Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb classic rock from the former Van Halen frontman, 13 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Little Ain't Enough (Audio CD)
Dave Lee Roth is best known for fronting Van Halen in their heyday, but apart from the absence of Eddie's guitar playing, his solo stuff's pretty nearly as good. This is the best of the bunch too. It doesn't feature any big hit singles, but there's no duff tracks either. What you get is a solid set of classic rock songs with all the usual witty, left of centre lyrical tricks that make DLR stand out from the 'take myself really seriously' brigade. The title track and 'Tell the truth' are the standouts, but this album has everything from a bunch of straight-ahead rockers to the slow funk of 'Dogtown Shuffle' and the wryly funny 'Sensible Shoes'. If you like to rock, you have to love this album. Especially at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Rocker!, 25 Feb. 2012
By 
J. M. Green "john94682" (Sutton Coldfield) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Little Ain't Enough (Audio CD)
You know how it is, you have a rather burgeoning collection of music and, what with buying all the new and latest stuff, you just don't get the time to delve back to re-visit some of the truly great material that goes back a few (!) years.
So, it was with the release of the new Van Halen album: A Different Kind Of Truth, that I decided to purchase a CD version of Little Ain't Enough, as on a scale of 10, this certainly rated an 11 all those years ago when I first got my ears around it. And, does it stand the test of time - OH Yes Indeedy....I'd really forgotten just how good the album is, especially with the guitar of Jason Becker cutting through the melodies!
The opening sequence of A Li'l Ain't Enough followed in quick succession by Shoot It, the awesome Lady Luck and the crunching Hammerhead Shark all show very much how a great rock album should be put together - full of attack with riffs, devastating chords and a vocal that has an unmistakable edge - terrific stuff, the likes of which only too rarely now see the light of day!
Now that I finally have a copy of the album in CD form, it will doubtless accompany me on many an excursion down the motorway when I can crank up the volume and sing along at the top of my lungs - thank you Mr Roth and Mr Becker for giving me back such simple pleasure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dave's Finest Hour!, 4 Nov. 2011
This review is from: A Little Ain't Enough (Audio CD)
I 've had this here record in one form or another for 20years now on tape, cd and vinyl and boy it still sounds amazing wherever i listen to it. All the more poignant really when you consider that Dave's then latest hired slinger the illustrious Jason Becker, would be confined to a wheelchair for the rest of his life soon after, diagnosed with Lou Gehrig's Disease (Amyotropic Lateral Sclerosis). And all this before his 21st.

Yeah, what a sentence to befall arguably the most gifted guitarist to emerge in the late 80s, early 90s whose disease robbed him of his ability to play and speak. God bless you Jason you are still with us in mind and spirit and i know you are still making music with the help of computers, but it still begs the question - What might have been?

Tragedies aside, and life's full of them, and indeed some might say DLR is a walking tragedy but when songs come this thick and fast who cares but the ones who still appreciate great hard rock and metal as this record is loaded with.

From the opener and title track Roth gives out his trademark scream and tells us "empty pockets never stopped me singing on blues street!" Straight up you know there's a new kid on board making his impression immediately with some crushing chords and slick tones. Shoot It takes us on another one of Daves walks down Vandeville alley with some nice piano from Brett Tuggle who co wrote a lot of the tunes. Roth teases "you want some good clean fun?, well i heard you play with guns!".
Lady Luck is where Jason really shines with a beautiful solo, you just gotta turn it up and appreciate what this young guy had to offer because he smokes on this outing.

Hammerhead Shark rides out mean on some nice slide guitar from Steve Hunter, who also co wrote many of the songs, and really works well with Becker throughout the record; as Dave sets the story "It was a time of trouble, a time of grief. Kings lay with whores and begat thieves. The world was wicked, hearts were cold!". Tell The Truth is a great slow number that oozes class the only way Dave can deliver, his voice really found its zenith on this outing bringing a lot of his black blues influences blended with that ever soulfull depth to his singing that Hagar always lacked in my opinion.

40 Below is probably the album's finest rocker with Roth enticing you -"Your famous last words are a hard act to follow, and too much heat is too hard to swallow. You keep on wondering why its getting so damn cold, so call me 40 below. And i'm cold!". Great great party tune. Sensible Shoes is pure Dave taking stock of his morals and conscience and offers us a heartfelt "I look good and i'm funny, so why am i so lonesome honey?. The gypsy says the problem with you is you need some sensible shoes!"

Last Call borrows from an Aerosmith riff and delivers an irresistibly catchy hard rocker with lyrics we can all relate to i'm sure! The Dogtown Shuffle trades with the best of Dave and his story telling setting the mood "when there's nothing left but death and taxes' . . . Some self made guy gets it in the ass at a local mini mall, looks more like a warning than an example!". More classy bluezy sleazy rock.

Its Show Time! sees Jason Becker who co wrote this and the last song, peel off more of his amazing guitar work and boy he delivers a stellar performance here with some cool as cucumber riffs and a monumental solo that leaves you going PPPhhhhhEEEww!!

Drop In The Bucket comes in with some nice acoustic blue grass picking before building up the pace for another rock solid tune with some powerful backing vocals too. Roth has always attracted virtuosity in his career but this time he got the balance just right with the big Bob Rock production surrounding himself with some of the finest musicians again and it was his first album he could really call his own. Sure Eat Em and Skyscraper were great records but there were too many egos on board competing for the spotlight! Its just a pity it all got drowned in the Zeitgeist of grunge that was lurking around the corner. Oh well, what might've been huh?

Do yourself and the world a favour and buy this album. Its a testament to both triumph and tragedy and Roth's finest hour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars different but brilliant, 16 April 2007
with Vai gone, i wasn't sure what to expect of this album. But Jason Becker pulls off all kinds of styles in this ever changing album from 'It's Showtime' to 'Sensible Shoes' to 'A Li'l Ain't Enough.'

I found that all the tracks on this album, although different, are fantastic and show Roth's flexibility in both writting and singing.

However for those who aren't yet DLR fans i would recomend 'Eat 'em and Smile' as a first or 'The Best.'

Enjoy it and listen out for 'Lady Luck.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it., 18 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Way back when this was released, I remember thinking it's all downhill for Diamond Dave now that Steve Vai has left. What a misconception! This album finds Dave on great form with all the usual trademarks: the showmanship, tongue in cheek humour, crazy lyrics and genius musicianship. If you like the previous solo stuff then buy this, you won't be disappointed. If, like me, you are a frustrated guitarist, you will love the contrasting styles of Steve Hunter and Jason Becker - there is some stone cold awesome guitar work on this album, which I've grown to prefer to some of Steve Vai's technical wanderings! (That's not meant to belittle the other excellent musicianship on the album I'm just a guitar fan).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious what-might-have-been album, 9 Jun. 2008
Like others here, I was wary of the post-Steve Vai DLR sound at first, and it's definitely a step in a different direction; away from the stadium-rock anthem stuff and into a more mature, bluesy-influenced sound, most notably on 'Tell the Truth' and 'DogTown Shuffle'. This wasn't followed up much is following albums, which is a shame. Still, this album represents one of the greatest rockers of the past twenty five years at the peak of his talents. If you've ever liked anything that he or Van Halen have done, you'll find plenty to love here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite albums ever, 24 Oct. 2009
This album is not widely known as a classic, even though for me it just is. I have thousands of CDs, mostly rock and metal and blues, but this one is very special to me, and definitely "desert island material". "Sensible Shoes" is one of my favourite songs ever. This album is full of fun, rock, original compositions, with Dave in great shape and fantastic guitar licks. His best solo album in my view, and of constant high quality, no dud, something even Van Halen did not achieve. The one to have among anything featuring Dave. Buy it now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great rock album, 18 July 2011
This review is from: A Little Ain't Enough (Audio CD)
I've had some good rock albums over the years, and i think this will join some of 'em.
A very well produced, and naturally awe-inspiring piece of work. The instruments are inventive, dynamic, and well integrated.Good uses
of lyrical content, and the listener entertained.In summary one of rock aces more maturer rock album. Like the genre, like the cover-tells a lot about life in general!
Give it a chance, give it a listen!
WEll done Dave, and fellow band members!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sounds as good now as when it came out, 4 Sept. 2011
By 
A. L. Stannard (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Little Ain't Enough (Audio CD)
And its not just because I bought it on CD!
Whilst DLR under Steve Vai produced some inspiring sounds, there was always the thought "hey hasn't Steve Stevens already done this?"... DLR and Jason Becker however create a timeless fusion of tones and riffs, with better crafted lyrics. This is marks the start of DLR for grown-ups. 20 years on I pull it from a dusty CD collection and can't press stop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Little Ain't Enough (Audio CD)
Not as great as Eat 'Em & Smile or Skyscraper but worth a buy. Very good album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Little Ain't Enough
A Little Ain't Enough by David Lee Roth (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews