Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sell-outs - NOT Hole
...I've got to say that I love this album. It's a far cry from Pretty On The Inside and Live Through This, but bands are always being critised for churning out the same music - it's a good change. I must admit I like punk Hole best, but this without a question is rock album, just not punk/grunge. The songs are flawlessly written - music and lyrics, and the album has...
Published on 21 Jan 2000 by glitterbabydoll@hotmail.com

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Awful... Yes Indeedy!
Courtney Love is at it (again) with her middle-of-the-road "Alternative Rock" that doesn't sound very alternative at all, it pretty much sounds like a bad Smashing Pumpkins rip-off.
Hole did have something different to offer when they started, but now it's getting very old, the only saving grace to this album is songs such as "Dying" and "Malibu" which might offer a...
Published on 18 Feb 2011 by Ms. L. J. Braisby


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sell-outs - NOT Hole, 21 Jan 2000
This review is from: Celebrity Skin (Audio CD)
...I've got to say that I love this album. It's a far cry from Pretty On The Inside and Live Through This, but bands are always being critised for churning out the same music - it's a good change. I must admit I like punk Hole best, but this without a question is rock album, just not punk/grunge. The songs are flawlessly written - music and lyrics, and the album has been very well produced. There is a variety of different songs from the pure pop of 'Heaven Tonight', to the punk os 'Reasons to Be Beautiful' and 'Playing Your Song', to the atmospheric nature of 'Northern Star' and 'Dying'. The variety is amazing, and all the tracks are strong. Celebrity Skin is a brilliant opening track and things only get better. The tunes might sound 'pop' to Hole's hardcore fans, but there are messages in the lyrics and plenty of references to the late Kurt Cobain. I doubt very much that Hole have 'sold-out' - just changed. Standout tracks include: Celebrity Skin, Petals, Reasons to Be Beautiful, Playing Your Song, Boys on The Radio, in fact to me all of them are standout tracks. This isn't as good as Live Through This, however it is difficult to compare them as they are so different. I'd recommend this to Hole fans (even Pretty On The Inside fans), give it a try and don't write Courtney off as a sellout, she may be a movie star now, but she still has the punk ethics that sh has always had. Also new Hole material suggests that this 'pop' stage may well be only temporary. Just enjoy the album for what it is - a work of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hole have got it to perfection!, 11 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Celebrity Skin (Audio CD)
As soon as the song 'Celebrity Skin' hit my ears I knew I'd made the right decision when buying this album. It has a wonderfull track listing full of songs that are unique in sound, style, and rythmn. Its one of those albums that makes you sit down, drop everything and just listen. It is a beautifully written, composed, and performed album. The track 'Reasons to be beautiful' explores the thoughts of LOVE and has a very deep and meaningful undertone. The album shows a more mature side to the band, with LOVE expressing herself over death, life, and love. This album is a mix of emotions which fit together perfectly to create a sensational album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's not "Live Through This #2". But so what?, 22 Feb 2000
This review is from: Celebrity Skin (Audio CD)
"Live Through This" is my favourite album of all time. Without exception. But I'm sick of the slagging that "...Skin" has received. It's got a couple of...bummers on it - but most of the tracks are fine, well above average rock songs. The title track is as tight a rock song as you could hope for. Hook, attitude - it's all there. "Hit so hard" is bitter/sweet and twisted. "Awful" isn't. Isn't awful, I mean. "Reasons to be beautiful" kicks, as they say, ass. Compare this with most of the dross that passes for Indie music...This is better by far. It's NOT "Live Through This" but please, critics, be honest - this is a good album, for all that...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It smells like girl, 27 Nov 2006
This review is from: Celebrity Skin (Audio CD)
Once again Hole have brought us a raw insightful and lyrically fantastic album. The band have once again covered a wide range of topics in Courtney Loves lyrics and also a selection of up tempo feminist anthems combined with beautiful ballads all in a 12 song album.

The lyrics are ingenious in `Hit So Hard' the lyrics make you wonder what exactly Courtney's voice is describing the immediate reaction to this song is to think that she is talking about Domestic abuse as in the song `He hit me (and it felt like a kiss)' but on further listening I feel that it is the feeling of seeing the most beautiful boy you have ever seen from across the room I think that she is in fact describing that feeling but the intelligent lyrics make both ideas possible and mean that the listener can draw form their own experiences and interpret the song in the way they feel appropriate.

Overall the lyrics on this album are some of Courtney Loves best, this is Courtney Love and Hole after having to hide from the bad publicity Courtney Love was receiving after the death of Kurt Cobain they came back triumphant though with a marvellous album- Celebrity Skin.

The ordeal and loss Love had gone through shine through in `Playing your song' the only song on this album in which her voice sounds angry.

By far the songs on this album I personally think are best are `Dying' and Reasons to be beautiful. In `Dying' Love's Voice pierces the air almost pleading "Remember - you promised me" it is with these lyrics that sting when listening to this song. Reasons to be beautiful is a finely polished rock song the lyrics plead, question and show aggression.

This is an album for the girls, through the songs it tells a story the story of what it is to be female.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars i need to be under your skin...., 14 Aug 2005
This review is from: Celebrity Skin (Audio CD)
yeah so courtney love went hollywood..get over it. she still rocks and this cd is proof. whether you wanna sing along, dance or cry this is the cd for you. its packed full of raw emotion and great tunes such as the infamous title track and the other two singles you may of heard 'awful' and 'malibu' but there are some real gems in here in the form of northern star and reasons to be beautiful amazing songs they are indeed so if you want some good pure rock music with a hint of pop buy this gem! if you want courtney and co with more of an edge buy pretty on the inside or live through this, but in my eyes they are all classics!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Celebrity Skin (Audio CD)
I absolutely love this album, thanx to it and to Hole's past albums Courtney has become one of my idols! The opening song "Celebrity Skin" Is perfect kicking off with strong and powerfull power chords. My overall favorite song and by far the best has to be "Malibu" Courtneys voice is melodic, however this song always manages to end with my friends and I in tears. Courtney has taken a lot of critisism from the press and faithfull Nirvana fans ever scince Kurt Cobains death, therefore this album seems a perfect was for Courney to fight back and show the critics that she's capeable of more than people think and stronger at that! Give Courtney a chance, because with this album, critics will only end up making a fool out of themselves if they even try to put it down! EXCELLENT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love pop music, 9 April 2008
By 
D. L. Wilkinson "Dean" (London,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Celebrity Skin (Audio CD)
Pop.Why are some so scared of that little three letter word.
Sue I love Napalm Death,My Dying Bride and Enslaved,but why should that mean I shouldn't like Gwen Stefani,Kelis and Daft Punk.Anyone says I shouldn't,who cares.
Hole go pop,great.
Like Courtney said,"sometimes I want to sound like grindcore,and other times I want to sound like raspberries style pop".Makes perfect sense to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect (or as close to), 22 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Celebrity Skin (Audio CD)
I wasnt sure whether to buy this CD after i saw the reviews, being discribed as "Awful" I'm a new HOLE fan and dont have this CD to compare against the others. But, i brought it anyway and gave it a go. I knew as soon as i heard Celebrity skin that i'd made the right choice. Everything about this CD is perfect, even down to the way Courtney ends the song and the way the drum beats go with the mood of the song. I'd say have an open mind, and dont compare it to the other albums, This shows HOLE has grown up and dont hate the world as much as before. Definitely worth 5 stars! *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE this album!, 16 July 2000
This review is from: Celebrity Skin (Audio CD)
Celebrity Skin is a great album. Many screamed sell out when it came out, but they were a little off the mark. It has some real classics on it. Celebrity Skin is a great song and was a great lead-off single to signal Hole's new direction. Other good songs are Dying, a really emotive number, Awful, Malibu and Boys on the Radio. In fact, there isn't a weak number on the set. Although the melodies are bright and breezy (it is known as the band's 'California album'), Courtney's lyrics remain as cutting and insightful as ever. All in all, a really great album. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a glorious, pop, rock transformation, 12 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Celebrity Skin (Audio CD)
Celebrity Skin was never going to be one of those easy releases. Courtney Love was never one of the most popular female icons of the 90's. Indeed releasing music in the rock genre was always asking for trouble, with half of her fanbase being Nirvanan fans that had turned against her. However, even in the light of the Kurt and Courtney film, Celebrity Skin the single triumphantly made its debut, suggesting an exciting offer of what the album was to be like. But, celebrity Skin the album is nothing like the simple, rocky, venemous single. It is smooth, poptastic and emotional. Songs like Awful, Malibu and Heaven tonight are gorgeously tinged with gold. Northern Star and Petals are emotion ripped to the barest essentials and perhaps give an insight into the true Courtney - something I think she likes to hide with all her recent glamour. It seems that the same themes are running through. Such as on Boys on the radio and playing your song which is very anti-establishment. These show similarities with previous album's Live through this and Pretty on the inside. Many say Hole have sold out, but all that has happened is that they have modernised. With a gloriously produced sound that shows off the beautiful lyrics, hole continue to kick ass!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Celebrity Skin
Celebrity Skin by Hole (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews