Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re-arrange the tracks and get the ultimate Who album
There's a requirement: you need a cd player that allows for programming a playlist from a CD (or you can rip it to your computer and burn a copy of the 1974 edition).
This is not an original LP, but a compilation of rarities and oddities recorded by the who during their first 10 years of career. John Entwistle did the work himself. Such stuff is usually for...
Published 13 months ago by Al Most

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good cd....but you also need the vinyl
The cd is good with bonus tracks,but it's well worth owning the vinyl version if you can get a copy.
There are differences to several tracks such as 'Postcard' , 'I'm The Face' and 'Glow Girl'.
The vinyl tracks have a more raw feel to them (not like the remixed cd version).Get a copy of the vinyl and you'll see what i mean.
Published on 21 Sep 2011 by Mrs. T. Stratton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re-arrange the tracks and get the ultimate Who album, 5 Nov 2013
By 
Al Most (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Odds & Sods (Audio CD)
There's a requirement: you need a cd player that allows for programming a playlist from a CD (or you can rip it to your computer and burn a copy of the 1974 edition).
This is not an original LP, but a compilation of rarities and oddities recorded by the who during their first 10 years of career. John Entwistle did the work himself. Such stuff is usually for completists only. But the Who being the Who, in their case, the story is different.
The original 11-track LP released in 1974 is unbelievably consistent. It sounds like one original album recorded during a single session. Stylistically, it lies halfway between Sell Out and Who's next. Out of the 11 tracks, only two are of a slightly lesser relevance (Faith in Something Bigger and Long Live Rock). The 9 other tracks are masterpieces fully representative of the unique sound and style of the Who. As such, the album comes on a par with Who's Next, and possibly ahead of all the other Who studio albums (which is very strange thing to say considering other Who albums include Tommy, Quadrophenia or Sell Out).
Unfortunately, the songs that were added in the remastered version add very little to the album. And the chronological order of the songs kills the consistence and special feel of the original LP. So, you need to re-arrange the tracks in the original order:
- Postcard
- Now I'm a farmer
- Put the money down
- Little Billy
- Too much of anything
- Glow Girl
- Pure and easy
- Faith in something bigger
- I'm the face
- Naked Eye
- Long live Rock
And then, play it loud and often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Odds and Sods and then some, 30 Jan 2009
This review is from: Odds & Sods (Audio CD)
A review of this album back in 1974 stated "The Who's outtakes are more interesting than most band's albums" or such. Here's a thing which The Who have in common with Bob Dylan; both have a mountain of unreleased gems sitting in the vaults. At least nowadays Ol' Bob is getting around to releasing his via The Bootleg Series. This collection was compiled by John eEntwistle while The Who were having another hiatus from recording and touring, and while Townshend and Daltrey were heavily involved with Tommy the Movie. Townshend did produce the review of the album for the NME, hilarious in itslef, and used as the liner notes. The original album contained many gems, including almost all of the "Lost 1969 EP", outtakes from "Who's Next", treasures from the abandoned 1972 album, and hard-to-obtain rareities. The expanded edition almost doubles the amount of material, and is even better than the original, even if errors have been made in the notes for lineage etc. You can compile the alternative "Who's Next", burn yourself a copy of that lost EP, marvel at the astounding sound quality of the really early Who, and spend many an evening thinking about what might have been if this lot had only had more focus and single-minded ambition. But that's The Who for you.

trivia; look closely at the names on the helmets. Roger allegedly bought them during the fractious Quadrophenia US Tour of 1973, to show that when they put their heads together it spelled "R-O-C-K"! But some sizes wre wrong, so swapping around had to happen. Townshend tore up the photo to be used for the cover, changed his mind, glued it together and hey-presto! The album was the first to have titles on the cover in braille for blind fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well chosen reissue, 17 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Odds & Sods (Audio CD)
This album is worth owning even if you have the original (which I have) and showcases some great early covers of rock n'roll songs plus the wonderful electric version of "Love ain't for keeping," other new additions include the sardonic "Cousin Kevin, model child," and the superb "Water" these tracks are backed up by stage standards such as "Long live rock," and "Naked Eye," well worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost essential, 5 Mar 2004
By 
Ec Tipton "donkey_sandwich" (Hereford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Odds & Sods (Audio CD)
This CD is a great improvement on the original vinyl version. The original was less than half the length and features very little essential material at all. This expanded remastered version features much more stuff, nearly all of which much more essential to the original album, and somehow the songs from the original album sound better too. The remastered sound quality is excellent and the song sequencing is much better too. It doesn't quite deserve five stars but is still pretty much essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OUTSTANDING ALBUM, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odds & Sods (Audio CD)
I HAVE WANTED THIS ALBUM FOR YEARS AND YEARS.SO WHEN I SAW IT FOR SALE THROUGH AMAZON,I COULD NOT LET IT GO.MYSELF AND MY NAIM AND SPENDER SYSTEM HAVE NOT LOOKED BACK SINCE.I HAVE SEEN THE WHO LIVE TWICE,AND THIS JUST ADDS TO MY PLEASURE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars all who fans should have this. indispensible, 20 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odds & Sods (Audio CD)
all who fans should have this. indispensible, even if you have the vinyl version Who outakes are sometimes more interesting hat the 'proper' versions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a grower, 19 Mar 2013
This review is from: Odds & Sods (Audio CD)
I bought this CD with fond memories of the original LP - a flatmate of mine many years ago had a copy. More precisely, I bought it for a handful of tracks - Glow Girl, Pure and Easy and Naked Eye.

It is clear that this isn't the same album that I remember, despite the fact that the name and cover art are the same. There are more tracks, and the order of the 'familiar' ones is different. I'm sure, too, that some of the mixes are different.

So far, so confusing. But I'm listening away and finding more and more of interest. I feel that sometimes with Who out-takes, it is easy to see why they didn't make the cut, but many of these do repay a listen - actually several listens! As a sucker for Quadrophenia, I am really enjoying the 1973 material on the CD. Also, I'm fascinated by the studio version of Young Man Blues - a track so famous from Live at Leeds, and which surely did so much to launch the more visceral hard rock of the 70s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Faith in something smaller, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odds & Sods (Audio CD)
Review of the MCA pre-1998 version of 'Odds & Sods' (MCAD-1659):
Despite the 1998 revamp edition of 'Odds & Sods' being lavished with an additional 12 extra songs, it didn't convince or satisfy in the way that the original record did. John Entwistle's 1974 curating of the album assembled the songs in a humorous manner, juxtaposing ballads against rockers, silly songs against serious pieces, presenting an incomplete jigsaw puzzle image of the band (the shoddily-repaired torn photo on the front cover underlines the intentionally scrappy feel of the project), whereas the Jon Astley-remastered reissue re-ordered the songs in a fake chronological order, thereby ruining the original concept of the album, and also cleaned up and smoothed out the overall sound, mixing Moon's clattering drumming down and effectively neutering much of the energy. Excellent though it is to hear the likes of 'Quadrophenia' outtake 'We Close Tonight', my personal preference is for the old premastered MCA 11-song CD with Entwistle's delightfully eccentric running order and truer-to-the-spirit warts-and-all mixes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I call this a bargain...., 3 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. A. P. Jennings (Berkhamsted, Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odds & Sods (Audio CD)
Smashing addition to any Who collection or indeed a smashing primer for a Who career overview. I must confess to a preference for the earlier material (I can't get enough versions of them playing 'Leaving Here'), but even the post-Mod rock poses are great, better than many bands best bits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oooooooooooooo, 28 April 2012
By 
This review is from: Odds & Sods (Audio CD)
These tracks remind me of everything good about the whooooooo. Roger pete kieth and John playing b sides at there best.
A must have album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Odds & Sods [CASSETTE]
Odds & Sods [CASSETTE] by The Who (Audio Cassette - 1989)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews