Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly the Best of Brass
Very little information given with this CD, other than composer & arranger. However, if you want to hear the band at its peak (1960's), and the legendary cornet player Jim Shepherd play Napoli and John Clough on euphonium with Grandfathers clock, you must buy this CD.
Published on 12 Jun. 2002 by noelwilde@clara.co.uk

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars IT COULD BE BETTER
THE BLACK DYKE PLAY VERY WELL, BUT BUT I WAS NOT KEEN ON THE VOCAL PIECES.
THIS IS MY FAULT, AS I SHOULD NOT HAVE BOUGHT A CD CONTAINING THE HALLELUJAH
CHORUS!! .

GORDON CLAY
Published on 4 Mar. 2013 by Gordon Clay


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly the Best of Brass, 12 Jun. 2002
This review is from: Best Of Brass (Audio CD)
Very little information given with this CD, other than composer & arranger. However, if you want to hear the band at its peak (1960's), and the legendary cornet player Jim Shepherd play Napoli and John Clough on euphonium with Grandfathers clock, you must buy this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best of Brass CD, 4 Feb. 2009
By 
EricF (Co. Durham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Best Of Brass (Audio CD)
If you grew up in a time when Brass Bands were to be found in every community or you simply love the sound then this CD is certainly for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Brass, 2 Jan. 2010
By 
H. J. Smart (Somerset - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Of Brass (Audio CD)
Spot on solo players - uncomparable cornet!!
Generally a good Brass Band selection - plenty of old favourtes.
Well done Black Dyke Mills - a great addition for any Brass Band lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories are made of this, 8 July 2010
This review is from: Best Of Brass (Audio CD)
Beautiful music, beautifully interpreted and brilliantly played. So many classic and classical pieces woven together in one fantastic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good traditional brass band melodies, 6 Jan. 2001
This review is from: Best Of Brass (Audio CD)
An excellent CD by one of my favourate Brass Bands. The tunes are well performed and in a traditional brass band style. Well Orchastrated with a relaxing programme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Absolutely Brilliant, 9 May 2003
This review is from: Best Of Brass (Audio CD)
I bought this CD to add to my collection and am glad I did, it is amazing. The only problem there is not enough music on the CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Recordings, 7 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Best Of Brass (Audio CD)
Thank goodness for digital remastering which will save these great recordings for ever. Jim Shepherd's brilliant playing of 'Napoli' never fails to astonish me despite having listened to it 100's of times. Highly recommended to all hardened 'pondashers' out there. One question though, why is the stereo picture the wrong way round?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First time, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Of Brass (Audio CD)
First brass band CD bought (more into jazz and classical). Excellent and varied selection of pieces. Particularly liked the cornet solos
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Brass, 18 Aug. 2011
By 
This review is from: Best Of Brass (Audio CD)
An excellent CD. The only gripe I have is that the picture on the front of the CD is I think a French Horn an instrument used in orchestras and not to my knowledge used by Brass Bands, or at least not in my day when I was an active player member of several Brass Bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars IT COULD BE BETTER, 4 Mar. 2013
By 
Gordon Clay (Manchester, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Of Brass (Audio CD)
THE BLACK DYKE PLAY VERY WELL, BUT BUT I WAS NOT KEEN ON THE VOCAL PIECES.
THIS IS MY FAULT, AS I SHOULD NOT HAVE BOUGHT A CD CONTAINING THE HALLELUJAH
CHORUS!! .

GORDON CLAY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Best Of Brass
Best Of Brass by Black Dyke Band (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews