Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 classic episodes on one LP, 20 Jan 2009
This review is from: The Blood Donor and The Radio Ham (Audio CD)
One of the strange aspects of television in the 1950s and early 1960s is that television programmes were sometimes re-recorded by the TV cast for an LP release. This is one such release, now rereleased on CD, and you get two of the finest episodes from Tony Hancock's highly regarded final BBC series with some of Galton and Simpson's best writing on display as well as a comedian at the peak of his powers. True "lightning in a bottle" stuff. With "The Blood Donor" some people prefer this performance to the televised version as behind the scenes problems and the consequent use of cue cards detract from their enjoyment. On this LP version, Tony Hancock's timing is spot on and all those years of radio experience come into their own. 2 truly classic performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Nostalgic Comedy., 27 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blood Donor and The Radio Ham (Audio CD)
What can you say? Any one over 50 will remember the wonderful "Hancock's Half Hour" radio programmes from the early 60s'. The two programmes on this disc are actually from his television series, but because of the brilliant Galton and Simpson scripts transfer to CD without problem.
The down trodden Hancock. always looking to elevate himself in society, gets himself into naive messes in both titles and as always, ends up with mud on his face.
Brilliant scripts, brilliantly interpreted. If you want to spend an hour with a silly grin on your face, buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "It may be just a smear to you mate, but it's life and death to some poor bloke", 26 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. D. K. Smith (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Blood Donor and The Radio Ham (Audio CD)
Shortly after recording his 7th and final BBC TV series scripted by Galton and Simpson, Tony Hancock re-recorded two scripts from that final run - The Blood Donor and The Radio Ham - before an invited audience for release on LP.

Listening to them, it's striking how little is lost in the transfer to the audio medium. The Radio Ham gains a new introduction, with Hancock berating his landlady, but apart from that the two scripts are pretty faithful to the television originals.

However, the audio versions are tighter and better-performed, particularly in the case of The Blood Donor. The reason isn't particularly surprising as Hancock had been involved in a car accident shortly before the TV broadcast. Without time to learn his lines, he had to read them off "idiot boards" held above the camera. He did this very well, but even all of Hancock's skill couldn't prevent the odd lapse in timing. By the time he came record the LP he was able to pace himself better and he gave a wonderfully nuanced performance.

He is ably supported on both episodes by a number of talented co-stars - June Whitfield, Frank Thornton, Patrick Cargill, Hugh Lloyd and Clive Dunn amongst others. Combine them with the high quality scripts of Galton and Simpson and you've got an hour or so of comedy gold.

For anybody who has never enjoyed the comedy genius of Tony Hancock, this recording showcases him at the height of his powers. Brilliant, timeless comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Memories, 25 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blood Donor and The Radio Ham (Audio CD)
This brings back wonderful happy memories for me. I bought this as an LP in the mid 70's and it made me laugh out loud. Some years later I saw The Blood Donor on television and didn't enjoy it as much. I first heard Tony Hancock on the radio and on LP and it's still how I like to enjoy him.

I would recomend this to anyone with a sense of humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Hancock Fan, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blood Donor and The Radio Ham (Audio CD)
I purchased this for my husband for Christmas. He is a Hancock fan and loves listening to this whilst driving. Speedy delivery. Great service. Ideal for any Tony Hancock fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PREZZIE FOR MY FRIEND, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blood Donor and The Radio Ham (Audio CD)
EXCELLENT PREZZIE FOR MY FRIEND,LOVES HANCOCK, SO FOR ALL HANCOCK FANS, IT'S A MUST HAVE. HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT TO ALL FANS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blood Donor and The Radio Ham (Audio CD)
This is TH at his very best. Absolutely brilliant you only have to listen to him to know this was written for him. Thank you TH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Iconic, 23 July 2013
By 
M. D. Souter "Mike Souter" (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blood Donor and The Radio Ham (Audio CD)
The two best Hancocks on one CD. Lovely sound quality too. Delighted to have added these to my collection. He was a genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars collector's item, 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blood Donor and The Radio Ham (Audio CD)
i have heard the original on the radio and then seen in black and white on the tv 'hancock's half hour'. never disappoints. bought as a present for my brother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Record Better than TV Show., 3 Jun 2013
By 
This review is from: The Blood Donor and The Radio Ham (Audio CD)
Wonderful stuff. I (as can thousands of others) recite The Blood Donor almost word for word. In some ways the sound recording is better than the TV Show. Obviously we don't see all of Hancock's wonderful facial expressions and body language, but the fact is that on the TV episode some of the jokes are fluffed and dialogue is even missed. In contrast this recording gets all the lines delivered properly with perfect timing.

Pedantic note: Hancock recalls Coronation Day as "May 12th 1936" ("We all got a day off school"). In fact The Coronation of George V1 was on 12th May 1937. Just thought I'd mention it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Blood Donor and The Radio Ham
The Blood Donor and The Radio Ham by Tony Hancock (Audio CD - 2008)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews