Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


130 of 132 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly terryfying
This is the worst recording of anything ever produced and proof that God has forsaken us. Listening to Shatner scream his way through Mr Tambourine man, one dare not imagine what he's going to do if he catches up with him, surely something unspeakable. His now legendary performance of Lucy in the sky with diamonds is just as chilling in the way the song is first...
Published on 15 Sep 2004

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So bad this lemon has bite
Some reviewers will say this CD is so bad it is good. I'm of the opposite opinion - it is so bad it is a distillation of the really awful. Shatner's Shakespearean recitations (terrible, and set to an inappropriate musical score) are merely bewildering, the track 'How Insensitive' will make you weep as well as nod your head - how insensitive it was of Shatner to record...
Published on 12 Jan 2011 by mad_mushroom


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

130 of 132 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly terryfying, 15 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Spaced Out - The Very Best of William Shatner & Leonard Nimoy (Audio CD)
This is the worst recording of anything ever produced and proof that God has forsaken us. Listening to Shatner scream his way through Mr Tambourine man, one dare not imagine what he's going to do if he catches up with him, surely something unspeakable. His now legendary performance of Lucy in the sky with diamonds is just as chilling in the way the song is first throttled and then finally kicked to death. Nimoy does not let us down easily either, The Ballad of Bilbo Baggins is a superb example of cringe at warp factor 10, there is so much terrible stuff on this CD that you cannot imagine its scale of horror. The sheer embarrassment of listening to this CD in public is a spiritually humbling experience. This is one of the funniest CD's you will ever hear, I urge you to defy logic and buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spaced Out - Spacey and out there but NOT a waste of Space, 5 Feb 2005
This review is from: Spaced Out - The Very Best of William Shatner & Leonard Nimoy (Audio CD)
Why the 5 star rating? Well, read all about it...
Shatner is quoted on the insert as saying, "I've been entranced with music for the longest time...and the bane of my life is that I really can't sing...I'm kind of feeling my way into an area that I'm discovering." This is exactly what many people miss - this isn't just a compilation of songs, this stuff was done as conceptual art. Conceptual art is not always made to popular tastes.
Thus, when I listened to this (my dad has the vinyls) I alternatively howled with laughter, tapped my toes, and sang along. The excellent selection does cover the unforgettable favorites, such as Shatner's Mr Tambourine Man and Nimoy's Ballad of Bilbo Baggins. These are truly unique.
These famous songs should not typecast the album, though - for instance, Shatner's renditions of Shakespeare are arguably quite good. The pieces are dramatic and interpretive (back to the art thing) and Shatner dares to be different - how much fun would it be to hear only one version of Hamlet? He's aware he can't sing so adapts (incidentally, Rex Harrison spoke his way through most of My Fair Lady - a musical!!)
Nimoy, on the other hand, provides spoken word and singing. One of the best songs is Where is Love - a touching, simple and well sung rendition. YES Nimoy CAN SING. I really liked the spoken piece, A Visit to A Sad Planet, as I hadn't heard before and found the ending intriguing (no spoilers here!). You really notice the difference between the 'Spock voice' and his 'Nimoy voice.'
With the variety on the CD you're bound to find something you love - whether because it's a funny laugh and you think it's dated or simply because you appreciate something a bit different from two cultural icons.
Bottom line: A really well-selected, quality produced, compilation of Shatner and Nimoy's art/interpretive records of yesteryear. You don't need to go buy six CDs, just this one. It's an eclectic, unusual CD you'll probably find you like a lot more than you expected (and it's a HECK of a conversation piece).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SAFETY WARNING, 18 Nov 2004
By 
Mr. G. C. Stone "mgcs" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spaced Out - The Very Best of William Shatner & Leonard Nimoy (Audio CD)
Do not listen to any of these tracks in the car. I once heard Shatners 'Lucy in the Sky' on the radio and was shaking so much (with what I can only describe as a highly potent mix of extreme mirth and total, magisterial awe) that I nearly veered off the road.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute delight, 23 Nov 2003
This review is from: Spaced Out - The Very Best of William Shatner & Leonard Nimoy (Audio CD)
I discovered this CD by accident and bought it because I thought "That looks fun". I am very glad I did. This is an hour and ten minutes of pure entertainment. Leonard Nimoy's performances on this CD are, generally, much better than I had expected. He has a good voice and all of his recordings are well arranged and performed. Leonard's performance of "Both Sides Now" is every bit as good as that of Paul Young and Clannad from a few years ago.
William Shatner's tracks, on the other hand, are absolutely bizarre. I can only imagine there was an intoxicating fog in the studio when these were recorded. Bill's reading from Hamlet is backed by incidental music from Star Trek, his psychotic approach to Mr Tambourine Man is quite scary and his version of It Was A Very Good Year is beyond comment.
This is a great CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Few understand, 8 Sep 2005
This review is from: Spaced Out - The Very Best of William Shatner & Leonard Nimoy (Audio CD)
It was a love for the song 'Lucy (in the sky with diamonds)' that I braved the scared and concerned looks of my other half as a parted cash to buy this CD. All the while knowing that only William Shattner could sing it the way it needed not be sung. I think I may have been going too far when I turned up the cd player and started grinning like a mad fool as the room filled with his voice. Its a laugh, buy it for the satisfaction of knowing you own it. Hell play it enough and you'll eventually (though briefly) begin to actually enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masochists Delight., 1 Jun 2004
This review is from: Spaced Out - The Very Best of William Shatner & Leonard Nimoy (Audio CD)
This is truly a triumph of ego over talent. From the complete pretension of the cover photo to the amazingly pompous production of the tracks. I thought this CD may the one to get rid of unwanted guests at parties, but after listening to a few tracks I realised that this has a certain fascination & may not clear parties as hoped. I strongly recommend this as a lesson of all pomp & no circumstance. A total treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer unintentional comedy!, 21 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Spaced Out - The Very Best of William Shatner & Leonard Nimoy (Audio CD)
Star Trek can be taken too seriously - to some, the show is so perfect, even the Borg would take time out to watch it. Although unintentionally, Shatner and Nimoy offer us a good laugh at the Trek's expense. Take "Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds" for example - the way Shatner delivers it is so weird and spaced out, it would make Timothy Leary sound like Esther Rantsen! Seriously! As for Nimoy - that's just funny on the whole concept of it... Spock.. er.. singing? A character devoid of emotions and feelings... singing? You just got to laugh, even if you just laugh at his singing voice, it is purely divine comedy!
However, what makes it just that bit funnier, was the fact that the two were, at the time, making something deadly serious! It was just so kitsch and pretentious, it goes way beyond the point of hilarity!
It is customary to include an 'if you like this' section, but things like this are unique. However, if you like jokes at the expense of mediocrity and pretentiousness, hunt down a copy of "Neil's Heavy Concept Album" (Nigel Planer's character in The Young Ones) - it will also have you in stitches!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 Dec 2002
By 
P A Day (Esher, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spaced Out - The Very Best of William Shatner & Leonard Nimoy (Audio CD)
This CD just leaps from the shelf in its demand to be heard. The heady mix of songs, the stimulating lyrics, the understated delivery, all combine to create a jewel that will be treasured down the centuries. The mix of tracks encompasses melodic harmonies, safe in their banality. Protest songs with a hungry feel, like the kind you get from not eating for a while. Add all these factors together and you have a product that will be appreciated by people with an exquisitely refined artistic sense, like someone who can tell butter from "I Can't Believe It's Not Butter."
There are tracks that will leave your thoughts tumbling around your head, making and breaking alliances like underpants in a tumble dryer. Others more melodic in style that remind you of a dandelion swaying in a gentle breeze like an oscillating electric fan set on medium.
Shatner transposes the original urgency of Dylan's "Mr Tambourine Man". He creates a sense of serenity, tranquillity even, but this is shattered (or maybe Shatnered) with a unique ending. It will surprise you just like one of those pointy hook latches that used to dangle from doors and would fly up into your eye whenever you banged the door open again.
Shatner supplies a rendition of "Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds". Its melodies gently drift across the space between your speakers exactly the way a bowling ball wouldn't.
The Spock rendition of "Everybody's Talkin" is an ominous presence in a darkened room. The track reveals itself dramatically, sounding much like the sound of a thin sheet of metal being shaken backstage during the storm scene in a school play. His deep, throaty, voice will remind you of the dog you owned a few years back. Spock accompanies the instrumental solo with something that can only be described as the sound a dog makes just before it throws up.
Superb is the only adjective possible for the Nimoy version of "Where Is The Love?". Find a woman who is as easy as the Daily Star crossword and play this to her. It doesn't matter if this is your wife, girlfriend, neighbour, co-worker or whoever. If by the end their breasts are not heaving like a student on 31p-a-pint night, then you know you need to look elsewhere.
Nimoy supplies "Highly Illogical", and renders it as if it is a phrase he has used too many times before. It will walk into your aural senses like a centipede with 98 missing legs. This is really the only lame duck on this release. And it's not just a metaphorical lame duck either, but a real duck that is actually lame, maybe from stepping on a land mine or something.
Artful, considered, moody "Music To Watch Space Girls By" is Spock masterpiece. Words fail to allude to the elegance of this piece. Imagine, as a ballerina enters the room, and rises gracefully en pointe, then extends one slender leg behind
her, like a dog at a lamppost.
All too soon you will come to the end of this excellent compilation. I sat in the oppressive silence. It felt like I had fallen 12 stories and hit the pavement like a paper bag filled with vegetable soup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure panto! Sing-a-long a spock. It'll cheer you up., 1 Dec 2005
By 
Prof TBun (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spaced Out - The Very Best of William Shatner & Leonard Nimoy (Audio CD)
This is REAL music, a true piece of art. You will want to sing along to songs that before you never new you liked. At the same time it challenges your perception of what is good music.
Bill's "It was a very good year is a fine comic interlude", but
personally I much prefered Nimmoy's deep flat singing voice to Shatner's ham acting style. With 18 Nimmoy tracks I'm not complaining though.
Its said Mozart never wrote a wrong note, and that's why this is so, so much better than Mozart.
Nimmoy and Shatner don't shy away for letting loose and enjoying themselves and its positively infectious. There is plenty of invention and variation throughout.
I recommend this to all fun-loving adults.
... and if you're not a fun loving person, then sit back, keep listening and you soon will be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing - truely inspirational, 3 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Spaced Out - The Very Best of William Shatner & Leonard Nimoy (Audio CD)
One of my favourite songs of all time is Ervin Drake's "It was a very good year". The strength and inherent timelessness of this song is evident whether performed by The Kingston Trio, Robert Williams, more familiarly, by Francis Sinatra, or to a lesser extent by Paul Young.
I was convinced that this was the one song of such strong emotive fabric that it could not be delivered without bringing the listener to consider the most basic questions of life... What do I hope to achive in my lifetime? What will I be remembered for? In the autumn of my life, will I have any regrets?
It takes a true master of vocal dexterity to deprive this song of it's inherent meaning. William Shatner is that man.
I must echo the sentiment of a fellow reviewer. Were they really serious? I read somehere that Bill was drinking heavily during the sessions while Leo was trying to convince everyone in the studio that he wasn't spock.
If you wish to truely frighten dinner guests into never returning, or at the very least have them consider having you commited to spending the rest of your life under close medical observation, try this on them....
Five stars for entertainment and carefree creativity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews