Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Unique Gathering!
This is a re-edition of the 1986 LP of the same name and reunited 4 of
the biggest Country/Rock & Roll Stars from the 50's and belonging to
the famous SUN label. This 1985 reunion and some of the songs belonging
to this re-edition can also be seen on You tube during the recording
sessions which is an absolute dream come true. Johnny Cash, Jerry...
Published on 8 Feb 2008 by Ronald Van Scherpenzeel

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but !!!
I was disappointed in ths C.D. as it certainly was not what I expected from these guys.None of the tracks are all that great, even with their talent it was poor.
Published on 12 Jan 2012 by Fly Fisher


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Unique Gathering!, 8 Feb 2008
By 
Ronald Van Scherpenzeel (Madrid, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Class Of '55 (Audio CD)
This is a re-edition of the 1986 LP of the same name and reunited 4 of
the biggest Country/Rock & Roll Stars from the 50's and belonging to
the famous SUN label. This 1985 reunion and some of the songs belonging
to this re-edition can also be seen on You tube during the recording
sessions which is an absolute dream come true. Johnny Cash, Jerry Lee,
Roy and Carl Perkins together makin' original hillbilly country pickin'
rock 'n roll music! Only Elvis is missing but he unfortunately died
too early. Nobody could ever predict in 1985 that 33 years later Jerry
Lee Lewis would be the last man standing of all the music legends that
recorded for the Sun label. He's still playing concerts all over the
world. At this reunion he played and sang solos on "16 Candles" made
famous by the Crests and "Keep My Motor Running". Roy's wonderful
voice can be heard on "Coming Home"; one of the genuine hillbilly cats
Carl Perkins on "Class of '55" and Johnny Cash singing "We remember
the King" a tribute to Elvis. The rest of the songs they all sing
together. A wonderful CD that reminds of a unique gathering in Memphis
at the old Sun studio in September of 1985
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff from Memphis, 5 Nov 2009
This review is from: Class Of '55 (Audio CD)
I really enjoyed this cd. The old boys are all in good shape, especially Cash and Perkins impressed me vocally here. This has to do with personal preference, of course. I've been a fan of Johnny Cash for almost 40 years now, and Carl Perkins is one of my favorites, too, and not only because he has worked with Cash for a number of years. His vocals on "Class of '55" are just what the title suggests - classy. I prefer his mellow baritone over Lewis' high, somewhat monotonous performance on this album. His songs come off as a little indifferent to me, at least on this occasion. I've heard him do much better elsewhere. Orbison's vocals are always haunting and memorable, but he does only one song solo here - "Coming home". Charming, but a little sentimental. Cash' dark baritone really comes to the fore in a tune like "We remember the king", a song commemorating the late great Elvis Presley. His lends grit and character to "Waymore's blues" (their version of Waylon's old tune, where they all sing one verse) and to "Rock and roll with you". With horns and a steady rhythm section in back, these old legends really kick it off, so I have no problem recommending this cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memphis RnR Homecoming, 28 Mar 2008
This review is from: Class Of '55 (Audio CD)
Produced by Chips Moman this is a straight CD reissue of the original vinyl.No artists here were originally from Memphis they were just drawn there and put the city on the map
Big Train from Memphis was written by John Fogerty and adds as backup singers June Carter,the Judds and Rick Nelson.
Its not just a rerun of greatest hits but introduces songs not associated with Sun.Oddest is Jerry Lee Lewis singing straight high school pop with 16 Candles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The oldies are the best, 25 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Class Of '55 (Audio CD)
Well what can you say about this gang of oldies ! Their combined age must be about 300 years (if they were all still alive!) but they're still up there with the greatest, their music never dies. This CD was so cheap and yet is just brilliant. We must have every rock and roll record ever made in our house and this is a welcome addition to our collection. Can't fault it, get your blue suede shoes out and get rockin !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 55 Class, 30 Dec 2011
This review is from: Class Of '55 (Audio CD)
This is one of the best music DVD I have ever purchased. The talent of the artistes and content of the numbers they performed is brilliant. Unfortunately some have passed away and we will no longer await new material from them, however with this DVD alone their musical memories will last forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the job!!, 4 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Class Of '55 (Audio CD)
I purchased this cd for my dad as part of a birthday gift. He loved it as all the artists on this cd are favourites of his and to get them all on one cd is a bonus!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars OOOO, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Class Of '55 (Audio CD)
Not at all like I expected, there are a couple of tracks that I enjoyed.the cover shows a picture of them singing together, to me seems like that never happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTE CLASSIC, 25 Jan 2014
This review is from: Class Of '55 (Audio CD)
I remember purchasing the LP when it first came out in 1986 and was thrilled to find it reissued as a cheap CD years later. Sadly, the original release didn't get the publicity it deserved and consequently went largely unnoticed. What a pity!

This is an absolutely classic recording,bringing four of Sun's best together under the direction of Chris Moman. Unfortunately, Roy Orbison had a bad cold on the day of the session, and as such his presence is somewhat diminished, but even though the vocal is somewhat nasal on his only solo, 'Coming Home' is still a classic, as it was recorded when Roy didn't have a contract and new material was scarce.

For me, Carl Perkins is the star with lead vocals on 'Birth of Rock and Roll' and 'Rock and Roll (Fais Do Do)', while Johnny Cash delivers a stunning tribute to Elvis on 'We Remember The King'. Jerry Lee Lewis does a controlled version of 'Sixteen Candles' - which makes a refreshing change from some of his characteristic rambling interpretations of songs on other albums.

All four unite on some songs, including the finale 'Big Train From Memphis'.Sadly, Jerry Lee is the only one still alive.

If you are a fan of fifties rock or even country, this recording is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Sun / Elvis Tribute CD from those who knew him, 24 Mar 2013
This review is from: Class Of '55 (Audio CD)
I've had this CD for 15 years but not listened to it that often. I mainly bought it on the basis of beng a Roy Orbison fan, but revisted this after having being on Johnny Cash discovery journey recently. It was well worth digging this out of the closet so to speak as it really is a celebration of Sun and with strong Elvis tribute aspect to it from four of his friends and colleagues. This release desereved as much exposure as the Travelling Willbury's Vol 1 CD from, but didn't achieve those heights, raching 15 on the US Country Album chars being it's most significant chart placing.
The music is toe-tapping, uncomplicated and class. Carl Perkins actually makes the strong contribution. People should make sure they honour these Sun artists for the conribution to kick starting popular music as we know it today. These are the true pioneers, regardless of what the next generation 60's ravers of the Beatles think. They only started because these guys paved the way. If only Elvis could have been there to make this a quintet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Aug 2014
By 
Peter Grice (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Class Of '55 (Audio CD)
Bought as a gift for a friend, she is enjoying it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Class Of '55
Class Of '55 by Carl Perkins (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews