Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proves that age is no barrier to genius, 13 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Healer (Audio CD)
Yes!! This album is fantastic. It virtually relaunched Hooker (for the umpteenth time in his VERY long career) and certainly deserved to. Carlos Santana provides a searing opening guitar line, Bonnie Raitt's duet is wonderful and the closing acoustic tracks have all the charm of Hooker of old. This is one album not to be missed, even if you have never previously listened to the blues. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic, pure pleasure., 6 Nov. 2000
This review is from: Healer (Audio CD)
I couldn't say I am an expert, or even know anything about the blues, but this is one great CD. I bought it on impulse after reading an article in one of the dailies and listen to it all the time. Unlike most popular music, the more I listen to it, the better it seems to get :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Late-life rejuvenation for John Lee, master of the blues, from star-studded collaborations, 7 April 2011
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Healer (Audio CD)
This late-in-life multi-artist collaboration album from 1989 introduced John Lee Hooker to a new, younger audience and boosted his profile to such an extent that in his 70s and 80s (John Lee's birth date, usually quoted as 22 August 1917, is undocumented and uncertain) he became better known and more globally successful than ever before. Age ripened his trademark growling baritone and deep-from-the-soul blues sound, and some of his very best music is from this final period.

`The Healer' is worth buying for the first two numbers alone. The title track features the soaring guitar of Carlos Santana weaving round John Lee's simple, rich and wonderful vocal line over a slow-tempo, tight latin rhythm section to produce an instant classic. In the second number `I'm in the Mood for Love', Bonnie Raitt and John Lee perform a raunchy duet with the vocal lines and guitars in classic R&B interplay which shouldn't work as well as it does, but the result is in every way fabulous.

A series of additional collaborative numbers with Charlie Musselwhite, Robert Cray, George Thorogood and others fills the rest of the album: all good, but none as arresting as the two openers. Production values are first-class and overall, this is a classic with two real corkers you'll never tire of hearing. If you have only one album from John Lee Hooker's enormously prolific output in your collection, this is one you should consider for that cherished position.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best blues collaborator, 10 Aug. 2012
By 
A. J. MEARS "john m" (devon uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Healer (Audio CD)
In the Nineties all the great Blues Legends were rejuvenating their careers by collaborating musically with their younger, mostly white, imitators. BB King, Buddy Guy and John Lee Hooker were all making albums with their younger Rock proteges. John Lee Hooker's album The Healer is undoubtably the best. Whilst you could discard the final three tracks as space fillers, the album is worth 5 stars for the first 7 tracks, which are all duets with contributors. The first two tracks are classic. Track one with Carlos Santana is beautiful. The second track with Bonnie Raitt on vocals is probably the sexiest blues duet you will ever hear. Truely a wonderful contemporary Blues album that all Blues fans should have in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Healer, 31 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Healer (Audio CD)
This album was reccomended to me by "The Blues Magazine" I purchased it and have found it to be a highly
exciting album to listen to. Headphones on, it will knock your socks off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Healed and rejuvenated!, 9 Mar. 2013
By 
John Miller "Northolt_John" (Northolt, Middlesex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Healer (Audio CD)
I bought this recording on the strength of a couple of revues, and a TV promo for the title track back in 89, still have the CD which was released here in the UK on the Silvertone label and have committed it to my iTunes library as it is a firm favourite, it is the only recording I have from the great master although I am familiar of course with some of his older classics, Boom Boom, Dimples, Crawling King Snake, etc, I think the period between the mid 70's and 2001 Hooker produced his best work on the modern medium of CD and The Healer exemplifies that, I love the last 3 tracks because you can clearly visualise him just sitting there on his stool strumming unaccompanied tapping his heal, this contrasts with the first bunch of tracks which are more uptempo, tracks 4 & 5 are more boogie woogie in style, by track 6 the pace has slowed down altogether, it's almost as if the participants have all left the stage with Hooker left in the spotlight, great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HOOKED, 1 Nov. 2011
By 
wolfman "DJ" (TOOTING COMMON) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Healer (Audio CD)
JUST AMAZING,this for me is the best blues album,from a black artist,i've ever heard!
John lee's voice is the best,and the duo's are inspired
Just buy it,and tell me i'm wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Healer (Audio CD)
I love this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Aug. 2014
By 
A. L. Anderson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Healer (Audio CD)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Healer
Healer by John Lee Hooker (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews