Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not the best
Why do they insist on calling these collections of early McTell music 'Best of'? To date the man has recorded something in the region of twenty studio albums; this one covers his first three! The songs were all originally released during 1968-9 on the legendary Transatlantic label, and since then they have been repackaged regularly. Ralph was still finding his feet at...
Published on 6 May 2006 by R. A. Cross

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Long career
I was going to say almost the same as the previous (1) review. The Best of Ralph was to come after this collection. I you want a real in-depth collection buy the "The Journey" the 4 cd box set. it;s brilliant and so is the sound1 failing that look out for "Silver Celebration" released in 1992. It's a pretty fair representation up to that year but then again his finest...
Published on 25 July 2007 by Mr. T. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not the best, 6 May 2006
By 
R. A. Cross "busheyrd" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Why do they insist on calling these collections of early McTell music 'Best of'? To date the man has recorded something in the region of twenty studio albums; this one covers his first three! The songs were all originally released during 1968-9 on the legendary Transatlantic label, and since then they have been repackaged regularly. Ralph was still finding his feet at this time, searching for direction, so it's no put down to say that his greatest work was yet to come.

So, what's actually on this collection? To be fair it's pretty good value, containing 23 out of a total of 38 available recordings from this period. It does include 'Streets of London', but not the hit version, which came about six years later. The compilers do seem to have tried to include a truly representative selection from this period, and one or two of the more obvious songs have been ommited to make room for some seldem heard recordings. All the songs here are self-penned, althought the original albums contain a number of covers. These were recorded either at the request of his record company, or as a genuine tribute to his musical heroes, but their ommision is no great loss-the former were generally dreadful, the latter have often been done better since.

If you're interested in this period of Ralph's career you can't really go wrong at this price. Two of the three original albums have never been released in their entirety, and the third, (Spiral Staircase), Is likely to be quite difficult to find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Streets of London, 7 Mar 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Streets Of London - Best Of (Audio CD)
If, like me, you'd always loved the most famous of Ralph's tracks, "Streets of London" but never quite got round to checking out his other works then this album of 24 tracks is probably the ideal place to start.
Although none of the other 23 tracks are as memorable as the opening "Streets of London" they do make up a pleasant little mix of acoustic folk and guitar blues. The style of most of the tracks is just Ralph and his guitar although some of the songs do feature some background orchestrations and backing singers.
The overall feel is very much like Cat Stevens or The Humblebums with the nature and subject of the tracks swinging from the melancholy of lost love to the quirky dreaminess of seemingly drug induced trips!
At this price? With 24 Tracks? Can't be bad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Soulful and often moving music from a string guitar, 14 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Streets Of London - Best Of (Audio CD)
Ralph Mctell's Streets of London is an album that will delight fans of this underrated folk singer. Always in the shadow of Clapton, Mctell delivers some great tunes (Kew Gardens, Mrs Adams Angels) and heart rending soul (Michael in the garden and Streets of London). Overall its a marvellous guitar album if you like this kind of thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Long career, 25 July 2007
By 
Mr. T. Jones "Tim Jones" (Barry, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was going to say almost the same as the previous (1) review. The Best of Ralph was to come after this collection. I you want a real in-depth collection buy the "The Journey" the 4 cd box set. it;s brilliant and so is the sound1 failing that look out for "Silver Celebration" released in 1992. It's a pretty fair representation up to that year but then again his finest album was to come in 1995 "Sand in your Shoes".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not that good, 6 May 2006
By 
R. A. Cross "busheyrd" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Streets Of London - Best Of (Audio CD)
Why do they insist on calling these repackages of Ralph's early material 'Best of'? The man has made something in the region of twenty studio albums; these recordings are all from his first three. Originally released during 1968-9, Ralph had yet to find his feet as a recording artist, so it is no put down to say that his best was yet to come.

So, what of this collection? All the usual suspects are here, including 'Streets of London', but not the hit version which came about six years later. Unfortunately it also includes the dreadful 'Granny Takes a Trip', a cover Ralph was presurised into recording by his record company. At this price you may say 'why complain?' Well, simply because there are now better low price compilations of this period available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Streets of London is the BEST track, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Streets Of London - Best Of (Audio CD)
Ever really listened to the words?
Humbling.

'Have you seen the old man
In the closed-down market
Kicking up the paper,
with his worn out shoes?
In his eyes you see no pride
Hand held loosely at his side
Yesterday's paper telling yesterday's news

So how can you tell me you're lonely,
And say for you that the sun don't shine?
Let me take you by the hand and lead you through the streets of London
I'll show you something to make you change your mind

Have you seen the old girl
Who walks the streets of London
Dirt in her hair and her clothes in rags?
She's no time for talking,
She just keeps right on walking
Carrying her home in two carrier bags.

So how can you tell me you're lonely,
And say for you that the sun don't shine?
Let me take you by the hand and lead you through the streets of London
I'll show you something to make you change your mind

In the all night cafe
At a quarter past eleven,
Same old man is sitting there on his own
Looking at the world
Over the rim of his tea-cup,
Each tea last an hour
Then he wanders home alone

So how can you tell me you're lonely,
And say for you that the sun don't shine?
Let me take you by the hand and lead you through the streets of London
I'll show you something to make you change your mind

And have you seen the old man
Outside the seaman's mission
Memory fading with
The medal ribbons that he wears.
In our winter city,
The rain cries a little pity
For one more forgotten hero
And a world that doesn't care

So how can you tell me you're lonely,
And say for you that the sun don't shine?
Let me take you by the hand and lead you through the streets of London
I'll show you something to make you change your mind.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good selection but felt something was missing, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Streets Of London - Best Of (Audio CD)
I must admit this was an impulse purchase based on the bargain price. I have listened to the album a couple of times and, whilst I enjoyed it, felt that there was something missing. A bit of detective work reveals the tracks are all from his early albums and, whilst Ralph's musicianship and excellent voice are in evidence, there is a lack of depth to the songwriting, backing performances and production/mixing (the double bass is very, very evident on some tracks) left me feeling a bit underwhelmed. That said I will look out for some of his later work (The album Easy is one I fondly remember from my vinyl days)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Remember This., 26 Mar 2013
By 
Keven Smith "Keven Smith" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having hummed along to a few of the better-known Ralph McTell songs over the years, I finally thought that I should add him to my collection. The familiar songs instantly took me back to my youth ( not a straightforward journey these days) and I was very pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed the songs that I had not heard before. I wish that I had paid more attention years ago and bought some of his music earlier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its ok, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Streets Of London - Best Of (Audio CD)
if you fancy a blast from the past & want something to have a trip down memory lane easy to listen too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia of the early 70`s, 8 April 2009
By 
M. Wadkin "Mike Wadkin" (South Yorkshire,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Streets Of London - Best Of (Audio CD)
What memories this CD brought back.I have not listened to anything by Mr McTell since 1971.
I was instantly transported back to an age of various types of superb music , brilliant bands and very talented individuals.
Ralph McTell is so easy to listen to,theres no chance of disappointment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Streets Of London - Best Of
Streets Of London - Best Of by Ralph McTell (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews