Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars American 60s bubblegum pop / rock band worth investigating.
This cd is very Jeckl and Hyde. The first 13 tracks are bubblegum popish and most of them are quite good, "Green Tambourine", "Shoeshine Boy" and "I was not born to follow" are the standout tracks for me. These first 13 or so all have a naive childlike charm and optimism and are quite melodic, i suppose they sound a cross between the Ohio...
Published on 29 Dec 2001

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pop or Rock - the great divide
The other reviewers have basically summed up this album very eloquently, but I would still like to share my thoughts.
This best of album is a mixed up version of their only two releases from 1967 + 1968.
Everything was on the up for them when they reached number one in the States with "Green Tambourine" (one of my favourite 60's songs), unfortunately, this...
Published on 4 Sep 2011 by Metalstar


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars American 60s bubblegum pop / rock band worth investigating., 29 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
This cd is very Jeckl and Hyde. The first 13 tracks are bubblegum popish and most of them are quite good, "Green Tambourine", "Shoeshine Boy" and "I was not born to follow" are the standout tracks for me. These first 13 or so all have a naive childlike charm and optimism and are quite melodic, i suppose they sound a cross between the Ohio Express and the Monkees. Most of the rest of the songs are a complete change of direction and are quite blues/rock orientated and are almost like the Doors circa Morrison Hotel/LA Woman!
Its a shame they're relatively unheard of today in England as they are still worthy of a listen to. If you like trawling through the bands of the 60s for forgotten gems then this is definatley worth consideration, especialy at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous US garage sounds, 30 Jan 2009
By 
Geoffrey Saunders "weegie27" (Buckinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Remembered mostly for their No 1 US smash hit "Green Tambourine" the Lemon Pipers were actually a garage rock combo of the type that abounded in the USA from 1964-67. Legend has it that they never played their lighter pop material live, preferring to draw on their harder feedback drenched own material instead ( for instance Through With You, clocking in at over eight minutes long, and Dead End Street, over ten, are both classic examples of late 60's psychadelia). Cleverly both sides of the band are shown here on the 20 tracks making up this CD, the lighter "made to measure" pop hits intermingle with the Ohio garage sound. Other highlights include a very good version of Carole King's "I Was Not Born To Follow" and one of the greatest songs recorded in the 1960's "Ask Me If I Care". Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Pop production, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
As the other reviewers say, this is a most uderrated gem of 60's pop music. I always liked "Green Tambourine" and "Rice is Nice", but the other early tracks really do grow on you. The arrangements by Paul Leka are outstanding examples of how to put together a pop record. My favourite track at the moment is the brilliant "Shoemaker of Leatherware square". What a track - I always have to play it twice as I listen to the album! The later tracks are a kind of compendium of the musical styles that were around at the time - 1967/68. You can hear influences of the Byrds, Doors, Beatles, Love. I imagine that the band must have played covers of these groups in their live performances, as apparently they rejected the pop tracks they had been "forced" to make. They were clearly trying to find their own unique style, which ultimately they failed to do, although there are glimpses of something good on the later tracks. The only track I don't appreciate is "I wasn't born to follow". I guess that the Byrds version will always be my benchmark for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing!, 10 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
The Pipers were mainly remembered for 1968's big hit Green Tambourine;pure bubblegum-pop & very good.

The follow-up Rice is Nice was pretty useful too.

But they wanted to be known as a psychedelic band, and most of the later tracks here are from that phase of recording. They are not at all bad, and in some cases(Wine And Violet,Turn Around And Take A Look)excellent, others a bit too extended.

Both of their primary US "rivals", The Electric Prunes & The 13th Floor Elevators,were better at marrying psychedelic sounds to single-length tracks on a more consisent basis. And yet.............

Now we must consider the 3rd single-Jelly Jungle;it's a PERFECT marriage of bubblegum & psychedelia. If you believe, as I do, The Monkees I'm A Believer is perfection as a pure pop single product(which is why it shifted 7 million copies in 7 weeks!), Jelly Jungle is a truly wonderful contender for that award as well.

There's no need to consider buying this CD for just the one track,because there are lots of goodies memorable & fun alike on it. But, even if there wasn't Jelly Jungle is just too good to not be in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant psychedelic bubble gum rock/acid rock pop, 17 July 2013
By 
Miss M. Potter "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Sometimes great pop music is created by accident and sometimes by intention. And then again sometimes it is created by pressure from a Record company.
This CD illustrates either way great pop music can be achieved with the right chemistry of musicians.
I have had this CD for many years and have really loved it.
The Lemon Pipers saw themselves as more of a rock group but the record company needed them to produce commercial pop and rather than lose their contract they conformed and produced the brilliant track Green Tambourine.
This first track on this truly brilliant compilation was perhaps their most famous song and became an iconic song of 1968 and the psychedelic era. It is a terrific pop record.
The song was covered by many groups around that time including The Peppermint Rainbow.
The group became labelled as bubble gum pop by the media and press. However as this CD shows they did manage to produce their own version of pop music that cannot be truly called bubble gum pop.
The result is that during their short lived career The Lemon Pipers created some great music. The group only lasted between 1966-69
This CD is a good cross section of what they did.
Here there is melodic pop, acid rock and psychedelia mixed with zany lyrics, humour and blues.
Many of the songs were written by Paul Leka and Shelly Pinz at the insistence of the record company, (Green Tambourine etc) Other songs are by the group themselves but they are all good in their way.
I love every track on this CD and I think it is good that there is a good representation of what the group could achieve.
For a great fun psychedelic bubble gum trip you cannot go wrong with this compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great PSYCHADELIC POP GROUP!!, 15 April 2012
By 
Art "Art" (Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Yes this CD has some GREAT 60s music, but let's get the terminology right please:

They were never a 'garage band', in the 1960s this was called 'Psychadelic Pop' and they were a GROUP not a 'band'!

The best comment in the reviews is "the 3rd single-Jelly Jungle;it's a PERFECT marriage of bubblegum & psychedelia. If you believe, as I do, The Monkees I'm A Believer is perfection as a pure pop single product(which is why it shifted 7 million copies in 7 weeks!), Jelly Jungle is a truly wonderful contender for that award as well"

Forget British chart positions at the time; many of the 'teens' buying singles then were influenced by looks NOT the music; the majority of the singles on here are CLASSIC POP - buy and enjoy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great contribution to sixties psych by a very underrated band, 4 Mar 2012
By 
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
I wasn't expecting much when I ordered this CD, but it turned out to be a great buy. I feared it might by too poppy for my liking but, apart from a few early tracks, this does not disappoint if you're looking for something a bit more experimental or psychedelic. I like the second half of the CD best, here they come up with some interesting sounds on the longer psych tracks, besides some great vocals. 'Through with You' is a good example of this, a great melody on the verses, psychedelic guitar experimentation for several minutes before closing out with the same verses. The sound quality is also great throughout, and considering the price, this can be bought without hesitation by fans of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars total brilliance & a treasure of creative psychedelic pop & acid rock, 10 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Perhaps the most underrated band/act from the 60s & really great to see all the positive reviews here which has inspired me to write this. Highlights are (well almost every track could be a highlight): 'Green Tambourine' one of the major psychedelic hits of the 60s, a wonderful atmospheric sound containing piano, sitar, echo-laden strings, a punctuating 3 chord guitar riff, a triangle, tabla percussion and Ivan Browne's wavery childlike vocals "drop your silver in my tambourine help a poor man fill a pretty dream". 'Rice Is Nice' is excellent containing a wonderful concoction of swirling harps, strings, a good bouncing beat & dreamy lyrics "rice is nice...that's what they say ". 'Jelly Jungle (Of Orange Marmalade)' written by Leka & Pinz with its magical cascade of violins, sitars, trumpets, and amazing lyrics "take a trip on a pogo stick hops up and down, do a trick I'll play a beat on your pumpkin drum and we'll have fun, in the sun" should have been a worldwide #1. 'Lonely Atmosphere' (was their fifth and final single ) is a slow gentle ballad opening with two high pitched pianos, then sweeping violins, with drums and harps making odd sporadic appearances "looking out my window watching people passing by everyone has someone, tell me why can't I". 'Shoeshine Boy' simply brilliant. 'Ask Me If I Care' folk rock protest brilliance. 'The Shoemaker Of Leatherware Square' lyrical beauty from Shelley Pinz. 'Through With You' blistering Byrds' like start then continues over its 9 minutes to become one of the greatest guitar tracks of all time. Hammond organ solos and distorted fuzz, clever delicate feedback and wah wah guitars utilized to truly amazing effect....incredible guitar work from Bill Bartlett. 'No Help From Me' sung and written by Bartlett also contained some marvelous pulsating guitar. 'Love Beads & Meditation' is simply freaking brilliant "I'm heading East to find some piece of mind the jagged edge of insecurity the tangled mass of membranes that used to be me I'm gonna leave life's temptations behind love beads & meditation". Even though Browne had a highly original lead vocal, Paul Leka's writing & producing abilities, and also Bartlett's guitar work showed that they were also linchpins of this group. Also much credit must go to the co-songwriter Shelley Pinz because feel she added a delicate woman's touch found in these songs. The group left Buddah in '69, their brief stab of glory over, they split for ever & the world sadly had lost a great group & team, but they have left us this treasure of creative psychedelic pop & acid rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moments in the Sun for a Fine Band, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
The unfortunate thing about this band is that they crossed marketing genres and so their record label, Buddah, was not sure how to promote them and to which audience. It is easy to forget, when young music fans today are so relaxed about listening to music from any genre. In the 1960s knowing which camp you belonged to was essential. The Bubblegum Pop/Psychedelia split may not sound as drastic today as it did then but it was enough to put a break on their career. This is a great shame; I am not saying that The Lemon Pipers suffered the same level of bad luck as the ill fated Badfinger but they did have plenty of potential to be a much bigger and more influential band that they were. In Bubblegum Music is the Naked Truth: The Dark History of Prepubescent Pop from the Banana Splits to Britney Spears it is argued that Rainbow Tree, Shoeshine Boy and Blueberry Blue were worthy of favourable comparison with The Move's in terms of sophistication and some might argue that The Lemon Pipers were on a par with the psychedelic era Beatles, which is high praise indeed. This CD contains all the songs from the Green Tambourine album, No Help from Me (the B-side of the Green Tambourine single) and most of Jungle Marmalade, except the track Hard Core and Need Someone (The Painter). I do understand that Camden are trying to fit this all on to a single CD by why leave off an album track that was a single A-side for a non-album B-side? This, however is a minor quibble, this CD provides an excellent chunk of material from a band that disappeared too soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pop or Rock - the great divide, 4 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
The other reviewers have basically summed up this album very eloquently, but I would still like to share my thoughts.
This best of album is a mixed up version of their only two releases from 1967 + 1968.
Everything was on the up for them when they reached number one in the States with "Green Tambourine" (one of my favourite 60's songs), unfortunately, this music, although obviously very successful, did not fit comfortably with the band, who were more attracted to the growing rock scene.
This caused major problems between them and their record label. Eventually, the band were given the go ahead to record in their own style, which ultimately, was their downfall, due to the lack of commercial appeal.
So, the mix of cultures is quite striking on this release.
Firstly, you have the commercial appeal of the 'Beatlesesq' pop melodies, all good sing a long songs, but, really, The Beatles had already cornered this market a couple of years before.
Then, quite bizarrely, you have the other half of the album (the music the band wanted to play), which is in stark contrast, leaning towards a far less commercial outlook.
Even then, they don't seem to have any real direction, flitting from folk and blues to out and out psychedelic rock.
Ranging from Bob Dylan through to Atomic Rooster and even drifting off into King Crimson territory.
A real mish mash of styles, but also creates a very intriguing listen.
Bill Bartlett's guitar playing was ahead of it's time, especially evident on "Through With You", where he really stretches the imagination, with great gushes of feedback and weird distortions. A little reminiscent, in the middle section, of By-Tor And The Snow Dog, performed by Rush, six years later.
I'm sure The Lemon Pipers, (ridiculous name by the way), had an influence over many bands to come. but unfortunately, for them, it really was a case of what might have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of
The Best Of by Lemon Pipers (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews