Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic album from a fantastically underated band, 2 Dec 2006
By 
J. Heaphy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Declaration (Audio CD)
The Alarm burst onto the music scene with the release of "Declaration" and myself, along with thousands of other loyal fans were hooked immediately and remain so today.

This is an album full of the passion and anger of youth, railling against the backdrop of Thatcher's destruction of Welsh industry and her failed attempt to crush Wales' spirit.

The Alarm were and remain a fantastic band. So, buy this album, you will not be dissapointed.

"The Chant Has Just Begun"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Total Gem, 30 July 2010
By 
S. Whiteley "thesilverfox" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Declaration (Audio CD)
I first heard The Alarm Declaration when I was 12 and have never really stopped listening to it and now I'm 38!. Rolling Stone magazine called this album 'brilliant' and I would not disagree. There have been a lot of musical comparisons between The Alarm and U2, but I've never really seen it myself, probably cos I was listening to The Alarm before U2.
I always found this album strange and haunting and still highly original, there hasn't really been anything even similar in my opinion; first world war, american war of independence, death, afterlife, morality, punk, cowboys, religion, working class, folk, country - it is undefinable. Like all great albums though it is a not just a collection of singles but a total world in itself.

If you only buy one Alarm album get this one, all the albums which followed this whilst being good to ok never really captured this raw brilliance. By the end of the 80's The Alarm were all but on the rocks, they started out with the passion and fire of The Jam and ended up like errrrr, well, ......U2, only without the patronising deepness and global dominance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alarm! Really pretty good, 1 Feb 2009
By 
Comical Engineer "comicaleng" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Declaration (Audio CD)
Very 80s. The Alarm burst onto the scene and a relatively short time later disappeared. This is their first and best album and contains three of their singles. If you don't remember them, guitar based rock, post punk, silly hair. Plenty of power and energy.

This is really quite a good album. If you are into guitar based rock then this should be in your collection.

This version has some added tracks and remasters the originals. Well worth a listen. Another forgotten 80s band who deserve more airplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remastered Declaration! Brilliant!, 14 Nov 2007
This review is from: Declaration (Audio CD)
The Alarm's classic 1984 breakthrough album was originally released on IRS records following two huge UK/US hits, '68 Guns' and 'Where Were You Hiding When The Storm Broke?'. The original album charted at number 6 in the UK before selling 500,000 copies in America after being described as a 'brilliant' album by Rolling Stone Magazine.
'Declaration' has been remastered by lead singer Mike Peters and collects all The Alarm's hit singles and recorded material from the years 1984-1985, including two non album British only hit singles 'Absolute Reality' and 'The Chant Has Just Begun'. All the B-sides from this period are also included and one previously unreleased extra track.

This album contains 10 additional tracks, one previously unreleased anywhere ('The Peace Train'), seven tracks previously unreleased on CD and one track never before on an album. Stunning new and original artwork with 56 photos, (many unseen), complete lyrics and sleeve notes by the original members of The Alarm. There is also interactive programming information to play the album and singles in their original form. This album forms part of The Alarm's Remasters Collection and will be a must for the band's loyal and large fanbase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Needed as a gift, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Declaration (Audio CD)
Had heard the music many years before.
Wanted the cd as a gift for someone - excellent.

Item on time and in good order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the alarm, 17 Mar 2013
This review is from: Declaration (Audio CD)
One of the best live acts I've ever seen, this albums still up there with all the best for over thirty years. You can feel the anger & passion of their music, one of the first bands I got into & were gigging with u2 but for some strange reason didn't get the recognition. Well worth buying & still doing their yearly weekend gathering (get to north wales for drink & mike peters experience, unbelievable)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Where was I hiding when this band played live?, 20 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Declaration (Audio CD)
Yeah i've heard all the comparisons.
''the Welsh U2'' ''the punk Who'' but The Alarm were just a great band in their own right.The album starts at a fast pace with hardly time to breathe between Marching On, Where Were You Hiding and Third Light before we get to the anthemic Sixty Eight Guns. We are the Light provides some comparitively light relief before we are thrust back into the wind tunnel with Shout to the Devil. Blaze of Glory is also very anthemic and and has probably been sung by drunken Welshman just as much as Tom Jones' Delilah! Three more low-key (by this albums standards) songs follow before the album signs off with Howling Wind and finally we can wind down from this powerful onslaught of great punk/rock (as opposed to punk rock). If you must draw comparisons with other bands/albums then you can put this up there with U2s' War and Whos Next, yet they both seem a little staid when you experience the raw energy of this high octane masterpiece. I greatly regret never seeing this band live!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant one of the best, 27 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. Thomas Leonard (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Declaration (Audio CD)
i have been looking for this album on cd for ages i got it on tape but wanted it on cd so with thanks to amazon i got what i wanted thanks a lot amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 31 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Declaration (Audio CD)
I bought this album when it first came out, and the power of the album to rock has not changed.
I have seen The Alarm and Mike Peters (the lead singer) live so many times, and it was in doing so many live gigs that they originally attracted a huge mid-eighties following. Some may say, that they were too similar to U2, they actually supported U2 at Red Rock, and it was only after they had played that U2 decided to go on with the gig after it had poured down and a large portion of the crowd had gone home.
As for the album, all the tracks rock and it is on Declaration that you find 68 Guns, this is the only song most people have heard of when you mention the Alarm.
For me the stand out tracks are Marching On, Blaze of Glory, and The Deciever. Do yourself a favour and buy this album, and then go see them live! Yes they are still playing (although with a new lineup).
Wind down the window and play it LOUD!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6a5fee8)

This product

Declaration
Declaration by The Alarm (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews