Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic 80's dance movie soundtrack - pass the leg warmers
This soundtrack for the 1983 feelgood dance movie Flashdance is a must have if you were in your prime in the early 80's. Giorgio Moroder's score is packed with mostly lively dance numbers - notably Maniac. There's also the slow and moody Lady Lady Lady (was there really someone called Joe Bean Esposito?) Close your eyes to this number and remember smooching with that...
Published on 30 Mar. 2001

versus
14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some 80's treasures
The song Flashdance is of course part of musical history now, so of course you want it...is the album from which it came a gold-mine of similar hits...? Well, nearly.
There are some great songs here, in fact I'd buy the album alone for the two very strange tracks "He's A Dream" by Shandi and "Manhunt" by Karen Kamon" which are SOOOO 80's you...
Published on 1 Sept. 2002 by A. Griffiths


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic 80's dance movie soundtrack - pass the leg warmers, 30 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Flashdance (Audio CD)
This soundtrack for the 1983 feelgood dance movie Flashdance is a must have if you were in your prime in the early 80's. Giorgio Moroder's score is packed with mostly lively dance numbers - notably Maniac. There's also the slow and moody Lady Lady Lady (was there really someone called Joe Bean Esposito?) Close your eyes to this number and remember smooching with that tall, dark, handsome man (he's probably fat and bald now!} An extra bonus are numbers by Donna Summer and Kim Carnes but the show stopper has to be Irene Cara's rendering of What a Feeling which provided the backdrop sound to Jennifer Warne's finale dance number (whatever happened to the lovely Jennifer?) Try donning the leotard and leg warmers (you too guys!) and dance along - but if you were in your 30's when you saw the film first time round then watch out for the creaky knees and dodgy back! A nostalgic and evocative soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You'll be dancing in your lounge., 27 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Flashdance (Audio CD)
Didn't you used to dance to the Flashdance theme in your lounge when you were seven years old - "Flashdance - What a feelin'"? Buy this CD and you repractise your own rendition again and again. Get the legwarmers out of the loft and get back to the eighties. For those of you who haven't watched the film as many times as I have: this won't stop you enjoying the album. This CD is a good "allrounder". Apart from the famous theme tune, there are a couple of other dancy numbers, a couple of slow tracks even including a melancholic instrumental track. A definite must to join your eighties collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, it WAS a great feeling!, 5 Jan. 2012
By 
T. Kucukyumuk (Istanbul, Turkey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flashdance (Audio CD)
Takes me back to my younger days, when I was a teenager. Not fun watching the movie any more. They don't always age well. Still, there are some really great tracks here. For me Irene Cara's "What a feeling" and Michael Sembello's "Maniac" will be the greatest songs in this album (and probably in all the good old 80s). If you are also a 40 something who wants to remember what it was like to be a teenager in those beautiful and painful years, get it. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 6 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flashdance (Audio CD)
Simply love this CD. I received 'Flashdance' as a gift and love this brilliant DVD. I bought the original soundtrack and never tire of playing it - reminds me of the fantastic film, the music is inspirational, so lively and sometimes very tender - especially the Love Theme. It is well worth buying both the Soundtrack and film together - Jennifer Beals fans will not be disappointed with this combination. Once again, I must say the music is truly brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awwww, 9 Jan. 2013
By 
diamond - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flashdance (Audio CD)
I loved this movie when it came out and I still love it now! So of course I have the Dvd and my young daughters think they are mini Jennifer Beales flying round in leg warmers to the music off the DVD in my living room! So purchased this CD to save my ornaments as I can let them Flashdance somewhere safer now! Had to get it for me too its a classic and some of the tunes I really like well to be honest I think they are all great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent soundtrack, 19 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flashdance (Audio CD)
This takes me back to my teen years when the movie was a major hit.I had to be patient for almost 28 years to get this
album and it's worth it.Even though it does not consist all the songs from the movie it has all the major hits.so I have no regrets and it's wonderful to go back in your mind and relive the memories of it.it's excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars flashdance fan, 15 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flashdance (Audio CD)
if you love the movie you will love the soundtrack, if you haven't seen the movie get the soundtrack anyway its great 80s music, one disapointment the song gloria by the late laura branigan is not on the cd and that is an absoute classic, when they repackage for the next anniversary, music producers need to include that no ifs or buts thank u
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh the memories...., 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flashdance (Audio CD)
What a feeling indeed - this CD not only brings back memories but also feelings and emotions that I felt at the time the film was in the cinemas. The brilliant and beautiful Jennifer Beals playing the lead absolutely makes the film, for me, and it's not hard to feel the emotion of the character's struggle. A great soundtrack - Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 1 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flashdance (Audio CD)
A classic 80's film which I love. Bought the cd and was dancing around my living room before you could say leg warmers! For anyone who wants to relive those glory days and have a good dance. A much have for any gals collection. I've even added it to my ten yr olds playlist to educate her on what proper music sounds like!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ...as in the film!, 13 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Flashdance (Audio CD)
The CD captures the events of the 80's film, as you listen and can picture the scenes.
Irene Cara's voice is just a classic, a title track having the ''feel-good factor'' and Maniac by Michael Sembello is just brilliant. A best buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flashdance
Flashdance by Giorgio Moroder (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews