Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best sets he has put onto record
I have most of his albums, so also have these tracks, but this latest cut of the album is sharper and clearer than the previous copy as it is now 20 bit repro. The production is first class and so it is a great CD to put on and just leave playing. Few artists can say that an album can just be left to repeat for hours without the listener becoming bored. Van can.
Published on 7 Jan 2000

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars rushed songs
Disappointed can't beat earlier albums, sounded like it was quickly put together, miss tone and atmosphere of Van. Wish I had not bought it.
Published 2 months ago by Deborah M.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best sets he has put onto record, 7 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best of Van Morrison (Audio CD)
I have most of his albums, so also have these tracks, but this latest cut of the album is sharper and clearer than the previous copy as it is now 20 bit repro. The production is first class and so it is a great CD to put on and just leave playing. Few artists can say that an album can just be left to repeat for hours without the listener becoming bored. Van can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the best, 16 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best of Van Morrison (Audio CD)
Indispensible. If you're not sure about Van Morrison, buy this and I guarantee you'll be hooked. Classics you'll recognise in an instant, such as Moondance and Bright Side of the Road, abound. And after this get Astral Weeks. Surely Beside You is one of the greatest songs of all time?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evergreen, golden and smooth...., 30 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best of Van Morrison (Audio CD)
This album proved to be the start of my beloved Van Morrison collection, and certainly what prompted my hunger to consume every other album of his before and after! I loved this compilation from the very first listen. I have had it now for 7 years, and I am still not bored with it. His music has a mesmerising affect on me. Although it's great for background music - the poetry of his lyrics urge you to sit quietly and take the ride with him. The choices are brilliant - from the high-spirited "Brown-eyed Girl" and "Jackie Wilson said", to the simply beautiful "Have I told you lately". My personal favourite is "Queen of the Slipstream", a soaring song which I cannot do without listening to at least once a week! If you enjoy this compilation album, give "The Best of Van Morrison, Volume 2" a listen. Slightly more down-beat and introspective than Volume 1, but absolutely beautiful. Go grab them both!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STRING OF CLASSICS, 23 Oct 2004
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Best of Van Morrison (Audio CD)
This Best Of is a seamless compilation of Morrison's earlier work, from the bouncy Bright Side Of The Road through timeless songs like Gloria, Browned Eyed Girl, Jackie Wilson Said and And It Stoned Me, to his duet with Cliff Richard in the 1980s, Whenever God Shines His Light. It's hard to pick favourites from the abundance of quality songs collected here, but personally I most love Queen Of The Slipstream, And It Stoned Me, Jackie Wilson Said, Have I Told You lately and Gloria, a song that was covered by Patti Smith. All the styles of Van are covered here: Celtic soul, inspirational rock, moving ballads, soulful gospel, raunchy R&B and bubbly pop. These are all gems, songs with poetic lyrics and unforgettable melodies, all infused with true spirit. This impressive compilation would be a good starting point for those who wish to investigate this great singer and composer. I also recommend Best Of volume 2, for more sonic jewels from a later part of his career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the classic hits for Van Morrison fans a wonderful album, 19 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best of Van Morrison (Audio CD)
I have been a fan for many years and well remember the sixties hits, 'Here comes the night' a particular favourite, my youth came flooding back. I have this album in my car it is played continuously, this and other Van Morrison albums I will enjoy forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A toe tapping best of with enough favourites to satisfy most, 21 Jun 2001
By A Customer
The cd opens with Van belting out Bright Side of The Road, and if this doesn't get your toes a tapping, then nothing will. The cd contains 21 of Morrison's best known tunes including Baby Please Don't Go, Sweet Thing, Brown Eyed Girl, Wonderful Remark, Moondance, Have I Told You Lately, to name but a few. For any Van Morrison fans, then this is of course a must to add to your collection if only that all the favourites are one cd. An excellent cd to give as a gift, a great introduction to Van Morrison. A perfect opportunity to listen to some happy music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Album is "Gloria-ous", 15 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best of Van Morrison (Audio CD)
It's Van Morrison and it is a compilation...what could be a more perfect mix? It's a natural hit. Van Morrison just has one of those voices that you can sing along to and it puts you in a good mood no matter what. This album is no exception...it is full of all of Van's greatest hits and with 20 songs on just one CD, you get your money's worth and more. You will find yourself singing along (in tune or not) to classics such as: "Bright Side Of The Road", "Gloria", "Have I Told You Lately", "Wild Night", and my all time favorite..."Brown Eyed Girl". This is a super album for any music fan you know - from your parents to your very best friend. It lends hours of enjoyment and will never go out of style...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars rushed songs, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Van Morrison (Audio CD)
Disappointed can't beat earlier albums, sounded like it was quickly put together, miss tone and atmosphere of Van. Wish I had not bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, but 2nd hand rubbish., 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Van Morrison (Audio CD)
Very disappointing. Jumped all over the place. Lesson learnt. Don't buy 2nd hand cds. Book maybe, but not cds. But a great CD music wise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still worth a Listen, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Van Morrison is in a class of his own and if you are already a fan, this will nit disappoint. If you are nit a fan it will nit disappoint either!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best of Van Morrison
The Best of Van Morrison by Van Morrison (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews