Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Gentleman
Some years ago a man was sat at a bar having a quiet drink. He was approached by a local customer selling raffle tickets, it must be said without much success. He asked the stranger if he wanted a ticket. What's it for the stranger asked? A little boy who desperately needs an operation for cancer. What's the prize? said the stranger. A bottle of whisky was the reply...
Published on 21 July 2009 by Ed Taylor

versus
29 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Warning - not the original recordings!
Stranger On The Shore - The Best Of

These are NOT the original Columbia recordings - the tracks were re-recorded by Acker in the 70's. Also the cover depicted on the Amazon page is NOT the correct cover for this CD! It's the cover from a release by Universal/Redial label of 2 original LPs by Acker from his Columbia days!
Published on 2 May 2009 by S. R. BROWN


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Gentleman, 21 July 2009
By 
Ed Taylor (Lancashire England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stranger On The Shore - The Best Of (Audio CD)
Some years ago a man was sat at a bar having a quiet drink. He was approached by a local customer selling raffle tickets, it must be said without much success. He asked the stranger if he wanted a ticket. What's it for the stranger asked? A little boy who desperately needs an operation for cancer. What's the prize? said the stranger. A bottle of whisky was the reply. Hang on said the stranger and walked out of the pub. A few minutes later he returned with a striped waistcoat. Well try selling them for that instead he said - with my complements. The stranger was Acker Bilk and I was selling the tickets. It was at that moment I became a lifelong fan of Acker. Oh! I hear you ask what about the CD. If you like Acker you'll love it - If you love Acker you will have heard them all before and if you haven't heard Acker Bilk play give yourself a treat - you never know you may just like Trad Jazz if you give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Acker is always great to listen to & especially "Stranger on the Shore"..., 11 Aug 2010
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stranger on the Shore (Audio CD)
This latest Acker Bilk CD to feature a more recent version of his great hit "Stranger on the Shore" may be familiar and yet these are not as far as I can tell the recordings released by K-Tel some years ago. This album has certainly been available before on Bianco CDs dating from January 2001; Mastersong March 2000 and Megaphon October 1999 at a first glance.

I have listened to the album that Prism licensed from K-Tel and the versions of "Stranger on the Shore" have different backings with this latest version on Delta having a much more synthesised sound. The sound quality and playing is as you would expect from Acker and I think these are probably 1980s recordings but cannot confirm this at present. The running time is approx 60 minutes and as with many of the budget Music Digital releases there are no liner notes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clarinet and strings., 19 Jan 2004
By 
fields21 "fields21" (Hoogerheide, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stranger On The Shore - The Best Of (Audio CD)
Mr. Bilk plays the sort of jazz you'll often hear in elevators, airports or when you're put on hold on the telephone. So no roaring saxophones, no freakish drum solos but calm and soothing clarinet music, laced with strings. Nothing terrible exciting, but nothing terribly either. It is also the music that the band, dressed in white tuxedos, plays while you're having dinner in one of those classic hotels of the 1930's - or perhaps I've watched too many Bogart movies.
The problem is exactly those elevators, which have done a lot of damage to what is essentially fine music. Mr. Bilk is outstanding in his playing, but the songs may appear as slightly non-descript. For instance, playing the Beatles' "She's leaving home" doesn't add much to the original, but instantly brings back memories of the elevator.
Jazz modernists might easily kock down Mr Bilk, but in his own way he's just as extraordinary as the latest band on the Blue Note label. He's part of a longstanding British jazz tradition, with one foot firmly in New Orleans styled (clarinet) jazz.
If you're truly a jazz fan, this one should be an integral part of your jazz collection. If not, surprise your dear old auntie with some nice old jazz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars played a lot, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
real mood music and fits with all occasions. Acker is a great artist and glows in this full bodied rendition of super music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This one is for my Dad, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stranger On The Shore - The Best Of (Audio CD)
I Bougth this for my Dad to replace his much played and worn out reccord - and he is delighted with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stranger on the shore cd, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stranger On The Shore - The Best Of (Audio CD)
brilliant cd . would recommend to all my friends. Play it all the time in my car !! worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Warning - not the original recordings!, 2 May 2009
By 
S. R. BROWN (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stranger On The Shore - The Best Of (Audio CD)
Stranger On The Shore - The Best Of

These are NOT the original Columbia recordings - the tracks were re-recorded by Acker in the 70's. Also the cover depicted on the Amazon page is NOT the correct cover for this CD! It's the cover from a release by Universal/Redial label of 2 original LPs by Acker from his Columbia days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Original, 20 Jun 2012
This review is from: Stranger On The Shore - The Best Of (Audio CD)
Yes, I should have read the reviews! I bought this in haste, and as these are not the original recordings, they are not what I wanted. I have wasted my money, and no, I don`t play it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
This review is from: Stranger On The Shore - The Best Of (Audio CD)
very good service very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stranger On The Shore (Audio CD)
Happy with this recording, although I think it may differ slightly from the original. I bought this as Stranger on the Shore was my late fathers favourite tune so it was a little sentimental. If you like Acker Bilk you will like this cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stranger On The Shore - The Best Of
Stranger On The Shore - The Best Of by Acker Bilk (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews