Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fuzzy fun.......
i remember years back seeing this album somewhere, and wished i'd bought it then, but lp's were expensive and if you bought a "turkey" there was no refund facilities in retail shops in those days. i was probably too busy saving up for albums by purple, zeppelin, genesis and yes then anyway. i recently saw "fuzzy duck" reviewed on PA and advertised on the internet on cd...
Published on 8 May 2006 by mystic fred

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frugging Duck
Ah, prog rock -more or less exclusively the stuff of hirsute men with mellotrons who weren't afraid to use them while wittering on about demons and wizards and ladies of the lakes, whatever they were, presumably land-locked mermaids.....

But it was never that simple, was it? Because for every cape-clad mellotron wielder there was at least three bands of...
Published 12 months ago by N. Jones


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fuzzy fun......., 8 May 2006
By 
This review is from: Fuzzy Duck (Audio CD)
i remember years back seeing this album somewhere, and wished i'd bought it then, but lp's were expensive and if you bought a "turkey" there was no refund facilities in retail shops in those days. i was probably too busy saving up for albums by purple, zeppelin, genesis and yes then anyway. i recently saw "fuzzy duck" reviewed on PA and advertised on the internet on cd and vinyl by italian firm "akarma", and bought the akarma vinyl and the cd version by "repertoire". regarding sound quality, overall it is very good but a bit rough in places, on tracks such as "just look around you" and afternoon out". i found the vinyl version to be much clearer overall than the repertoire cd, which sounded a bit overblown and slightly muddy in comparison. very musical and melodic, i found "mrs. prout" and "more than i am" to be the most outstanding tracks, the latter reminding me very strongly of atomic rooster. "time will be your doctor" is also a very good song, my sentiments entirely, time heals! side 2 has some interesting moments, especially the tongue-in-cheek "a word from big d" , punctuated with duck noises! the bonus tracks are ok also, but not outstanding. the guys sounded like they had a lot of fun recording this album, that comes across very clearly, it is a very enjoyable lp to listen to and will be a favourite of mine for some time to come. not a masterpiece of progressive rock but a very uplifting listen - an excellent addition for afficionados of early 70's art rock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seventies rock, 19 Dec 2006
By 
G. G. Saunders "Rock Dr." (West Sussex .UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fuzzy Duck (Audio CD)
Let me introduce you to Fuzzy Duck. formed in 1970 the original members were,,Ex Andromeda Grahame White guitar/vocals, Mick Hawksworth bass, Roy Sharland keyboards, and ex Tucky Buzzard drummer Paul Francis who not only bringing his skills along but also suggesting the band cover a old T buzzard song ,Time will be your doctor. and with hindsight The Duck do a much better guitar orientated version. so White leaves the band just as the album is released, his replacment Garth Watt Roy, his 1st recordings with the band was the highly infectious single, Double time woman . why this wasnt a hit must surely be down to managment and label not getting behind this! after all MAM were also looking after Tom Jones and, That chap with the piano and cap Gilbert O`sullivan.This is a great blast from the past pure 70`s rock, guitars keyboards tight drumming fluid bass lines. there is an Atomic Rooster feel but not quite so hammond organy and the vocals always seem to remind me of someone but cant put a name or band to. well worth the price on CD the LP can fetch up to 200pounds I would give 5 stars if it had been remastered!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Duck's delight, 28 July 2012
This review is from: Fuzzy Duck (Audio CD)
Just when you thought they'd all been caught and cooked, along comes this super-dude to reassure us there's still gold in the hills of heritage rock. Culled from almost absurdly diverse career corners ranging from Rolf Harris to John du Cann's Andromeda via pre-Uriah Heep rockers Spice, Fuzzy Duck's line-up provided support to popster Gilbert O'Sullivan before nailing this life-affirmingly upbeat hybrid of hard pop/rock with prog/psych tendencies in 1971 London. With its churning Hammond organ, whiny guitar and busy drums, it's 'of its time' - but what a time. Early blooming Deep Purple and Heep infuse assuredly inventive, catchy compositions played with a good-humoured panache: listen harder and spot elements of a particularly English vocal styling akin to those of period acts T2 and Caravan. There is not a duff track on the set, which comes in this polished package (droll notes from Marco Rossi) with equally stoking non-album single As and Bs. Yet, bafflingly the Duck failed to connect acclaim with sales. Titanically, its albums and 45s sank on their maiden voyages and everything went to feathers, members scattered to more lucrative work with artists again as diverse as Ten Years After and Bonnie Tyler. An original copy of this is going to be worth around £400 but you'll be hard to pushed to find one: they will be worn out with plays. A delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality prog rock, 6 Sep 2011
By 
P.J. Arnold (Crewe, England United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fuzzy Duck (Audio CD)
Never heard of them during my days as a rock freak during the early 70's, but then if Sounds or NME or Melody Maker didn't cover them, as a band you were lost to the majority of young music fans. Bands like this were never going to be on Top of the Pops, and The Old Grey Whistle Test show only had certain time to dedicate to the many wonderful and diverse bands at that period. What a period it was, so many unique and talented bands they blew your mind with choice and new original styles and sounds. Fuzzy Duck went under the radar sadly.
If you were into Sabbath, Purple, Floyd, Alice Cooper (pre Muscle period), Uriah Heep, Yes, UFO, Humble Pie, Argent, Zepp, Aersosmith, Blue Oyster Cult, Atomic Rooster (Death Walks period)Doobie Brothers (pre Takin' it period) then you would love the Fuzzy Duck. Its inventive and talented and just good rock with thought.
I like my vocals and lyrics to be listenable, not mumbled or shouted or annoying meaningless rubbish, so a vocalist who can sing and project words that are worth listening to scores well with me, and FD are very easy to listen to, and so you can explore and appreciate the depths of their music.
They are another of those one album wonders who disappear after making it, they show so much promise but go separate ways sadly. However, once you've found this album you'll not forget it, and like me, wish you'd found it 35 years ago or more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album., 27 Mar 2014
This review is from: Fuzzy Duck (Audio CD)
Unheard by many, Fuzzy Duck came and went within 12 months in 1970. But they gave us this great album. Just yank the sound up, sit back, open a cold one and enjoy on a hot summers day. This is a GREAT album. You will be sucked into the groove of the bass and several changes during opener Time Will Be Your Doctor and take it from there.

A wonderful gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frugging Duck, 13 Dec 2013
By 
N. Jones "Nic The Pen" (Oxford, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fuzzy Duck (Audio CD)
Ah, prog rock -more or less exclusively the stuff of hirsute men with mellotrons who weren't afraid to use them while wittering on about demons and wizards and ladies of the lakes, whatever they were, presumably land-locked mermaids.....

But it was never that simple, was it? Because for every cape-clad mellotron wielder there was at least three bands of erstwhile `rockers' destined only to have copies of their one and only LP go for prices over the 500 quid mark decades after they called it a day as a unit and went on to work with the likes of Bonnie Tyler and Ten Years After, though presumably not at the same time.

As it is, `the Duck' hardly ever touched the prog bases anyway, although vaulting ambition occasionally marks the contents of their album. "One More Hour" (included here amongst the bonus tracks) is positively frugtastic, and to the point where it would undoubtedly provoke Jon Anderson's haughty disdain, or Morrissey's.

Frugging's on the agenda in the brief snippet that is "A Word from Big D" too, which unsurprisingly turns out to stand for duck, judging by the prodigious use of the duck call (geddit?) Hammond organ's to the fore as well, and in a way that might make even Vincent Crane blush.

If it wasn't so instrumentally torrid "Just Look Around You" would unquestionably have qualified as the theme for some trendy-but-still-underground late night arts thing on BBC2, probably fronted by Sir Peter Hall, wearing a paisley neckerchief. As it is it goes all over the place, and with such dexterity that Steve Hackett might have raised a pallid thumb.

The one-shot album deal has much the same effect as the one-shot film deal. Fuzzy Duck only made this album, and the actor Charles Laughton only ever directed "Night of the Hunter". Both items have a place in some hearts, and in both cases the place is justified.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fuzzy Buzzard, 5 Feb 2013
This review is from: Fuzzy Duck (Audio CD)
I just think it's great that we can live in a world where bands can have names like Fuzzy Duck, Tucky Buzzard, Spooky Tooth, Titus Groan, Mogul Thrash, Jody Grind, Thighbone Howl, Blodwyn Pig, Haystacks Balboa, Aardvark, Badger, Octopus, Toad and Toe Fat. Oh and this album is not bad at all in fact quite good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fuzzy Duck
Fuzzy Duck by Fuzzy Duck (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews