Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, haunting songs
This is one of my all-time favourites. I am not keen on her pop albums, but if have never heard one of hers before (or never intended to buy one): 'Yemenite Songs' has the most beautiful, haunting songs, going back to the 16th century and-most of them-written by Rabbi Shalom Shabazi. If you need a translation, there's a web site which has them (by Karen Barak). It's a...
Published on 5 April 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Yemenite songs
Haza's modernised take on ancient Hebrew folk music. Pretty good. Not quite what I wanted as I was looking for the origional sound.
Published on 3 Mar. 2011 by Redolp1


Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, haunting songs, 5 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Yemenite Songs (Audio CD)
This is one of my all-time favourites. I am not keen on her pop albums, but if have never heard one of hers before (or never intended to buy one): 'Yemenite Songs' has the most beautiful, haunting songs, going back to the 16th century and-most of them-written by Rabbi Shalom Shabazi. If you need a translation, there's a web site which has them (by Karen Barak). It's a beautiful legacy, Rest In Peace, Shalom, OFRA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charming middle eastern textures, 27 Jun. 2004
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Yemenite Songs (Audio CD)
This wonderful album features traditional and modern instruments with songs based on the 16th century poetry of Shalom Shabazi. The opening number Im Nin'alu is a catchy mid tempo ballad and is followed by the buoyant Yachilvi Veyachali, a faster song with a complex arrangement.
Ofra's voice displays its impressive diversity on A'salk, a great interplay of mostly percussion and vocals. The medley of Tzur Menati, Se'i Yona and Sapri Tama has a catchy twirling melody and Galbi is another tuneful song with a compelling rhythmic structure. Ode Le'eli is a slow ballad with repeating patterns while Lefelach Harimon is my favorite with its sweeping melody line and hypnotic percussive textures.
Yemenite Songs is a pioneering album that successfully integrated traditional Middle Eastern songs with modern arrangements and pop appeal back in the middle 1980s. There is a moving spiritual undertone to many of the songs and Haza's voice is warm and engaging. If you like World Beat or the music of bands like Transglobal Underground, you will love this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rich Collection of Devotional Poetry in Song, 24 Oct. 2004
By 
This review is from: Yemenite Songs (Audio CD)
This is the *very* best of the Ofra Haza CDs ... many of the songs are in Hebrew, Arabic & Aramaic which makes this one of the most unusual and outstanding Middle Eastern CDs ever produced. Her voice is indeed beautiful, the voice combined with the complex meter and beat of the poetry written by Rabbi Shalom Shabbazi from the late 16th C. provides a rare and unusual glimpse into the past but with a contemporary sound. The melodies created by traditional and modern musical instruments: wooden & metal percussion, Yemenite tin and tambala, stringed instruments, flute, piccolo, oboe, English horn, bassoon, clarinet, French horn, and bass clarinet produce striking rhythms which captivate the listener. This CD is a mirror reflecting the beautiful music of the past within a modern framework ... it is an artistic masterpiece. How sad this musical legend is no longer with us but how very lucky we are she left us a legacy of her musical creations, so we never forget her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the beginning of a music jouney for Ofra, 24 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yemenite Songs (Audio CD)
I finally have this item on CD. This is when Ofra Haza and Bezalel Aloni took the first step to a wonderful career in music. and after this record hit the music records, it only got better and better. You have to get this CD in your collection. Ofra can sing and is not a product of a producers mind and wish to be rich. Music is for pleasure and for enjoy. Ofra did enjoy sing, for me and for you.
rest in peace Ofra. and we all keep your song and memory alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 9 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Yemenite Songs (Audio CD)
If you like middle eastern music, you will absolutely love this album. Ofra Haza brings the sound of the desert into your home so beautifully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Yemenite songs, 3 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: yemenite songs (Audio CD)
Haza's modernised take on ancient Hebrew folk music. Pretty good. Not quite what I wanted as I was looking for the origional sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, recommended A+++++, 20 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: yemenite songs (Audio CD)
Fast delivery, excellent, recommended A+++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yemenite Songs (Audio CD)
Very happy with item and delivery speed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yemenite Songs
Yemenite Songs by Ofra Haza (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews