Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Red Wedge and all that Jazz
I recenly got a copy of the cd version of the skins album as my old vynil copy has seen better days.Although the cd version does not contain the untitled track on side two (if anyone can shed any light etc)but it does contain bonus tracks so it's still well worth it. On hearing it again after several years absence a have mixed feeling's. I met the band several time's as a...
Published on 23 Sep 2003 by michaelfranodonnell

versus
3 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely awful.
Don't buy this record. Trite and mind numbingly boring. Sadly I don't seem to be able to enter zero stars so I've had to put one.
Published on 9 May 2006 by Tom Jedi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Red Wedge and all that Jazz, 23 Sep 2003
This review is from: Neither Washington... Nor Moscow (Audio CD)
I recenly got a copy of the cd version of the skins album as my old vynil copy has seen better days.Although the cd version does not contain the untitled track on side two (if anyone can shed any light etc)but it does contain bonus tracks so it's still well worth it. On hearing it again after several years absence a have mixed feeling's. I met the band several time's as a fan and also had the pleasure of supporting them on several occasion's in the mid 80s in scotland.The thing that strike's me whenever anyone remind's of the band is the turmoil, political uphevel ,strike's,Thach etc so i won't bore you with the history lesson instead i'll try give you a different angle on the group a loved then. On a personnel level i found the group some of the most intelligent generous open and likeable people i've had the pleasure to meet. They were the genuine article they flew in the face of fastion, out of step with most things and never afraid to put there ass on the line (quite literally at times)in short they had the bottle. Fastfoward to 2002 i have a copy of the album in my player. The years have been kind to the sound perhaps a bit over blown at times.I remember giving cris the singer a hard time about the production at the time and like a true gent he took on board every druken word a spat at him bearing in mind at most post gig meet and greet's they had the delight of having the NF waiting for them as leave the hall.... Chris if by miricle you read this ....i'm sorry you were right. Take no heroes..... Only inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music fit to Trot to, 6 Feb 2007
By 
Peter Shield "editor-naturalchoices.co.uk" (Languedoc- France) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Neither Washington... Nor Moscow (Audio CD)
The Socialist Worker's Party house band of the 80's, an icon of the hard left anti-thatcher struggle in Yorkshire. Along with Red Wedge, Jools the Poet, New Model Army, and live music in Bradford followed by the best, cheapest, and hotest curries in England all were an integral part of being on the left up North.
Great driving music for mountain roads, pre-party, pre-demo prep music- don't over analysis the simplistic lyrics just go with the up beat flow.
Keep on Keepin on- yeah!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where the hell is Chris Dean???, 12 Mar 2002
By 
T. Sutton "Telboy-D" (South Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Neither Washington... Nor Moscow (Audio CD)
The disappearance of one of the greatest frontmen I have ever seen live just adds to the aura surrounding this important record. Recorded in 1984/85, it is a powerful document from the fight against the right wing forces that dominated the British political landscape at that time. It is a record fashioned from the heart of the 'Miners Strike'. Yet, today, 'Neither Washington Nor Moscow' seems more relevant than it ever has done - Dean's lyrics gaining new significance in the current political climate.
For many people the Redskins were inspirational. They came and went in the kind of way that you wish the Strokes would. One album, thank you and goodnight. Leaving no trails of off-shoot projects and the like. Just...nothing.
That is what now make this record seem like the aural equivalent of Das Kapital. A collection of twelve songs set in stone but with tunes, tunes, tunes. And a beat. The kind of record you don't hear anymore. Think the Jam, the Clash, the Specials, Dexy's, the Fall and the Supremes all rolled into one. No traces of Velvet Underground or Television here. No Prog-like attempts. They want you to be focused on the task ahead with all traces of apathy removed and it's there where their anger is channelled. If that doesn't make them vital then nothing does. As they themselves put it - "The Power Is Yours". I could write about every track on the album but just trust me, it's all good.
After they disbanded rumour had it that they had recorded a follow-up(Dean told me this himself in the dressing-room at the Leadmill, Sheffield) but whether this is true remains a mystery to this day. It was whispered that Dean had become a journalist in Paris and since then little has been seen or heard. If anyone who knows where he is happens to be reading this- tell Mr.Dean that his efforts were not in vain. Like the other great album of 1985, Dexy's 'Don't Stand Me Down', this is one lost classic that is surely due for reappraisal (how about a re-release with the alternatve versions and deleted material?) and a new lease of life. One of the great English bands who showed that it was better to burn out than to fade away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a lost treasure, 22 Feb 2008
By 
Cazzandra (Guildford UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Neither Washington... Nor Moscow (Audio CD)
I bought the album as vinyl when the band was the darling of the SWP. I had a bizarre conversation with Chris over the phone when he was looking for posters of South Africa to use at a concert. I was grumpy and I failed to realise in the modest, unassuming guy who was trying to ask for a favour that here was the hero of the vinyl I enjoyed so much. My apologies Chris and hopefully this will make up for it.

Where to start. Making political music isn't easy and making it in the environment the Redskins found themselves in was less than easy but they did it. Yes, there are Marxist lessons in the lyrics but there are also incredibly catchy songs and rhythms and so much energy. The Redskins could go from dance songs to the sort of thing you could listen to quietly by yourself, and they did it effortlessly.

I gave away all my vinyl a while back and replaced what I wanted to replace with CDs. Then two weeks ago for some reason I found myself singing Kick over the statues and I decided to replace the album. It's just as moving and catchy and powerful as it was back then. So Chris, if by chance you come out of hiding here's my thank you for putting to song arguments and ideals that weren't easy to pass on in conversation let alone in a few minutes of song. A lot of us miss you - we miss the songs, the music and the generosity. You produced something that challenge the ideas of that time and what is more impressive is that the music is still as relevant today as it was then. So, thanks. I'd give an arm and a leg to have that phone conversation again :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album just crying out to be heard, 19 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Neither Washington... Nor Moscow (Audio CD)
Love them or loath them this was on of the most compelling albums of the 80's.Still,15 years after it first fought its way out past all the pomp of it's time it's still as clean and angry as the day it was first let out.If you have or had any kind of social conscience this is the one for you,that's if you didn't get it then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chris where are you ?, 1 Aug 2006
This review is from: Neither Washington... Nor Moscow (Audio CD)
Quite simply one of the greatest albums ever made. As astute politically as anything you will ever hear it simply catches the mood of the downtrodden working classes during Thatchers bleak years of rule and makes plain the notion that "the power is yours".
Truly uplifting, the band had an epic raw quality -- they gave their all and they meant every word. An o so rare quality.
Brilliant. !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sounds as powerful now as it did then, 30 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Neither Washington... Nor Moscow (Audio CD)
Probably the greatest 'lost' album of the 80s. A powerful combination of punk, stax soul, rockabilly and political lyrics.
Chris Moore has a powerful emotive voice, and the arrangements are tight and muscular.
Shame their SWP politics caused them to split up. I'm sure they could have produced more music of this quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Clash with a side order of soul, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Socialist Workers Party music and lyrics, that The Clash would be proud of, with 1960's soul sensibilities.

Imagine the best album ever (Marvin Gaye's What's Going On) with 1980's UK struggles, OK the was no Vietnam but there was Thatcher, the Miners strike and the Labour party's abandonment of a socialist alternative, against this backdrop the Redskins re-boot some old soul classics: Keep on Keepin' on and 16 Tons. Chris Dean's voice is full of passion, sentiment, anger and, love.

The love Che talked about, not an abstract love but a love of people those who we meet and work with.

This is a soul album and and protest document, if you don't own this you don't really like music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Passion, 18 Jan 2013
By 
This review is from: Neither Washington... Nor Moscow (Audio CD)
This record sounds like its from a different world to the souless, passionless music that is the staple of alternative music stations in the 21st century. Flashback...its the mid 80s, no one can belive the Tories are atill in power. It genuinely felt like they would be in control for ever. Not that The Redskins thought the labour party were much better. At the time I could go with that as a statement of intent although I dearly wanted a Labour govt. AS it turned out they were right about the labour party...New Labour had nothing in common with the working classes. Anyway back to the music...Keep On Keeping on was what first attracted me to The Redskins. It was strident, funky and most of all they sounded like they meant every word. With hindsight its easy to sneer at the sloganeering, but it is now a snapshot of the 80s as much as Duran Duran are. They wanted to walk like the Clash and sing like the Supremes if I remember correctly. What have we got in 2013? Mumford and Sons! Anyway if you bother to read a review of Neither Washington Nor Moscow you are probably already a fan so you don't need me to tell you how BRILLIANT it is. A Special mention must go to the brass section...fantastique as we say up north.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Flame That Can't Be Dimmed, 9 April 2003
By 
Bazza (Middlesbrough, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Neither Washington... Nor Moscow (Audio CD)
For those of you who have never heard of The Redskins before imagine a mixture of The Jam, The Clash and early Dexys Midnight Runners and you'll get an idea of what they sound like. This was their only album which now looks like a greatest hits package with 6 of the bands 7 singles featuring on it. Personal favourites are "Lean On Me", "Keep On Keepin' On", "Kick Over The Statues" and their biggest hit "Bring It Down".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Neither Washington... Nor Moscow
Neither Washington... Nor Moscow by Redskins (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews