure buy, the band are captured superbly here and that is all there is to say - i mean the best band in the world at their best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love you live, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love You Live (Audio CD)
one of the many best live albums s of the rolling stones in there prime with the music and mick jagger at there best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars power & glory, 1 Mar 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love You Live (Audio CD)
Keith Richards takes this album where it's going - all the rest is commentary.
The commentary is of course all-out brilliant, the perfect setting for a man intent on wresting salvation from his music. Woody is a fine foil for Keith, and the whole band (as well as the mix, praise be) defers to the guitarists' "ancient form of weaving" as they shimmer and prowl and snarl and roar through some of the most ferocious and sensuous renditions ever of this exceptionally well-chosen material.
In other words: Here are the Stones getting right down into the thick of the rock & roll soup where they belong. Even if you don't know what was going on in the band's, and especially Keith's, offstage life on the dates these recordings were made, it's impossible not to be riveted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't love this turkey - dead or alive!, 6 April 2013
By 
This review is from: Love You Live (Audio CD)
Bought this on LP years ago, and recall selling it again very quickly due to horror and disappointment. As I've recently re-bought (now on CD) about 20 Stones studio albums, I thought I'd give this live one another chance. Uh-oh, as pitiful as I remember! It reminded me of the big sticking point : Jagger's vocals. You can't argue that he's allowed to be out of breath from his moving around, as the singing is abominable from the very git-go. I don't care whether this gig has a "club" atmosphere or "arena" atmosphere. Bad vocals are bad vocals. Jagger just doesn't care. I'll stick with my first impressions, and if I want to hear GOOD live Stones, I'll stick with Ya-Ya's or one of several bootlegs I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love You Live
Love You Live by The Rolling Stones (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews