Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars unbelievably well preserved
This concert is incredibly 24 years old and still sounds fresh and relevant. The recording,at Hammersmith Odeon, is of a whole concert from Numan's first UK tour, following the huge success of Are Friends Electric, Cars and the two albums Replicas and The Pleasure Principle.
It showcases a polished performance by a tight band. The setlist is a comprehensive summary...
Published on 26 Jun 2003 by J. Snape

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 1979: Tubeway Army were like aliens from outer space!
It is my pleasure to review this fabulous live CD. Tubeway Army were riding high on the charts when I left New Zealand for Australia in November 1979. The Replicas album was hugely influential and had been hugely influenced by the greatest of all...DAVID BOWIE.

Such was this obvious influence that folks in New Zealand and Australia often referred to Gary...
Published on 14 Jan 2011 by B. Stuart


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars unbelievably well preserved, 26 Jun 2003
By 
This review is from: Living Ornaments '79 (Audio CD)
This concert is incredibly 24 years old and still sounds fresh and relevant. The recording,at Hammersmith Odeon, is of a whole concert from Numan's first UK tour, following the huge success of Are Friends Electric, Cars and the two albums Replicas and The Pleasure Principle.
It showcases a polished performance by a tight band. The setlist is a comprehensive summary of his career at that point and is also a good historical piece of electronica.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic numan, 18 Nov 2000
By 
GEORGE ALLISON (GATESHEAD, TYNE&WEAR United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Living Ornaments '79 (Audio CD)
I bought this Lp when it was first released together with living ornaments 1980 back in 1981 as a box set (which I still own)however Ive noticed A few extra tracks on the cd version. this CD is a must buy for all fans of electronic music,from the best in the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Numan Hits The Big Time. Live!, 4 April 2012
By 
Pink (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Living Ornaments '79 (Audio CD)
Living Ornaments 79 is Gary Numan's earliest official live recording and despite the fact that it captures him at his most nervous and inexperienced, it remains a first-class record of his first major tour.

For me, this has always been the most essential Numan live album, partly because it was the only Numan UK tour I ever missed (I was 13 at the time and my parents deemed me too young to attend!) and has consequently acquired a mystique that keeps me returning to it more than 30 years later, but mainly because of the sheer quality of the material here.

The setlist is largely comprised of songs from his first three albums, all of which are delivered with panache by the energetic band (Paul, Ced - RIP). Since Numan had only recently been promoted to synth-God, both his guitar-driven early work and the subsequent synth-led material is very well represented on this recording. And very nicely they sit together too.

But the album's finest moment for me is the sequence of `Bombers', (a chillingly creepy version of an early Tubeway Army single), a cover of `On Broadway' (a showcase for keyboardist Billy Currie of Ultravox!) and `Remember I Was Vapour' (the fans' first taste of next year's `Telekon' album), which are all connected by one continuous drum-machine pattern, providing a curiously rickety, off-kilter rythmn across all three songs. Bizarre. Wonderful. Worth the price alone.

Anyone who is interested in Numan's glory days will not be disappointed with this reissue, featuring as it does the entire concert (rather than the selected highlights on the original vinyl release). And if you splash out on sister albums `Living Ornaments 80' and `81' too, then you will have a priceless document of Numan's shows at the height of his mainstream popularity.

Recommended without reserve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easily one of, if not, the best set from Gary., 2 Dec 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Greenlaw, Scottish Borders) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living Ornaments '79 (Audio CD)
This set is far more rocky than I think Gary is ever really thought to have been, with Rrussell ;-) and Ced working together on tasty power-chords licks and brilliant tricked beats. Best album ever, apart from the original cassette version with a slightly different track listing and order. I am delighted to have rediscovered Gary and smugly reminded of despite having been ostracised as a kid for liking his music, how right I still think I was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the 3 Living Ornaments albums, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living Ornaments '79 (Audio CD)
I'm biased but Numan has given me some fantastic memories by putting this concert on an album. I think this is the best of the 3 Living Ornaments because I was there!! Have got it on vinyl but don't want to ruin that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars numan1979., 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living Ornaments '79 (Audio CD)
Fantastic stuff from Numan.a must even if your a new fan great hearing the older keyboards just remember this is 79.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gary Numan Living Ornaments., 8 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: Living Ornaments '79 (Audio CD)
This is a great album,a reminder of a tour concert that advanced age has robbed me of, a fine set list which due to the strength of the albums they are drawn from could almost be considered a greatest hits package,the power was great and the synth sounds spectacular for the time.a must for numoids,but also anyone who wants to listen to the start of electronic music. all the best. mel walters,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 1979: Tubeway Army were like aliens from outer space!, 14 Jan 2011
By 
B. Stuart "NEW ZEALAND MUSIC FAN" (Dunedin, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Living Ornaments '79 (Audio CD)
It is my pleasure to review this fabulous live CD. Tubeway Army were riding high on the charts when I left New Zealand for Australia in November 1979. The Replicas album was hugely influential and had been hugely influenced by the greatest of all...DAVID BOWIE.

Such was this obvious influence that folks in New Zealand and Australia often referred to Gary Numan as 'THE NEW BOWIE'.

Anyway, this live account of Gary Numan/Tubeway Army is worthy of purchasing if you are a fan and had been wondering if you should add it to your collection.

I am not preaching to the already converted: Tubeway Army/Numan fans will already have it I am sure.

Numan is precise in delivery and the elated audience confirms the validity of Tubeway Army's 1979 legacy along with Numan's solo career that followed.

ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Living Ornaments '79
Living Ornaments '79 by Gary Numan (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews