Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars33
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 August 2007
first heard the sundays on glr (london indie radio) and was moved so much I rang up the station desperate to find out who was making such beguiling music, went straight out and bought this album on rough trade for £14.99 (no under a tenner cd's in them days) and still got it still listening to it, such a great album so difficult even impossible for them to follow it up. Harriet's voice so lilting and persuasive, daves guitar just hits those places perfectly, you need to hear it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2011
Rightly regarded as 0ne of the best albums of the nineties if not of all time.This brilliant band no longer exists but there is an alternative,try the Innocence Mission, especially the album Glow which is the nearest sound to the Sundays i've heard.The good thing is this band has made a number of albums and this year 2011 released their latest.Maybe not the Sundays but the next best thing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2005
In short, the songs on this album are superb. Some of the most original pop-melody writing since Joni Mitchell. The vocals soar. Seminal alternative pop.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 1999
Tin Tin Out utterly destroyed 'Here's where the story ends' when they covered it recently. It first came out on 'Reading, Writing...' - I don't even think it was a single. The original version is two or three thousand times better than the cover, so that's your first reason for getting this CD. Also, The Sundays haven't bettered themselves since this album - which is another fine reason to get it. More excuses? 'I kicked a boy', 'You're not the only one I know', 'My finest hour'... enough said.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2015
Great CD and great service!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2003
One so good, it renders virtually every other attmept at the genre, including the others from the group, virtually obsolete. Other examples include Rage Against the Machine's debut, and Portishead's Dummy (talk about eclectic taste huh?). The SUndays took 2 years to follow this up, and 5 years to make a third album, although the patter of tiny feet interrupted this. Its appropriate that Harriet Wheeler (voice) and David Gavurin (guitars) are married to each other, perhaps this explains how warm, sensual and haunting the vocals are.
Of course, everyone knows Here's Where the Story Ends, from Tin Tin Out's mediocre cover. The version on here is the real deal, vocals delivered with passion and self-assuredness. The only single at the time, however, was Can't Be Sure, quite heavenly and perhaps the highpoint.
Its hard not to mention My Finest Hour and A Certain Someone In A similar breath though, both offering fine choruses showing their blending of The Smiths, The Cocteau Twins and the Carpenters (seriously) in its best light. Skin and Bones is anotehr which draws me back time and again, although I Kicked a Boy is best skipped, that doesn't damage the overall standard.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2012
This very original sounding work is certainly competent, but lacks an edge of brilliance that could set it apart. Easy going and easy listening, quite thoughtful, but no real emotional depth. Pretty good,full of very English vocal charm, and good musical arrangements. Not an all time great perhaps, but nevertheless it is certainly worth a speculative purchase. Quite a nice album overall, but personally I think the later Static And Silence is a superior work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2001
The Sundays were the Belle and Sebastian of the mid 90s, records for the listless student bedsit while skipping lectures. I bought this on the strength of Static and Silence, and it's equally good. Harriet Wheeler is one of the voices of the decade.
It's patchy, the kind of album where the really strong songs leap out from the others. Here's Where the Story Ends is familiar because of the Tin Tin Out version, and it's a very pleasant strum. Can't Be Sure, Skin & Bones and You're Not the Only One I Know are other highlights.
The best thing here, though, is tucked away near the back - My Finest Hour could well be just that, building to the same kind of joyous pop rush that they achieved with Summertime. This album is available very cheaply now, and with a song like this you'd be mad not to own it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
Does not work... No visible defects... However, simply ejects from cd player which says "check disc"
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)