Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars22
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 September 2000
After having heard a track by the Alarm on an old compilation tape I decided to buy a CD by the group as I had no other material. I plumped for The Best Of compilation as I figured the singles collection would give me a better idea about the groups musical leanings. The album is a mixture of soft rock ballads and fast and furious upbeat tracks, my particular favourite is Spirit Of 76, a song about teenage years growing up in a small town and the different ways peoples lives unfold. I could go through the whole album but I'll just pick out a few more must hear tracks 68 Guns, Blaze Of Glory and Where Were You Hiding When The Storm Broke are all quite evocative of the era! If you'd like a trip down memory lane I'd recomend this CD, I always find good music stands the test of time and this certainly does.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2010
There's such a temptation to make fun of the Alarm for their fretfulness. They're worried men with worried songs. But it's rare to hear a band so committed and hopeful and smart, and they have a ringing, often stirring sound. With a fresh, muscular lineup of two acoustic guitars, bass and drums, the Alarm are both hippies and latter-day punks, descendants of both Bob Dylan and the Clash. At their best they are melodic tainted with a anthemic rant

The Alarm has a better feel for a song than U2, and they're not as rah-rah as Big Country, but somehow they fit in a niche with those two bands: Unfortunatily they were largly ignore by the sleeping public or accused as copyists and dismissed a flash in the pans.

They share an optimism, an honesty that comes through the musicand they're not afraid to tackle big ideas. They appeared to be more interested in war and soldiers, truth and justice, than in girls. That passion for leading a march makes them come off a little too gung-ho.

At times the songs go on and on and be come repeditive, but they honesty makes me smile.

This is one of the best new live bands I heard and I was luck enough to see them in their fledgling years supporting U2

This is a good strong ablum and its a shame they don't share todays platform with U2
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2011
Sad to say some of the tracks have dated badly over time but enough here to remind why the band with the big hair were so popular. Remember seeing them live back in the day and getting a fantastic show and a couple of tracks hint at that excitement.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2004
I have read so many reviews of The Alarm that are very critical, but you have to look beyond the studio albums to appreciate the contribution this band made to the 80's music scene.
It is true that they did not make great albums, but they did have their moments of inspiration when it came to single releases.
The early country rock track "The Road" is still something I enjoy listening to. Try speeding it up with your MP3 editing software and it sounds awesome!!!
The hit single "68 Guns" and the excellent "Strength" make this album worth buying.
Then listen to "Where were you hiding?" and "The Deceiver", along with the brilliant b-side "Majority" and you will appreciate that this is a truly great package.
The Clash-like "Absolute Reality" is a great fast-paced rocker and we also have the beatiful "Spirit of 76".
Need I go on? I hope not. If you are not convinced by now then you never will be.
I am sad that the brilliant "Deeside" has been excluded. For some reason never released as a single, although it was probably one of their greatest songs. The "Knife-edge" single is also excluded, but the naff "Rain in the summertime" is included. OK - "Rain..." was a top-twenty hit due to their MTV live appearance, but it is one of their weakest singles.
Buy this album and you won't regret it.
------
Final grumble: how can you have an Alarm compilation without the gritty "The Chant Has Just Began" single included? - Come on! In the mid eighties, when everyone was listening to Frankie Goes to Hollywood, The Alarm attacked the sensitive ear with "The Chant..." - if only The Alarm were around in these Westlife days we live in :-)
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
integrity is the word that sums up mike peters the iconic frontman of the alarm. He believes in giving blood sweat and tears to the listener and to his fans in general some of the songs of hope and commitment here anybody will recognise, and the rest will say something about your life. This album is the thrilling appetiser to an amazing musical heritage and i challenge anybody to listen and see if they can resist finding out more about a band whose music inspired the likes of manic street preachers and catatonia. Mike still tours the world playing these songs and though nothing can recreate the raw power and energy of an alarm gig, these songs will leave you wanting more.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2004
The Alarm were a talented and original band (1981-1991) who regrettably didn't - or, better say, weren't allowed - to break through to "the Big Time".
music critics in the UK were variously hostile towards their music, not to say racist towards them (2 members were Welsh, some years before the Cool Cymru decade). but their loyal fans always knew better, and their gigs were lively events. the band cut many excellent songs which sound as raw and fresh today as they ever did.
mike peters, the talented front man of the band, wrote 99 per cent of the Alarm's material, and went on to write many fine songs as a solo artitst. he is, i contend, the Welsh Bruce Springsteen.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2012
Take no notice what this person has said below me,,looks like he's not a 80's person,,,ok what we have here is a classic band from the 80's,,and really this band should have gone all the way to the top with the other bands,,but they stayed as one of the alternative bands,,goth,glam,with a touch of u2 in there,,just look at the classic song listed on this lp,,,rain in the summertime,68 guns,ect,,,this is a brill of a lp,,,get it,,you will not be disapointed,,,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2001
The Alarm heard the Pistols, the Buzzcocks and the Clash, and that was it; they were off and running. "Spirit of '76" exemplifies the punk explosion formed that year in Britain. "Sixty Eight Guns" and "The Stand" defined the Alarm's sound as a unique cross-fertilization between British punk and American Wild West romanticism. And "Strength" is one of the most powerful songs ever written. Mike Peters' lyrical expressiveness falls into two main categories: politically charged anthem and homage to personal relationship. Each is done beautifully, and sometimes interplay, as in "Spirit" when friendships are portrayed as emblematic of an era. This is where the Alarm's greatest strength lies: they make you care, because they take universal themes and render them personal.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
I bought it for the tracks released as singles. Unfortunately, these were the only decent tracks. With the benefit of hindsight I would have downloaded the the racks I wanted and saved money in the process.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2014
Excellent. Good CD if you like Mike Peters - and I do. Spirit of '76 an all-time great number. The Alarm were a great band. Keep on rockin', Mike!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)