Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VOX OF DELIGHTS
Another well-chosen selection of some of ULTRAVOX's best songs. VIENNA remains the benchmark album and saw the arrival of MIDGE URE (so if you only own one complete Ultravox recording, make it that one). There's no doubt that his keen pop sensibility and impressive vocal range steered the band away from their previous Kraftwerkian experimentalism, infusing it instead with...
Published on 15 Aug. 2008

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rare CD
I was having trouble finding this CD at my usual sites. Finally got it through amazon. Arrived in good time with a few scratches on the cover and on the CD but it still plays ok.
Published on 11 April 2011 by Simon


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VOX OF DELIGHTS, 15 Aug. 2008
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Collection (Audio CD)
Another well-chosen selection of some of ULTRAVOX's best songs. VIENNA remains the benchmark album and saw the arrival of MIDGE URE (so if you only own one complete Ultravox recording, make it that one). There's no doubt that his keen pop sensibility and impressive vocal range steered the band away from their previous Kraftwerkian experimentalism, infusing it instead with a warmth and depth that lasted for several more years.

It's not just Ure that should be praised either, original members BILLY CURRIE, WARREN CANN and CRISS CROSS were just as instrumental in creating that unique (and much-imitated) sound. A sound that, at the time, was a revelation. Given the more avant-garde nature of the band up to that point, who could seriously have predicted or imagined something as beautiful and evocative as a violin solo providing the beating heart within their best-selling single 'Vienna'? Not me.

I'm not belittling the JOHN FOXX era, but the point at which the music started touching people's emotions began, ironically, with a lyric that included the line "it means nothing to me". Far, far from it.

A seductive combination of the subtle and intense (VIENNA, DANCING WITH TEARS IN MY EYES) and the lofty and bombastic (REAP THE WILD WIND, LOVE'S GREAT ADVENTURE)...yet the result is never less than engaging. This collection may not be quite up there with THE BEST OF ULTRAVOX, but it's not far off and, as such, remains a solid buy.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 28 Nov. 2008
This review is from: Collection (Audio CD)
This is the definitive Ultravox collection. When you listen to this for the first time you're surprised at the number of hits they had and that you remember so many. I will not go into individual tracks but if you only know them for 'Vienna', Ultravox are a truckload more than that. Though they never had a U.K number 1 single, they are the masters of the well written and well-produced synth-pop single. Rather than sounding 'dated', this album will demonstrate to the listener how many of the current fads in music have been done before (think Ladyhawke for example), and much, much better in this case. This is electro-pop at its finest. Ure's clear and precise vocals are the perfect accompaniment to the sparse, tight, atmospheric backing tracks. This is an album you can listen to from start to finish, over and over again. I first got this 'album' in the mid-80s and still listen to it at least once a week. SUPERB
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VOX OF DELIGHTS, 15 Aug. 2008
By 
Kelvin Dickinson (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Collection (Audio CD)
Another well-chosen selection of some of ULTRAVOX's best songs. VIENNA remains the benchmark album and saw the arrival of MIDGE URE (so if you only own one complete Ultravox recording, make it that one). There's no doubt that his keen pop sensibility and impressive vocal range steered the band away from their previous Kraftwerkian experimentalism, infusing it instead with a warmth and depth that lasted for several more years.

It's not just Ure that should be praised either, original members BILLY CURRIE, WARREN CANN and CRISS CROSS were just as instrumental in creating that unique (and much-imitated) sound. A sound that, at the time, was a revelation. Given the more avant-garde nature of the band up to that point, who could seriously have predicted or imagined something as beautiful and evocative as a violin solo providing the beating heart within their best-selling single 'Vienna'? Not me. Don't get me wrong, I'm not belittling the JOHN FOXX era but the point at which the music started touching people's emotions began, ironically, with a lyric that included the line "this means nothing to me". Far from it.

A seductive combination of the subtle and intense (VIENNA, DANCING WITH TEARS IN MY EYES) and the lofty and bombastic (REAP THE WILD WIND, LOVE'S GREAT ADVENTURE)...yet the result is never less than engaging. This collection may not be quite up there with THE BEST OF ULTRAVOX, but it's not far off and, as such, remains a solid buy.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past, 6 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collection (Audio CD)
It was good to hear all the old tunes of the 80s synth/new romanticism band led by Midge ure. I did have this on vinyl in the 80s but did not stand the rigours of time! I decided to buy this after hearing an old Ultravox tune on the radio! It was great to hear the dramatic Vienna song but also some hidden gems such as the futuristic song 'the voice' and 'all stood still'. The songs dated from 1980 to 1984 when they were at there commercial peak and everyone on the album is a true classic.

Towards the end there were some of there tunes that were heavilly guitar based such as 'one small day' which saw then a decline in synth and more towards the guitar based sound. Either the way band could adapt and were able to produce little ballads such as 'lament' or a pop ditty 'loves great adventure' or a rockish sound such as 'one small day'. You can't say that about bands much these days!

I would highly recommend this album for those who were in eighties and forgot or those younger ones to appreciate the music talents of Currie,Cann and Cross mixed with the powerful tones of Midge Ure vocals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great nostalgia trip, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collection (Audio CD)
Solid collection of synthesizer-driven hits, released between 1980 and 1984, demonstrating Ultravox's high level of consistency with Midge Ure at the helm. The classic 'Vienna' is the obvious stand-out track, although the likes of 'Vision In Blue' and 'Lament' are in a similar stately vein, and are both quite superb. The faster material is, generally, pretty good as well:- 'Hymn', 'The Voice', 'Reap The Wild Wind', 'We Came To Dance' and 'Dancing With Tears In My Eyes' are all worthy of mention here. This collection represents a great nostalgia trip for fans of early 1980s pop music and is well worth buying in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great 80's techno band., 5 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collection (Audio CD)
Bought this on vinyl many years ago so thought about time I up-dated to CD! Has not at all out-dated in my view, not a bad track on album & must easily be Midge Ure's finest work. Absolute travesty Vienna did not make No. 1 !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BLAST FROM THE PAST, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collection (Audio CD)
Had this album on vinyl but it got badly damaged, so I went hunting online.
Fantastic buy. Great for a trip back to my school days.
Just LOVE it.
Yes I would recommend this to anyone who loved Ultravox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff, 8 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Collection (Audio CD)
This album is ideal for any fans of music of the 80's but have not yet come across Ultravox as it contains all the major hits. Vienna still is one of the best tracks of the 80's. The enigmatic but simple drum beat at the start sets the scene for the rest of the track. Mystery, atmosphere, power and a great tune - Vienna has it all. Other stand out tracks include Love's Great Adventure and Reap The Wild Wind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ultravox - the collection, 15 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collection (Audio CD)
A really great trip down memory lane... I always loved this record ... It arrived in good time well before the time quoted... A really pleasant shopping experience....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ultravox: The Collection, 1 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collection (Audio CD)
Excellent way to transport me back to my youth. I was amazed at how fresh the CD still sounds after all this time. It's a classic which contains most of their hits
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collection
Collection by Ultravox (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews