Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


131 of 133 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly terryfying
This is the worst recording of anything ever produced and proof that God has forsaken us. Listening to Shatner scream his way through Mr Tambourine man, one dare not imagine what he's going to do if he catches up with him, surely something unspeakable. His now legendary performance of Lucy in the sky with diamonds is just as chilling in the way the song is first...
Published on 15 Sep 2004

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So bad this lemon has bite
Some reviewers will say this CD is so bad it is good. I'm of the opposite opinion - it is so bad it is a distillation of the really awful. Shatner's Shakespearean recitations (terrible, and set to an inappropriate musical score) are merely bewildering, the track 'How Insensitive' will make you weep as well as nod your head - how insensitive it was of Shatner to record...
Published on 12 Jan 2011 by mad_mushroom


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where No Music Has Gone Before, 5 Aug 2003
By 
Kratochvil Ondrej (OSTRAVA, Czech Republic) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spaced Out - The Very Best of William Shatner & Leonard Nimoy (Audio CD)
This is perhaps the only CD I can't listen in whole. I have to stop and take at least one day rest, because it's unbelievable.
I can't still figure out, if those two gentlemen ment it seriously or as a joke.
My favoutite peaces are Music to Watch Space Girls By by Leonard Nimoy, it's the essence of 60's, and Highly Illogical, song of Mr. Spock...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 Dec 2002
By 
P A Day (Esher, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spaced Out - The Very Best of William Shatner & Leonard Nimoy (Audio CD)
This CD just leaps from the shelf in its demand to be heard. The heady mix of songs, the stimulating lyrics, the understated delivery, all combine to create a jewel that will be treasured down the centuries. The mix of tracks encompasses melodic harmonies, safe in their banality. Protest songs with a hungry feel, like the kind you get from not eating for a while. Add all these factors together and you have a product that will be appreciated by people with an exquisitely refined artistic sense, like someone who can tell butter from "I Can't Believe It's Not Butter."
There are tracks that will leave your thoughts tumbling around your head, making and breaking alliances like underpants in a tumble dryer. Others more melodic in style that remind you of a dandelion swaying in a gentle breeze like an oscillating electric fan set on medium.
Shatner transposes the original urgency of Dylan's "Mr Tambourine Man". He creates a sense of serenity, tranquillity even, but this is shattered (or maybe Shatnered) with a unique ending. It will surprise you just like one of those pointy hook latches that used to dangle from doors and would fly up into your eye whenever you banged the door open again.
Shatner supplies a rendition of "Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds". Its melodies gently drift across the space between your speakers exactly the way a bowling ball wouldn't.
The Spock rendition of "Everybody's Talkin" is an ominous presence in a darkened room. The track reveals itself dramatically, sounding much like the sound of a thin sheet of metal being shaken backstage during the storm scene in a school play. His deep, throaty, voice will remind you of the dog you owned a few years back. Spock accompanies the instrumental solo with something that can only be described as the sound a dog makes just before it throws up.
Superb is the only adjective possible for the Nimoy version of "Where Is The Love?". Find a woman who is as easy as the Daily Star crossword and play this to her. It doesn't matter if this is your wife, girlfriend, neighbour, co-worker or whoever. If by the end their breasts are not heaving like a student on 31p-a-pint night, then you know you need to look elsewhere.
Nimoy supplies "Highly Illogical", and renders it as if it is a phrase he has used too many times before. It will walk into your aural senses like a centipede with 98 missing legs. This is really the only lame duck on this release. And it's not just a metaphorical lame duck either, but a real duck that is actually lame, maybe from stepping on a land mine or something.
Artful, considered, moody "Music To Watch Space Girls By" is Spock masterpiece. Words fail to allude to the elegance of this piece. Imagine, as a ballerina enters the room, and rises gracefully en pointe, then extends one slender leg behind
her, like a dog at a lamppost.
All too soon you will come to the end of this excellent compilation. I sat in the oppressive silence. It felt like I had fallen 12 stories and hit the pavement like a paper bag filled with vegetable soup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Embark on a musical 'trip' beyond the final front-ears, 12 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Spaced Out - The Very Best of William Shatner & Leonard Nimoy (Audio CD)
At last the best of two men whos melodic journey took them to the edge of musical experience can be heard side by side. This is a great compilation bringing together the best of Shatner & Nimoy. Nimoys output is more prolific & has greater representation here with most of the tracks being from his albums, covers of such classics as Everybody's Talkin' & If I Had A Hammer. There are also some more pointy-eared songs like the excellent observational Highly Illogical & the spoken-word warning from the stars A Visit to a Sad Planet. But as good as Nimoy is with his brand of sci-fi lounge music it is Shatner whos tunes linger in the minds eye. He only has a small number of songs but they are all horribly beautiful from his lyrical interpretations of Shakespearean verse such as Hamlets soliloquy to his haunting primal scream which ends Mr Tambourine Man. Definitely a record to beam up to your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its completely fabulously awful!!!!!, 2 July 2001
By 
This review is from: Spaced Out - The Very Best of William Shatner & Leonard Nimoy (Audio CD)
What can I say that hasn't been said already. This was obviously recorded after someone had been sniffing a few moon rocks because it is so completely bizarre no sane mind could have conjured this album up.
The comedy value alone is priceless. Billy Shatners Mr Tamborine Man and Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds will haunt you long after the medication has worn off.
This is just the kind of album to stick on when you've had a completely pants day because it really does show that even though your life may not be great at the moment at least you're not William Shatner or Leonard Nomoy so you can always be thankful for that. If this doesn't have you laughing your socks off in 5 minutes nothing will.
A big thumbs up to Billy and Len!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of this world!!!, 23 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Spaced Out - The Very Best of William Shatner & Leonard Nimoy (Audio CD)
This compilation of songs by William Shatner and Leonard Nimoy leaves me absolutely stunned. Shatners rendition of Mr Tambourine man gave me goosebumps. The maturity of this album, the emotion, and their unique approach to music is not to be missed!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Priceless album may leave you speechless, 14 Aug 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spaced Out - The Very Best of William Shatner & Leonard Nimoy (Audio CD)
I'd only ever heard a couple of the Nimoy offerings before and LSD by the Shatt, and so I thought I knew what I was letting myself in for, but I didn't really. The breadth of material covered by both was a complete surprise, the depth of the hole both men seemed to be digging for themselves with such vigour was none short of astonishing. It was akin I'd say to watching an unlicenced driver getting into a fast car and pointing it straight at a brick wall, without a seatbelt on. Brave though, as you'd expect of two starship troopers.

I'm going to have to review Nimoy's first, as I think I need to be sedated by several scotches at least, before I try and describe Shatner's efforts. The songs Nimoy 'sings' here were I guess, picked for him by someone who knows more about music than alias Spock clearly does. The songs are nice, very 60sish, a bit Greenwich Villagey and a few are classics. So what on planet earth must the writers of these famous songs have thought when they were told by their agents that a Mr. Leonard Nimoy was bringing out recordings of them? I would love to have seen some of their faces when they actually heard the recordings for the first time. Easy listening classics are tested beyond their limits with Nimoy's rigid monotone voice. You can almost hear the clanky gear changes as Nimoy is forced to try different notes in the same song, poor man. But he does bring something new to some of them, with one or two really suiting him, such as If I Were a Carpenter, If I Had a Hammer, and the excellent Vulcan song Highly Illogical. The arrangements could not be cheesier in general, or more catchy on some of them. Carpenter in particular has a very kinky arrangement and this has to be now my favourite version of this great song, although I know that's sacrilage. The slower songs really weren't right for him, as long lingering notes are for serious singers only. He falters his way through Abraham, and murders Sonny, quite horribly.

Now, to try and make some sort of sense of William Shatner's pseudo musical offerings. No, I can't do it right now, sorry, far too sober to attempt that, I'll have a go another day. What heroes these two guys are though for giving us these unforgettable versions of popular songs and proving that not all big name actors take themselves seriously. This album is highly addictive, captain, and that's not at all logical. LLAP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like nothing on Earth!, 23 Sep 2009
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spaced Out - The Very Best of William Shatner & Leonard Nimoy (Audio CD)
Ye gods, nothing prepared me for this. Not even the extracts I'd heard could prepare me for the full on screaming assault of the Shatman screaming "Hey! Mis-ter! TAMBOURINEMANNNNN!!!!!" Or his bizarre Shakespearean soliloquys that seem to be set to incidental music from old episodes of Star Trek. Leonard Nimoy can't compete, opting mostly for Harry Nilson, Johnny Cash, Woody Guthrie and hippie ballads, but that's not to say his renditions of Where Is Love? from Oliver!, Sunny Boy or If I Had a Hammer don't inhabit a bizarre place all of their own. He has better luck with Put a Little Love in Your Heart, Everybody's Talkin' and the sheer inane brilliance that is The Ballad of Bilbo Baggins (the music video for that one had Nimoy frolicking in sand dunes with go-go girls with pointy ears). No Rocketman from the Shat, sadly, but Nimoy's closing Spock Thoughts where he urges us to listen to the ignorant "because they have stories of their own" and to revel in our jobs ends on a note of lunacy. Jawdropping stuff indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bloody awful!!! Genius!!!, 18 July 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spaced Out - The Very Best of William Shatner & Leonard Nimoy (Audio CD)
This bizarre collection of songs should definitely be filed under; "So bad it's actually good." I'm not sure if this album is meant to be taken seriously but the results are unmistakable, absolutely hilarious. For instance, check out Nimoy's ; "Ballad of Bilbo baggins" Pure genius.
While Nimoy can just about hold a tune, the biggest laughs come from William Shatner, if you thought his acting in "Star trek" and "TJ Hooker" left a lot to be desired, wait till you get a load of his singing. I really have never heard a version of "Mr tambourine man" quite like his, I defy you to keep a straight face, similarly with his rendition of "Lucy in the sky with diamonds." But as with the duos old Tv shows, they are impossible not to warm to and enjoy.
If you're looking for something a little different that will bring a smile to your face, then look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Confusing, 13 Aug 2005
This review is from: Spaced Out - The Very Best of William Shatner & Leonard Nimoy (Audio CD)
It's near impossible to put across what I feel about this album.
Probably not unlike most other buyers, I bought it for the humour factor, however, after properly listening to it, it became strangely compelling. I won't lie, Shatner's screaming and disjointed lyrical style don't make 'good' music by any means, but there is something special about this collection that makes you just want to keep listening.
Somethings are brilliant because they're so awful (Hercules in New York for example) but this certainly is one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHERE NO VOICE HAS GONE BEFORE/INSANELY LOGICAL, 5 Sep 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spaced Out - The Very Best of William Shatner & Leonard Nimoy (Audio CD)
So bad it's good. Really. Just keep telling yourself that as STAR TREK's WILLIAM SHATNER and LEONARD NIMOY (photon) torpedo their way through some truly incredible songs, including poems and Shakespearean dialogue. Both actors released albums in the late Sixties and early Seventies to capitalise on their onscreen personas and this is a 24 nugget joint compilation of their 'finest' moments. Nimoy, the guy with the ears, is clearly also the guy with the voice. It's not a thing of great beauty, but he can at least hold a few on-pitch notes together (the poptastically bizarre BALLAD OF BILBO BAGGINS, however, does seem a bit of a stretch, even for a Vulcan's vocal chords). Shatner, on the other hand, 'performs' his songs in a manner that suggests murder has always been legal and is likewise something to celebrate. Over and over again. There's a certain something about his delivery of LUCY IN THE SKY WITH DIAMONDS and IT WAS A VERY GOOD YEAR that does actually make you feel we're on an extended 'trip' through space - but, sadly, without the required spacesuit. And Nimoy's version of EVERYBODY'S TALKIN' only confirms (or compounds) this arguable felony. His A VISIT TO A SAD PLANET - narrated in Spock's deadpan logical tones - is hilarious, containing as it does one of the least surprising surprise endings EVER recorded; someone really must have believed at the time that such a 'reveal' would blow all who heard it away into a higher dimension of elevated thought. Well, if the physical manifestation of that is coughing one's much-needed drink back up and out one's nostrils then yes, result. Hmm, just as well that in space, as the strapline not-quite goes, no-one can hear you choke and splutter.

1. King Henry The Fifth - William Shatner
2. Elegy For The Brave - William Shatner
3. Highly Illogical
4. If I Had A Hammer (The Hammer Song)
5. Mr. Tambourine Man - William Shatner
6. Where Is Love
7. Music To Watch Space Girls By
8. It Was A Very Good Year - William Shatner
9. Ruby Don't Take Your Love To Town
10. Hamlet - William Shatner
11. A Visit To A Sad Planet
12. Abraham, Martin and John
13. Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds - William Shatner
14. If I Was A Carpenter
15. How Insensitive - William Shatner
16. I'd Love Making Love To You
17. Put A Little Love In Your Heart
18. Sunny
19. Gentle On My Mind
20. I Walk The Line
21. Ballad Of Bilbo Baggins
22. Everybody's Talkin'
23. Both Sides Now
24. Spock Thoughts

SPACED OUT is an artefact of its time by two artefacts of their time, both shoehorned together for our entertainment. Maybe something to look at askance - with the dead weight of modern cynicism and disbelief a mere heartbeat to one side - because, in the final analysis, this coming together of two very different talents is also a heap of FUN.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews