Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best
Of the all female sixties group I think the Shangri-las have to be rated as up there with the best and this cd is the Best of the Best. From up beat fun songs that get your foot tapping to songs that may leave you reaching for the tissues. An excellent buy, well worth any price.
Published on 3 Oct 2002 by Christine A Davenport

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good overall sight of their work
This compilation by the Shangri-La's offers us quite a good idea of their work. The sound is good and so is the info included in the booklet. The only drawback relies on the selection, but that is just a personal matter, isn't it?
Published on 4 Jan 2011 by Moises Navarro Sabater


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, 3 Oct 2002
This review is from: The Best Of The Shangri-Las: The Mercury Years (Audio CD)
Of the all female sixties group I think the Shangri-las have to be rated as up there with the best and this cd is the Best of the Best. From up beat fun songs that get your foot tapping to songs that may leave you reaching for the tissues. An excellent buy, well worth any price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shangri-las, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The Shangri-Las: The Mercury Years (Audio CD)
Absolutely great - brings back many happy memories. What voices!! Unfortunately they don't make them like that any more. Fab CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1960's, 13 Aug 2012
By 
Ms. S. Ali - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The Shangri-Las: The Mercury Years (Audio CD)
If you liked the 60's music, this album is quite rare to buy, is a MUST. I love the soulfulness, and the lyrics are not complicated, very like a natural 'story telling' to music. Great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good overall sight of their work, 4 Jan 2011
By 
Moises Navarro Sabater (Alicante, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The Shangri-Las: The Mercury Years (Audio CD)
This compilation by the Shangri-La's offers us quite a good idea of their work. The sound is good and so is the info included in the booklet. The only drawback relies on the selection, but that is just a personal matter, isn't it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best girl band of the sixties, 5 Nov 2012
By 
Rodney Mitchell (suffolk uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The Shangri-Las: The Mercury Years (Audio CD)
great sounds and songs from the best sixties girl band by a mile (and there were a lot of good ones). lead singer mary was fantastic with great backing from the other girls. spice/aloud girls eat ya heart out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really their best !, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The Shangri-Las: The Mercury Years (Audio CD)
At last a worthy contribution to this teen anguish girlgroup ! Although their reign was a short one, the girls are really the queens of despair. Just listen to " I can never go home anymore ", "He cried ", " Past present and future ", "Remember walking in the sand " and their best known track " Leader of the pack ". There have been released many greatest hits collections of the girls but this one is definitely their best, due to the original Mercury mastertapes. Most of the tracks sound very clear and polished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For Resilient Aching Hearts., 18 July 2008
By 
H. A. C. John "Heath St John." (London, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The Shangri-Las: The Mercury Years (Audio CD)
Mary Weiss's voice leaves the heart too full to say much.
Men want to make fools of themselves by responding and surrendering utterly to her every plea for understanding; so much so, that it's only later, away from the songs' influences, in a more rational state of mind, that we remember that we have been listening to tales of fictional love affairs.
Sensitive types need the later protection that the separation between them and the sounds coming from their stereo's speakers provide, if they are not totally to capitulate to any feelings of lonley despodency that romantics are so prone to indulge, which is dangerous; you really should have your lover in the room with you, when you listen to these, to reassure you that you are not alone. Even the more up-beat numbers sound like the defiant cheerfulness of a recently recovering, newly separated, young thing. All the Shangri-Las' recordings are the most enjoyable form of agony I know.
The liner notes are informative, especially the information of the songs' chart placings, and the original releases' catalogue numbers. On that, this should have alerted the compilers that to call this c.d. 'The Mercury Years', when all but the last four tracks have the Red Bird Label's matrix, since they came from there, and not Mercury, was wrong. This is the only reason why I've given four, and not five, stars. One for each of the girls.
The four Mercury songs are less common, nearly as good, though three are in a later, lighter style. To hear them you'll need to buy the disc, as they're not likely to be heard on the radio, and you're likely to want them after listening, if like me, you're unable to find resolution enough entirely to wean yourself off the need to listen to Mary.
Like all the others, Mrs. Weiss, if this comes to your notice, and "Johnny's" not around anymore, and your new role as a paralegal's secretary could spare you for just a little while, well, perhaps Amazon would let you have my e-mail address! I sincerely hope that you found someone who wanted the woman, and not just the singer: the 'Singer not the Song'. If not, take very great care of yourself. I just couldn't bear, just couldn't bear, listening to all those tribute songs. Ummm, those last lines could almost have come from one of the songs, I can hear you singing them now; from a new one, perhaps, Mary ? X.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Historical interest only, 27 Nov 2004
This review is from: The Best Of The Shangri-Las: The Mercury Years (Audio CD)
This is a well produced album. It has a nice little booklet with the 25 cleanly processed original tracks. I enjoy the big hit numbers 'Remember' and, of course, 'Leader of the Pack' but the rest adds nothing to the atmoshere and excitement generated by those two tracks. So if you have those tracks on compilation albums then in my opinion you are not missing anything and unless you have a deep interest in this group then this album will not offer much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of The Shangri-Las: The Mercury Years
The Best Of The Shangri-Las: The Mercury Years by Shangri-Las (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews