Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars17
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£5.23+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 July 2012
I don't kknow if the band re-recorded these songs in 1968 or not , but this set is awesome. The songs here are truly monsters and beyond classic. "Saturday night at the movies' , 'this magic moment' 'some kind of wonderful' (grand funk had a great hit versoin of this in the 70's), 'up on the roof" , "on broadway" and others. the sound here is fine, I don't know what the complaint was about from one reviewer. Obviously this band made some great music and were having hits back before these songs , way back to 1950. rock and roll really goes back to the 40's but it didn't get it's name until 1954 or so. SO this band was rockin' way back, The boxset is better but this is a great collection of superhits.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2010
This is simply the best Drifers CD ever in my opinion, original recordings of great sing along tunes, I had this LP on vynal when i was 15, and was so happy to buy it again, On Broadway, Up on the roof etc. fantastic, buy this if you are a Drifters fan and buy it if youre not, it will grow on you.
0Comment15 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
Obviously based on the original cassette, and maybe even the version in vinyl too, when the Americans usually got away with just ten or twelve tracks on an album. Nowadays you'd get at least double that, and a re-issue might even contain two CDs, but the thing is that this is QUALITY -- as the title says 'Golden Hits' (present day groups, please note that it means they sold a million!). They're all ORIGINALS too -- both the recordings and the line up, and certainly no re-recordings or awful live tracks by a later group with an inferior sound (so easy to be caught out on that score, but not this time). This is a truly brilliant collection of pure classics!
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2009
This is a "must to have" CD for your collection and contains original recordings - several tracks have been recorded by other artists over the years which is a true testament to their appeal.
0Comment10 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
everyone fab brought back so many memories of golden days exelent sound and quality love listening to it and playing it for every one will only buy from amazon in future
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
Had this on tape but with the advancement of tecnology it was stored in the loft. i had'nt listened to it for ages wife brought me CD for xmas have been playing it since in the car.excellent songs if you like the drifters this is a must featuring three of the best lead singers in the groups line ups Ben.E.King, Rudy lewis & johnny moore they truely belt out the golden hits, give it a go you'll soon be sing along with them
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
Fantastic tunes but some of the greats aren't included in favour of a couple of very old numbers that sound more dated. However, if it doesn't get you singing along and into a good mood then you are hard to please.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
Brought this because i used to listen to it on vinyl when i was younger . Product and and sound quality good . Nice purchase and service .
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
love this album drifters were in my time so glad I can hear them on my kindle and my laptop ty
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2015
Arrived promptly and well packaged. Excellent quality and who doesn't love The Drifters?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.