Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything up to behind the mask
This collection was issued originally in 1992, at a very expensive 45.00. This is exactly the same collection but at a much cheaper price and is well worth a look by any Fleetwood Mac Fan.
The set steers very firmly to the Buckingham Nicks period of Fleetwood mac, with only the 4th Disc going back to the Bob Welch and Peter Green years. The set has four exclusive...
Published on 11 Jun 2012 by Mr. R. G. Prizeman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed bag
I have liked Fleetwood Mac since inception but not enough to regularly buy their records. I therefore decided that this would be a good spread of their music across the range. Maybe it is but it does not do enough for me. There are some great tracks but quite a few average ones. For my listening this could have been a top drawer 2 cd set but is bulked up for a 4 cd set...
Published 6 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything up to behind the mask, 11 Jun 2012
By 
Mr. R. G. Prizeman "Dickie 1" (croydon UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 25 Years - The Chain (Audio CD)
This collection was issued originally in 1992, at a very expensive 45.00. This is exactly the same collection but at a much cheaper price and is well worth a look by any Fleetwood Mac Fan.
The set steers very firmly to the Buckingham Nicks period of Fleetwood mac, with only the 4th Disc going back to the Bob Welch and Peter Green years. The set has four exclusive tracks two live tracks "Standback" and "Not that funny" which are not available on any other set. Paper doll is defiantly from the Behind the Mask period,as is Heart of stone both written by Nick's and Rick Vito, as Nicks had left the band by this point due to Mick Fleetwood not allowing her to use Silver springs on her own Greatest hits Time and Space.
Silver Springs which was the B side to Go your own way, and was originally to be included on Rumours, is included and at the time was the only place you could find it on CD. Make me a mask a Buckingham song has all the trade marks of being a solo song knocked up in his own studio and dates back to the Mirage period. Love Shines which was issued as a single, a McVie song is a typical Mac friendly song.
The set dose not run in order which is a bit of a pain, but not dreadful, the first three discs bounce all over the place taking in tracks from Fleetwood Mac too Behind the mask. Only two tracks from Rhumours don't make the set "I don't want to know" and "Oh Daddy" but the rest are included, perhaps in hindsight too many tracks, belittling the original album.
The Forth disc includes the Bob Welch period and has highlights, with some very nice McVie songs, Come a little bit closer and heroes are hard to find and they are just great to hear again and always seem to be overlooked.
A few of the tracks have alternative versions or longer takes, Gypsy is the rarely heard long version which was used for the video, "Isn't it midnight Is the version before Buckingham added his guitar parts, a few tracks are different mixes like the the chain, second hand news, Angel and a very nice different take of "Beautiful child" to name a few. Tusk is a very different version to the LP version.
For value for money this is an excellent reissue, and the negatives are completely out weighed by the positives, the booklet is nice collection of pictures but very little information on the tracks. Each band member from the Rumours period writes a few lines about Fleetwood Mac.It was remastered in 1992, by the looks of it it is the same re-master which was still pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never Break the Chain!, 14 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25 Years - The Chain (Audio CD)
Wow!! What a fantastic collection, and at an unbelievably good price! And before you yawn and say 'oh not another greatest hits collection', this one is truly different with even the most well-known Mac songs having had some spit and remix polish to make them sound invitingly new.

Here we have 4 CDs covering 25 years of the mighty Mac, plus loads of rare tracks and remixes! It's a real treat to be able to listen to the evolution of this amazing band, from their blues days with Peter Green, through the emerging rock sound with Bob Welch, to the mega-selling West Coast genius of Buckingham and Nicks, whose tenure in the band is featured most strongly here.

Standouts have to be the beautiful long version of 'Gypsy', a totally different mix of 'Tusk', an extended version of Christine's little gem 'Brown Eyes', Nicks' lost classic from 'Rumours' in the stunning 'Silver Springs', a romping stomping live version of 'Stand Back' from the Tango tour in '87, and superb remixes of 'Gold Dust Woman', 'The Chain' and 'Storms'. Amongst the new tracks, Christine delivers a shimmering blinder with 'Love Shines' and Stevie gives us an upbeat toe-tapper with the country rock tinged with reggae in 'Paper Doll'. Lindsey's 'Make Me a Mask' sounds like a solo effort rather than a Mac production, but is no less enjoyable for that.

If you make no other purchase this year, make sure you get a copy of this. The accompanying deluxe booklet has some fantastic pictures and text and is very generous at about 80 pages!

Probably the most comprehensive Mac collection on the market, and a great companion to the other 'Greatest Hits' and 'Best ofs' in recent years. Now, PLEASE bring on the deluxe editions of 'Mirage' and 'Tango in the Night', and a remastered and expanded 'Fleetwood Mac Live' - it's about time! Plus this month marks the 30th anniversary of Stevie's first solo album 'Belladonna' - another all-time classic which is in dire need the deluxe treatment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So glad this set was reissues, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25 Years - The Chain (Audio CD)
Almost all tracks on this 4-disc set are worth listening to over and over. I'm not much of a fan of their early blues-heavy stuff but the trackss that are on here from that period of time are worth listening to. Sound quality is good throughout and all of the usual suspects are on this set plus plenty of deeper album cuts which I had forgotten about. I wish there had been a couple nore tracks from "Mirage" on here as there is no remastered version of that album available. Definitely worth the price I paid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bargain at the current price of around 10, 29 Jun 2012
This review is from: 25 Years - The Chain (Audio CD)
Not much can be said about the music here thats not already been said,All the best songs from the band up until 1992 are pretty much here and sound quality is very good. Plus this is by far the best of the "Best of's" for Fleetwood Mac a band who seem to have had a few best ofs that just really miss the mark

This set is not perfect either but it comes closer than any of the others do. The short comings for me is I would rather they revamped it and put songs into more of a release order and added on some tracks from "Say You Will" thus giving a true career restrospective album, at the moment this is nearly not but not nearly enough really. A few tweets would make it a in to a really great collection.But even now its well worth buying

I have owned the 2 disc version of this since 1992 but the 4 disc version was too costly for me when it first came out, By contrast now its almost bargain basement price and has to be regarded as great value for money.

Grab this re-release and hope FM get the boxset they truly deserve soon a full career spanning one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Macnificent, 4 Oct 2013
By 
This review is from: 25 Years - The Chain (Audio CD)
25 years, four discs and a lifetime of excellent music starting with Peter Green and ending when? This is a reissue at a good price and is essential for any Fleetwood Mac fan. I was also impressed with the little book that came with this box set identifying the development of the band from a blues unit with tracks as diverse as 'Oh Well' and 'Albatross' through the Tusk, Rumours and Tango in the night years. Excellent value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good!, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25 Years - The Chain (Audio CD)
A very good compilation, the sound is perfect and clear.
There's only two very tiny reasons I did not rated five stars for this:
1. there's no "Hold Me" in it. I cannot conceive a Fleetwood Mac's compilation which does not contain this song;
2. very few informations about the songs. The last pages of the booklet contains some information but useless sometimes. It definately could be better, and the only place we can see the name of the song's author is inside the plastic cover but you must take off the CD to read it.
Nevertheless, forget about what I've just write and buy it now, what are you waiting for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great classic album, 26 Aug 2013
By 
D. Sims (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25 Years - The Chain (Audio CD)
Great price, great songs, great packaging, what's more to say? Even if you only half like Fleetwood Mac this is worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE GREATEST BANDS OF THEM ALL !, 28 Jun 2012
By 
pete clack - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 25 Years - The Chain (Audio CD)
Fleetwwod Mac have produced some of the greatest music ever in rock and popular music from the stunning early work of the band that included Britain's finest blues guitarist ever in Peter Green, on and through the years that have included Christine McVie, Bob Welch to Stevie Nicks and Lindsay Buckingham. Throughout every line up has been one of the best rhythm sections ever in John McVie and drummer Mick Fleetwood. Here on these four discs we get tracks from every line up and it's all good not a poor track is included, the early groundbreaking blues including my favourite Mac song of all time 'Man Of The World' Peter Green's classic song with that beautiful guitar as great now as when it first came out in the 60's.New songs,unreleased material studio and live recordings from the first album right onto the Mask album all the well known hits ,the classic album tracks, this is one great release that is such amazing value, has the imput of the band plus McVie and Fleetwood as exclusive producers, an excellent booklet full of photos and imput by the band. Think songs like 'Dreams', 'Go Your Own Way', 'Tusk', 'Big Love','Storms', 'Landslide''Second Hand News','The Chain'(think BBC F1 yes it's that track),70 plus tracks from the bands career and a new album on the way as well.Remember Rumours is still one of the biggest selling albums of all time, and some of that albums classic tracks are on here. I would venture to say this box set is unmissable, its the benchmark for truly great and timeless popular music that will still be played many years from now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track-list clarification, 18 July 2012
By 
Kathryn Sinclair (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 25 Years - The Chain (Audio CD)
I'm curious about some of Mr Prizeman's info here {I had the original, 1992 edition}, so let's clear-up a few things...
'Heart of Stone' is NOT by Stevie and Rick - it's a Christine McVie song. Also, Stevie's first 'Greatest Hits' is titled "Timespace".

There are more 'exclusive' tracks than those mentioned - the live songs are 'Stand Back', 'I'm So Afraid', 'Not That Funny', and 'Monday Morning'. The previously unreleased studio tracks are - 'Paper Doll' (SN), 'Love Shines' (CMcV), 'Heart of Stone' (CMcV), 'Make Me a Mask'(LB), 'Goodbye Angel' (LB), 'Teen Beat' (LB), and 'Trinity' (Danny Kirwan).

'Isn't it Midnight' is not a "version before Buckingham added his guitar parts", but an actual alternative take, with the keyboards to the fore {it is, after all, a Christine McVie song!}.
It has been said that this version of 'Silver Springs' is not the same one which made in onto the remaster / re-issue of "Rumours" - this is likely the b-side single version, as it is about 20 seconds shorter.
Many of the other songs are 'alternative mixes', though with some it is hard to hear much difference to the versions we know, but on a few it is clear - particularly the 'USC intro mix' of 'Tusk'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC !!!!!, 11 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25 Years - The Chain (Audio CD)
As a life time FM fan, unfortunately old enough to remember Peter Green before FM was formed, this a great addition to what is now available on CD. It certainly replaces a lot of what I have transfered from my original vinyl. I don't know how I missed the original 92 release! Although this set does not have everything of significance for the die hard FM enthusiast it goes a long way in a great package at a very reasonable price. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

25 Years - The Chain
25 Years - The Chain by Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews