Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic. The Best
This has been my favourite for a couple of months now with no sign of fatigue. It is dancey, varied, soulful and tuneful in the extreme. My favourites are Ki Kounti and Aicha (which happens to be my name :) ) Khaled is a shining star in world music and his use of tunes and songs from all over the planet makes him an example of fusion at its best. Buy it! You will love...
Published on 22 Feb 2000 by milady@postmaster.co.uk

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Two monster tracks; Aicha and Didi
This album stands out for 2 monster tracks; Aicha and Didi. Being a resident of multi lingual Mauritius, Aicha is easily understood and is an absolute classic. Didi is a very dance orientated track and had a very distinct video clip too. The rest of the album, I'm not too familiar with.
Published on 21 Mar 2007 by Jay


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic. The Best, 22 Feb 2000
This review is from: Sahra (Audio CD)
This has been my favourite for a couple of months now with no sign of fatigue. It is dancey, varied, soulful and tuneful in the extreme. My favourites are Ki Kounti and Aicha (which happens to be my name :) ) Khaled is a shining star in world music and his use of tunes and songs from all over the planet makes him an example of fusion at its best. Buy it! You will love it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars eclectic and electric, 7 Nov 2003
This review is from: Sahra (Audio CD)
There is a subtle jazzy sound to this CD when compared to some of Khaled's other releases, as well as a mix of styles, but this master of the rai genre excels at them all. Some superb musicians are included, and I especially like "Detni Essekra", which reminds me of a tango, with its emphasis on piano (Boyan Zulfikapasic), stringbass (Bernard Paganotti) and accordion (Philippe Eidel).
"Ki Kounti" is another gem; recorded in Los Angeles, it is a duet with Saul Hernandez, composer and lead singer for Mexico's well known rock band Jaguares, and is sung partially in Spanish.
Three tracks were recorded in Jamaica, and have a marvelous bouncy reggae feel to them: "Lillah" has a terrific brass accompaniment, "Ouelli El Darek" nifty background vocals by the "I Threes", and "Mektoubi" is an all-out big band number.
My two favorites would be "Wahrane Wahrane", which like a traditional Arabic pop song has a string arrangement similar to what one would have heard backing the classic Egyptian singers of a generation ago, and the final track, "Hey Ouedi", with its mystical quality, is quite thrilling, with instruments seeming to imitate the sound of ululation.
"Oran Marseille" with rap group IAM, only works half-way for me (I like the Khaled parts and the instrumentation), but perhaps that is because I do not care for rap music. "Aisha" is a signature song for Khaled, and always great to hear.
Khaled is a pioneer of rai music, and his title of "King of Rai" is well deserved; with his gritty expressive voice, he has brought this music to every corner of the earth. Also recommended is his CD "Kutche", and the live performance album with Faudel and Rachid Taha, "1, 2, 3 Soleils".
Khaled co-wrote all the songs except "Hey Ouedi", which he wrote alone, the sound is excellent, the insert foldout has recording info but no liner notes or lyrics, and total time is 51'51.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes you want to dance across the desert, 7 Jan 2000
This review is from: Sahra (Audio CD)
Fantastic. What a voice and what a rhythmn! His music is so easy to listen to , so easy to move to. If you want to get a good feel for North African pop music you cannot do better than this. His songs are infectious and will stir your heart, your soul and your dancing shoes. Buy it and play it, again and again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars probably the best album ever made..., 30 Oct 2004
By 
A. J. Kelly (Wales (Pays de Galles)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sahra (Audio CD)
I've lived with this album for about 5 years, we've had fallings out, we've ignored each other, and I've always come back to it. Aicha is probably the best single anyone has ever released, the Shurik'N rap segment blows me away every time I hear it (still) in fact I bought his back catalogue as well as that of his usual group IAM on the strength of it...
Khaled, unparalled talent, whether you are Francophone or not the sheer quality of the music should strike you, or are you Anglophone only dead from the ears inwards?
You really need this in your life. Trust me.
alan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good mix between Arabic of French worlds, 4 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sahra (Audio CD)
Beautiful atmosphere, also if sometimes the recording quality isn't perfect. Some tracks are in French and this allows you to close your eyes and imagine this amazing melting pot. Good sound while you stay at home with friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Khaled's pièce de résistance, 5 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Sahra (Audio CD)
Khaled is known worldwide as the "King of Raï" and has become the most internationally famous Algerian singer in the Arab World and across many continents. "Sahra" published in 1996 is in my opinion his most accomplished album to date and has lost nothing of his freshness today. It includes his most known hit "Aïcha" but also the all time live favourites such as "Sahra", "Wahrane, Wahrane" or "Ki Kounti" and the remix of his first big hit - "Didi" (performed at the opening ceremony of the FIFA World Cup 2010 in South Africa).
The music goes beyond the traditional raï limitations, Khaled is taking the most of other genres: hip hop, reggae or contemporary French music. Fantastic arrangements, great production and powerful vocals make this album a must in every world music fan collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gets better each time you listen to him, 9 Jan 2004
By 
This review is from: Sahra (Audio CD)
Khaled is one of those artists that catches your attention from the very start and captivates you forever. I first heard this album while on holiday in Morocco in the mid 90s, and would hear it being played on various market stalls and in cafes. During the holiday we thought it would be a great idea to bring home some of the music with us, to remember what a great time we had, and Khaled has never let me down on that front!
The music itself is very catchy and upbeat, with some soulful elements thrown in. The tunes are edgy and funky, full of synths and haunting arabic melodies. You can just SMELL the soukh as you listen to some of these songs. I especially love "Oran Marseille", and of course the most famous of his songs "Aïcha" which is a bit easier to sing along to, as it is in French.
Khaled truly is the King of Raï!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Two monster tracks; Aicha and Didi, 21 Mar 2007
This review is from: Sahra (Audio CD)
This album stands out for 2 monster tracks; Aicha and Didi. Being a resident of multi lingual Mauritius, Aicha is easily understood and is an absolute classic. Didi is a very dance orientated track and had a very distinct video clip too. The rest of the album, I'm not too familiar with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac23f514)

This product

Sahra
Sahra by Khaled (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews