Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It does exactly what it says on the title.
OVERVIEW>
Worthy of 6 stars, this album is not only my personal favourite by Ten Years After, it is also in my top 5 all time. My favourite track is "Standing At The Station".
A Bluesy/rock offering, that gets me singing along every time. It has fine examples of all four band members plying their craft at up around their best. If only they made music like this...
Published on 26 July 2003 by 1rockfan

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Backward step
It's clear from earlier reviews that this, one of TYA's later albums, splits the fans. For me, there's plenty of energy in the second half, though it's standard boogie fare to a large extent. That's OK with me, but the more carefully-crafted blues numbers aren't especially inspired. 'You Give Me Loving' sounds like an offspring of their earlier hit, 'Love Like A Man,'...
Published on 17 Aug. 2007 by D. J. H. Thorn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It does exactly what it says on the title., 26 July 2003
By 
1rockfan (Devon. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock & Roll Music To The World (Audio CD)
OVERVIEW>
Worthy of 6 stars, this album is not only my personal favourite by Ten Years After, it is also in my top 5 all time. My favourite track is "Standing At The Station".
A Bluesy/rock offering, that gets me singing along every time. It has fine examples of all four band members plying their craft at up around their best. If only they made music like this nowerdays.
Although over 30 years old it still sounds vibrant, alive & relevant. The production by early Seventies standards is very, very good.
Track By Track.
You Give Me Loving.
A subdued Keyboard and electric guitar intro, explodes to life on introduction of the rhythmn section. (Ric Lee's drumming is prominent throughout the track.) Vocals join in soon after. Chick Churchill and Alvin Lee combine instruments on the main riff, which is pulsating and relentless. There is a nice change of tempo in the following instrumental piece. Then a drum crash heralds a downchange in tempo for an excellent keyboard/guitar section with a real psychadelic feel to it. Before returning to the main riff and next verse. There is an excellent extended finale, this track will not lay down and die.
Convention Prevention.
Drum intro, with electric guitar. Acoustic guitar and vocals follow. Listen out for the interesting structure to the composition of the lyrics. The lead vocals are subjected to some production jiggery pokery that gives a finished sound that will be familiar to T.Y.A fans. There is also a long instrumental section to enjoy in this track.
Turned Off T.V Blues.
Bluesy guitar intro, is followed by bluesy vocals, piano and rhythmn section. The whole composition is quite structured for a blues number, but with enough licence for Alvin and Chick to do their thing. Sadly the lyrics are none too clear on my vinyl copy. Digitally re-mastered C.D might well be better.
Standing At The Station.
Gentle intro, is followed by good clear vocals. When the rhythmn section gets going, it definately sounds like a train travelling over rails. The intensity of the track just grows and grows, like an express train gathering speed. A brilliant keyboard led instrumental section with Ric Lee's drumming continue to give the impression of a train rolling on. The keyboard fades, to leave an excellent rhythmn guitar piece that was there all along. This is the platform (please excuse the pun) for the intensity and tempo to pick up again and feature an Alvin Lee electric guitar led section, which drives forward, faster and faster gaining momentum until you hear the sound of a train and whistle travelling full speed through a station, to end the track. Wow!!! what a journey!
You Can't Win Them All.
Deep electric guitar intro, continues to form backbone of track. Vocals and a powerful foot tapping rhythmn section follow. With a bluesy sound throughout, an elctric guitar and keyboard led instrumental section, lead us into the next verse. follwed by a more freeform instrumental section featuring piano. Track ends abruptly.
Religion.
Keyboard led introduction, is followed by clear lyrics, which are quite profound, if a little brief. This slower tempoed track has a good, long instrumental section that leads into an end piece of keyboard special effects.
Choo Choo Moma.
Twangy lead guitar intro, breaks in to fast bluesy style, accompanied by up tempo vocals and piano. This is a very fast track. There is some excellent electric guitar playing between the verses.
Tomorrow I'll Be Out Of Town.
Electric guitar intro at up tempo beat again is joined by vocalsand a very good piano track, especially so, when it features with drums and vocals only. There is a good instrumental mid-section, with featured electric guitar. Keyboards join in to this wall of sound an exciting instrumental finale.
Rock and Roll Music To The World.
No Introduction necessary. Straight in to vocals and full instrumentation, in a heavy blues style featuring strong bass/rhythmn guitar. The line " I tell you the truth,I ain't no star. I only shout, and leave the rest to my guitar" is very apt for this track, which lets Alvin Lee have all the freedom he wants, to do what he does best. And doesn't he sound like he is enjoying himself?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An all time great...., 10 Aug. 2007
By 
J. Harris (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rock & Roll Music To The World (Audio CD)
I'll never understand TYA fans that say this is not one of their best. I have been listening to this album since it came out and must have listened to it thousands of times. This has to be, in my view, one of the greatest rock albums ever recorded. Alvin Lee is just sublime on this album and the band are tight and powerful.

If you want to give Ten Years After a listen then this is not a bad place to start. An all time great which you should buy and play, play, play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Backward step, 17 Aug. 2007
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rock & Roll Music To The World (Audio CD)
It's clear from earlier reviews that this, one of TYA's later albums, splits the fans. For me, there's plenty of energy in the second half, though it's standard boogie fare to a large extent. That's OK with me, but the more carefully-crafted blues numbers aren't especially inspired. 'You Give Me Loving' sounds like an offspring of their earlier hit, 'Love Like A Man,' only inferior. Strangely, the production is cruder than on some of their earlier efforts, though this works to their advantage on the boogie-oriented stuff. This is a decent album, but I'd start with 'Cricklewood Green' and 'Watt' before going for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock & Roll Music To The World (Audio CD)
My favourite album ever bought all those years ago and play it constantly in the car!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars still some gems, but downhill from here, 2 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Rock & Roll Music To The World (Audio CD)
Their penultimate album catches TYA right after their peak in studio craft, 'A space in time'. Gone is the plethora of sound effects, and back in is simple rock 'n' roll instead. That may sound like a good deal at first, until you get to notice that a lot of inventivity went out the window with it too. On side 1 the band still sounds as in great shape however; 'You give me loving' and especially 'Standing at the station' are great numbers; 'Convention prevention' is untypically funky and therefore a bit strange, but also good.
And the rest... is basically the rock 'n' roll sent to the world as promised in the title. Of these numbers, only 'You can't win them all' and the title track sound pleasantly energic; 'Choo choo mama' and 'Tomorrow...' are more your average generic rockers. 'Turned off TV blues' is so excessive and long it makes you wish they'd finally switched back on that thing, and 'Religion' is absolutely embarrassing. Alvin Lee is definitely NOT the guy to sing something very serious or make a point.
All 'n' all, one of the lesser TYA albums, not as bad as their last, but certainly not one to start with. As some of the better tracks also feature on that same year's 'Recorded live', which is also more exciting and gives you a good idea of later TYA concerts, I recommend that one instead. But then you'll miss 'Standing at the station' though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Feb. 2015
By 
STEVEN J BEALE (TAUNTON, SOMERSET England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock & Roll Music To The World (Audio CD)
Would buy from again A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 25 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock & Roll Music To The World (Audio CD)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rock & Roll Music To The World
Rock & Roll Music To The World by Ten Years After (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews