Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have bought it twice!
This is so good, i have bought it twice just in case something happens to one of them!...It is true that some of the tracks can make you whince, but that is only three of them. The most surprising thing though, is that no one has mentioned in their reviews, Lisa Stansfield's "Down in the Depths"......This track alone is well worth buying the album for!
Published on 19 Nov 2009 by Haze

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not so hot,actually
I bought this primarily for kd lang's number. An interesting collection of artists. Overall quite good, especially if you're a Cole Porter fan.
Published 20 months ago by Ellen Gray


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have bought it twice!, 19 Nov 2009
This review is from: Red Hot & Blue (Audio CD)
This is so good, i have bought it twice just in case something happens to one of them!...It is true that some of the tracks can make you whince, but that is only three of them. The most surprising thing though, is that no one has mentioned in their reviews, Lisa Stansfield's "Down in the Depths"......This track alone is well worth buying the album for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars simply red hot, 10 Nov 2003
This review is from: Red Hot & Blue (Audio CD)
Reworkings of some classic Cole Porter tracks, the iggy pop and deborah harry version of 'well did you evah' is worth the price of admission alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 13 Mar 2004
This review is from: Red Hot & Blue (Audio CD)
Cole Porter is often considered to be one of the greatest songwriters of all time and this collection shows you why. Rarely can a cover of a song be done well but this album proves that not only can a Cole Porter song be covered well but also updated brilliantly. Although when you put these songs in the hands of such talented artists, should we have expected anything else? This album covers all genres and tastes and does it well. A must for any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soooooo goooooood!, 7 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Hot & Blue (Audio CD)
I had this vinyl when it came out many years ago... one day suddenly i had the urge to listen to it and who has one of those players anymore??? I don't. So I went online and bought the cd. And it is one of my top 5 cds if not the very best. I love it! It's still so current and charming. All the songs were covered so well by such a varied array of artists... it could please a very large number of people... There's something for everyone in this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Takes me right back, 11 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Hot & Blue (Audio CD)
I bought this album on vinyl when it first came out and I played it constantly. Covering old classics was quite unusual then and the twist these 80s artists put on Cole Porter's creations were astringent and exciting. Now I'm nostalgic for nostalgia. It's been a few years but it still sounds fresh and interesting. I didn't realise that there were Red, Hot and Blue versions of a variety of genre so I'm going to try them out next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Mix of the Truly Sublime and the Truly Dire, 22 Jun 2004
By 
Gary F. Taylor "GFT" (Biloxi, MS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tribute to Cole Porter (Audio CD)
Cole Porter (1891-1964) was among the closeted gay artists of his era--and the idea of collecting modern versions of his work for release as an AIDS fundraiser was truly inspired. But the hard truth is that few singers have the vocal skills that a Porter song demands, and the resulting RED HOT + BLUE is an extremely inconsistent mix of the truly sublime and the truly dire.
On the sublime side, the Neville Brothers offer a truly elegant reworking of the seldom performed but incredibly beautiful "In The Still of the Night," infusing the delicate melody with their own unique multicultural sound to tremendous effect. Fine Young Cannibals also do a remarkable version--and one that would have been sure to bring a wicked grin to Porter's face--of the often censored "Love for Sale."
Many other selections are equally effective. Although U2's version of "Night and Day" takes some getting used to, it is worth the effort and becomes unexpectedly haunting. Sinead O'Connor and K.D. Lang score memorably with "You Do Something To Me" and "So In Love;" and Annie Lennox offers the single finest version of "Ev'ry Time We Say Goodbye" I have ever heard.
But the rest of the thing ranges from the merely "interesting" to the flat out awful. Neneh Cherry is one of the few rap artist I actually like--but she would have done better to take fewer liberties with "I've Got You Under My Skin," and frankly both Tom Waits and Salif Keita should have stayed in bed on the days they were scheduled to record their versions of "It's Alright With Me" and "Begin the Beguine." Indeed, Keita's "Begin the Beguine" is easily the single most awful version of any Porter song by any artist that I've ever heard.
The rest of the selections are in the "also ran" range, which is to say not memorably bad but not memorably good either. At times this is a major disappointment--when you consider that Andy Bell of Erasure has a remarkable voice it seems a pity to have reduce him a dance-track-ish "Too Darn Hot." Perhaps the single greatest disappointment in the collection is Debbie Harry, who one would expect to work wonders with a classic Porter tune... but who finds herself paired with Iggy Pop in a throw-away version of "Well, Did You Evah," which can only be described as a humiliating miscalculation and a true waste of talent.
Still, in spite of a host of misfires and just flat out bad ideas, when it's good RED HOT + BLUE is exceptionally good--and enough so to make up for the duds and bring the whole thing in at a solid four stars. Just bear in mind that you'll probably want to make your own edits!
GFT, Amazon Reviewer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliance, 13 Mar 2004
This review is from: Tribute to Cole Porter (Audio CD)
Cole Porter is often considered to be one of the greatest songwriters of all time and this collection shows you why. Rarely can a cover of a song be done well but this album proves that not only can a Cole Porter song be covered well but also updated brilliantly. Although when you put these songs in the hands of such talented artists, should we have expected anything else? This album covers all genres and tastes and does it well. A must for any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great classic cd that as all the top stars singing ..., 29 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Hot & Blue (Audio CD)
This is a great classic cd that as all the top stars singing some of the great songs from one of the great song writers of the twenties century , you just have to have this album as it has some of the best cover songs around .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice listening, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Hot & Blue (Audio CD)
This cd was originally released as an campaign for aids awareness. Cole Porter was truly a fantastic song writer.
A cd i highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Red Hot & Blue, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Hot & Blue (Audio CD)
I am pleased to be able to buy the DVD version of this collection. I bought the original edition when it first came out on video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Hot & Blue
Red Hot & Blue by Red Hot AIDS Benefit Series (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews