Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God Bless The Cramps!, 19 May 2005
By 
Ec Tipton "donkey_sandwich" (Hereford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Off The Bone (Audio CD)
The CD is a collection of all the singles / EP and non-album tracks from the first few years the Cramps career and really captures the band at their rawest and most essential. Where a lack of musical ability or good taste would be a problem for most bands, The Cramps rock on regardless making some of the most rockin' good time dirty pyschobilly punk sounds ever! Ivy And Gregory's guitars play simple irresistable riffs whilst Lux Interior's yelping / screaming vocals steal the show. The songs range from the rockin' feel good sounds of 'Domino' and 'Save It' to the brooding and moody 'The Way I Walk' and 'Garbageman' to the atmospheric and spooky 'Fever' whilst still retaining the unmistakable Cramps sound. If you're a guitarist just starting out and want to know howto make great music with a limited ability CHECK THIS OUT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Classic Cramps", 16 Jun 2001
This review is from: Off The Bone (Audio CD)
The ultimate early Cramps, a combined "Best of..." the Bryan Gregory & Kid Congo Powers eras this album is a must for all fans of The Cramps' twin guitar, buzz-saw riffs. Fifties Rock & Roll get's the full treatment on "Domino" and "Fever" & there are brilliant reminders of The Cramps' wicked humour on "Human Fly" and "Some New Kind of Kick". Take a trip back in time and revel at the simplicity of Lux & Ivy's twisted genius. I'm Cramped!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cramps "off the bone", 17 Mar 2010
By 
Tim Combles (Eastbourne, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Off The Bone (Audio CD)
OFF THE BONE OFF THEIR HEADS. A good starter/intro to the Cramps. The mighty HUMAN FLY (possibly the best guitar intro in the world) followed by a selection of other Cramps songs. Buy this along with the LP's "Songs The Lord Taught Us" and "Psychedelic Jungle" A good deal on Amazon for all 3. If you like your buzzed out psycho-rockabilly guitar accompanied by fat ear wiggling, head nodding, nonsensicyle lyrical, grave digging beats. Its a hoot you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars goo goo muck!, 17 April 2013
This review is from: Off The Bone (Audio CD)
This got me into the Cramps. I couldn't believe this album when I first heard it - there's not - the sound of southern culture dissolving in a blaze of hiccups and shudders - a bad track on it. Only the squarest of squares couldn't like this and there's no hope for people like that.
In fact I became so Cramped I became known as Lux. One of the greatest bands of all time. There early stuff is their best but as a live act they were probably the best I've seen - in a league of their own.
If you've never heard the Cramps but like rockabilly and garage rock plus 50s and 60s b-movies and are a Teenage Tiger and a Goo Goo Muck Beast, buy this album.
Put one foot up, Put another foot up - put another foot up and you're on board - the Drug Train Woo Hoo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oldie but goodie, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Off The Bone (MP3 Download)
I've rediscovered the Cramps after many years and this compilation album took me back to my rockin' days way back when...... Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars punk elvis in 3d, 11 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Off The Bone (Audio CD)
if your only going to buy one cd by the cramps make it this one its a greatest hits kind of package that every self respecting record collection had back in the day and it includes their best song human fly but what happened to that famous 3d cover
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cramptastic!, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Off The Bone (Audio CD)
Bought this album to replace my very old LP version and it still cuts the mustard after all these years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 'The' Album for Cramps Fans!, 4 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Off The Bone (MP3 Download)
Essential for any Cramps Fans. My first Cramps album back in the 80's and just about all of their best tracks. I'm Cramped!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Craps - Off the bone, 16 Jun 2009
By 
M. Ayden (Newcastle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Off The Bone (Audio CD)
Awesome fun and dark all American punk with the 50's be-bop rocker style.
Love this album from start to finish. 8 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Off The Bone (Audio CD)
Awesome album by the cramps !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Off The Bone
Off The Bone by Cramps (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews