Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, REAL music!!
As a novice listener of opera, this collection has been ideal in learning to appreciate the wealth of fantastic music that is out there. I can heartily recommend this!!
Published on 8 Jan. 2006 by K. E. Selby

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I was a bit disappointed in this - just a matter of personal taste I think
I was a bit disappointed in this - just a matter of personal taste I think
Published 8 months ago by M. Mcgowan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, REAL music!!, 8 Jan. 2006
By 
K. E. Selby "kate_38" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Opera Album In The World Ever (Audio CD)
As a novice listener of opera, this collection has been ideal in learning to appreciate the wealth of fantastic music that is out there. I can heartily recommend this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cornucopia, 21 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A Superabundance of great arias and voices:Domingo as Carvadossi in Tosca,Freni as Mimi in La Boheme,Caballe as Manon in Manon Lescaut,Carreras as Canio in I Pagliacci,Boris Christoff as Mephisto in Gounod's Faust,Beverley Sills as Violetta in La Traviata.
Rossini,Catalani,Puccini,Verdi,Mozart,Delibes,Massenet,Mussorgsky,Wagner,Bizet,Gounod,Lalo,Offenbach,Adam,Donizetti,Berlioz,Charpentier,Mascagni,Berlioz,Bellini,Giordano are all represented.
Highlights:Callas singing "Casta Diva",Berganza "Voi che sapete",Scotto "Un bel di vedremo",Carreras "Vesti la giubba".
A wonderful collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Selection of Opera on any Album, 10 Mar. 2001
By 
Mr. D. Shand "David Shand" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Opera Album In The World Ever (Audio CD)
I have never found such a wonderful mixture of popular opera classics in one album. I will be pleasantly surpised if it will ever be surpassed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great listening., 16 Feb. 2010
By 
This review is from: The Best Opera Album In The World Ever (Audio CD)
I bought a copy of this many years ago, but it got mislaid when i moved.
i think its fantastic!!! FIVE STAR LISTENING
I meant to get another copy and kept promising my self to do so "BECAUSE it is the BEST OPERA ALBUM YET".
It's got all my favorites on it! brill!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Selection of Opera on any Album, 10 Mar. 2001
By 
Mr. D. Shand "David Shand" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Opera Album In The World Ever (Audio CD)
I have never found such a wonderful mixture of popular opera classics in one album. I will be pleasantly surpised if it will ever be surpassed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Introduction to Opera, Fantastic Sound Quality, 14 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Opera Album In The World Ever (Audio CD)
I have been listening to this CD for approximately 2 months now. Great performances, great selection of Opera. The audio quality is great (even the recordings from the 50's are outstanding). I have even decided to buy some of the full length operas that are featured on this CD.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the Opera you'll ever need!, 14 Oct. 2010
This review is from: The Best Opera Album In The World Ever (Audio CD)
Fantastic selection of Opera greats [songs and singers].
As a taster it will get you hooked on opera!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ab Fab! Definitely the best opera album in the world, ever!, 10 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Opera Album In The World Ever (Audio CD)
Ab fab! This really is the best opera album in the world ever, especially if you're an opera newbie like me. There are two discs and the music is grouped by opera. So, for example, all tracks from Madame Butterfly are grouped together, as are all tracks from La Boheme etc. This is very helpful for familiarisation with different operas, composers etc. Also the selection of music is exactly what I was looking for. All the most popular and well-known pieces are there and are performed by world famous artists. This is my absolute favourite opera album and comes everywhere with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy with my purchase I chose well!, 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Opera Album In The World Ever (Audio CD)
Bought for my dad for an early Christmas present. He is a real opera fan and straight away looked at it and said yes I am going to like this. I looked at a lot of CDs too as he has virtually everything on opera you can ever imagine. So I went for the classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant if you just want to listen to brief opera ..., 16 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Opera Album In The World Ever (Audio CD)
Brilliant if you just want to listen to brief opera highlights, performed by some of the great voices. A FEW of the arias are a little dull/flat in sound, but considering the recording age and the mono original recording of them, this can be forgiven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Opera Album In The World Ever
The Best Opera Album In The World Ever by Various Artists (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews