Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joni - don't stop!
I just love this album - everything about it is wonderful.
Joni's singing is superb - the set is laden with gentle, subtle, tuneful songs, but listen to the lyrics and the messages are there for us to hear, but not rammed doww your throat.
In an album which does not have even an average song - no weak links here - my favourite is "No Apologies". The message of...
Published on 9 Feb 2003 by Cloudberry

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best album from Joni.
A possible follow up to Turbulent Indigo but not as good. For me this is not Joni at her best.
Published 5 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joni - don't stop!, 9 Feb 2003
This review is from: Taming The Tiger (Audio CD)
I just love this album - everything about it is wonderful.
Joni's singing is superb - the set is laden with gentle, subtle, tuneful songs, but listen to the lyrics and the messages are there for us to hear, but not rammed doww your throat.
In an album which does not have even an average song - no weak links here - my favourite is "No Apologies". The message of anger at what is happening in the world comes across, but with quiet authority, pedal steel guitar and Joni's unmistakable guitar picking. This is typical - throughout, the musicianship is top-notch, very much understated and enhances her singing.
If you loved "Turbulent Indigo", and thought it would be hard to beat, I urge you to listen to "Taming The Tiger" and you will find that it has exceeded it's predecessor. What is more, the booklet of lyrics and paintings is, as you might expect of Joni, wondrous.
Joni is an icon who, it appears from reports, may stop recording (is she disenchanted?). I suggest that other artists would still learn a great deal from Joni and I hope she continues to grace our CD players with new material for many more years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another musical breakthrough for Ms Mitchell, 7 Jan 2000
By 
Mr Jamie A Zubairi (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Taming The Tiger (Audio CD)
After the double Grammy she received for Turbulent Indigo, Joni Mitchell returns from her artistic sabbatical with even more flair. After Fred Wallecki persuaded her not to give up recording by pushing a VG-8 into her hands, this new guitar has provided her with an even greater musical muse. Starting off with the exuberant 'Harlem In Havana', Joni revisits places she grew up in as a child and writes an untypical sounding song (for her and anyone else!)which kicks the album into a new area and makes sure her audience knows where she is going.
An album full of reminisces, old and new, about family, her new boyfriend, about the music business. Highlights include the deeply heartfelt 'Stay In Touch', 'Love Put's On A New Face' and the evocative 'Man From Mars'. Not shying away from world issues, her 'No Apologies' is hard hitting, while 'Lead Balloon' is pure bite. This album points forward to beyond her upcoming album, 'Both Sides, Now' which is an album of standards recorded with the London Symphony Orchestra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As moving as ever, 28 Aug 2001
By 
Gareth Smyth "Enjilos" (County Mayo, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Taming The Tiger (Audio CD)
We've grown older with Joni Mitchell and some of the songs here reflect the passage of the years. The music is as moving, sharp and intelligent as ever, with wonderful saxophone from the great Wayne Shorter and insistent drumming from Brian Blade (I see Joni returns the compliment by singing on Brian's Perceptual Album). Joni has always been a great jazz singer and she sounds specially fine with jazz players (check her Summertime on Herbie Hancock's Gershwin's World). Nice length too. Just becuase a CD can hold 60 minutes of music doesn't always mean it should be filled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars '...another remarkable achievement...', 15 Jan 2010
This review is from: Taming The Tiger (Audio CD)
If your awareness of Joni Mitchell's musical achievements doesn't extend beyond, say 'Big Yellow Taxi' or 'Both Sides Now' then you really need to come to this album via 'Blue' and 'Court and Spark' and possibly even 'Hissing of Summer Lawns' to really appreciate what is going on here. In 'Taming the Tiger' you find all the wonderful combinations of the ingredients - melodies, harmonies instrumentations and lyrics - to be found in the likes of 'Night Ride Home' and 'Turbulent Indigo' but much more subtly presented almost as a series of personal musings on what has gone before. The first time I listened to it I got the feeling that it was a kind of postscript on the final page of a musical autobiography. It certainly wasn't the last album she made, but it does feel that it may well have been intended as such! Another remarkable achievement from someone who to all intents and purposes is the perfect singer/songwriter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best album from Joni., 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taming The Tiger (Audio CD)
A possible follow up to Turbulent Indigo but not as good. For me this is not Joni at her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 20 Jun 2011
By 
Buben "Buben" (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Taming The Tiger (Audio CD)
One of the best Joni's albums. I've been playing it 1000 times and gave this CD as a present to all of my friends. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed, 16 Mar 2012
This review is from: Taming The Tiger (Audio CD)
I was dissapointed with this CD at first, but tracks 8.9.10 redeemed the album for me - face lift is beautiful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Taming The Tiger
Taming The Tiger by Joni Mitchell (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews