Customer Reviews


9 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Replace my vinyl... yeah, baby, YEAH!, 14 July 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give Daddy the Knife, Cindy (Audio CD)
Bought this on vinyl back in the 80s but it's one of those that I just had to replace with CD so I could listen to it at work and in the car.
Actually saw them perform as Naz Nomad & The Nightmares back in '88 at the Forum in London. Can't remember much as I slept through most of their set; I was on a mega acid comedown and the Street of Dreams was calling, but man what lullabies to soothe me into my slumber...
As another reviewer said, this is very tongue-in-cheek - something the Damned had in common with their contemporaries, Dr & The Medics, with whom the Damned performed not only as Naz but also as The Spooks (please someone release A Pretty Smart Way To Catch A Lobster on CD!) - and yet, it's so listenable. Plenty of nods to the MC5 and Chocolate Watch Band, throw in a bit of The Seeds and away you go.
Still as enjoyable as when I first nodded my trippy head to it 20 years ago, this is one of the best buys I've made this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who is hidden under Naz Nomad name?, 2 Dec. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Give Daddy the Knife, Cindy (Audio CD)
Naz Nomad & the Nightmares was the name for a Damned alter ego band (try to recognize them from the inside pictures). They only recorded this LP, an imaginary soundtrack for a 60's psych-terror film ("Give daddy the knife, Cindy" is the title). The track list plays mainly clasic and obscure 60's garage-punk covers (check "I can only..."). But there are 2 original compositions from Vanian and his friends ("Just Call me Sky", and the great "(Do you know)I Know"), both songs would make pale any garage revivial band from the 80's.
This record will satisfy the Damned fan and the 60's garage-punker, too.
A perfect record for a wild party with stroboscopic lights, 45's farfisa singles and your old hush-puppy boots!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damned Fine, 19 Mar. 2004
This review is from: Give Daddy the Knife, Cindy (Audio CD)
Ah those heady days, The Damned were the greatest of the so called "punk" bands and this album was a tongue in cheek side project that would stand very comfortably amongst any 60's garage band. (as well as some of the "new" garage bands)
A great and fun album, which proved what a great bunch of musicians they really were. Buy it. Now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy this or be damned., 14 Dec. 2007
By 
spanky "spankerton" (treacle toffee world) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Give Daddy the Knife, Cindy (Audio CD)
what can i say about a cd that spends more time in my stereo than a dog spends licking its arse!!
if you like heavy sixties garage and psyche,then the damned have got a treat for you,you would never know it was an eighties goth rock band doing this stuff,get your drainpipes and beatleboots out,its time to party.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DAMNED IF I KNOW, 30 Mar. 2009
This review is from: Give Daddy the Knife, Cindy (Audio CD)
I came by this little nugget (hoho) on vinyl in the 80's like so many of the other reviewers. However I knew not whom it was in da wigs at first. I just collected all the vinyl on the Big Beat,Ace and Kent labels. I was 17 and worked in a Record Shop. I'd discovered garage punk thanks to US fanzines and Lux Interior (RIP) interviews. Contemporaries of this I remember were The Fuzztones - Lycergic Emanations and tracks by The Stingrays the Vibes ("inner wardrobes of your mind") Lime Spiders, The Prisoners The Milkshakes and much more. It was only after a couple of plays I realised it was the Damned!!! It was one of them albums that made a mockery of the labels the press etc attached to young folk of the time. Mods loved it, Punks loved it... I sported a huge pointy quiff at the time (still do come to think of it) and I saw it as part of the trash phenomenon that the Damned had kinda started anyway. Now I realise it made me delve deeply into Texas/Seattle Garage Punk, Psychedelia and Freakbeat in the following decade. Cant really recommend GIVE DADDY THE KNIFE CINDY highly enough. Incidentally aint that title pillaged from Sike era Floyds GIVE DADDY THE AXE EUGENE?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Party Party with Naz, 9 Jun. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Give Daddy the Knife, Cindy (Audio CD)
Only a complete misery will fail to miss the tongue-in-cheek aspects of this wonderfully catchy collection of 60's garage sensibility that surely would have been a must for Peter Sellers' Walkman as he went swinging down the street in search of birdseed.
Put together in lean times by one guise of Punk Rock legends, The Damned, Give Daddy The Knife Cindy wastes no time in confirming the antithesis influences that spawned one of the most exciting British bands to emerge from the late-seventies.
Nobody But Me forces its way into the brain, with images of Barbarella rebounding from the walls of the dancehall by the time the opening track gives way to the eerie Action Woman and Wind Blows Your Hair, that settle the tempo down to just below boiling point.
The marvellously uplifting Kicks defies you not to clap along with abandoned gusto as the familiar solid back-beat drives the questioning chorus through any number of changes until fading prematurely with it's hooks still attached.
I Had Too Much To Dream Last Night, the only single to emerge from the album, is a capable resurrection that stands out as a further highlight.
Before the inevitable storm after the calm of The Trip is surpassed by the mood that is I Can only Give You Everything - a moving egocentric tale of unrequited lust.
The self-penned Just Call Me Sky is thankfully as short as it is sweet and leaves the listener wishing the party would go on for just a little longer. Or at least until the pills wear off.
Naz Nomad And The Nightmares did a few dates around the UK's club scene shortly after the release of this album. Before slipping away as soon as they arrived - leaving us with this incredibly addictive insight into the warped world they came from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Give Daddy the cd, Cindy...., 27 April 2010
By 
D. Parkin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give Daddy the Knife, Cindy (Audio CD)
A bit of a wheeze this, the Damned playing in a sixties style at the time they were recording the Black Album. As such it is a lot of fun on several levels, although I think that the production sounds a bit thin, and lacks the real wig out quality that it could have had; it does sound self-consciously sixties in the way that the sound is staged, and I would love to hear some of these tunes beefed up and remixed to extend the bass. Nonetheless, the sound of a band at the height of their creative powers, and revelling in the playfulness of it.
Worth a listen, and certainly a curiosity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still got this on coloured vinyl, but not heard it for ages. needed the CD, 30 May 2009
By 
Clashcity Rocker "Clashcity Rocker" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give Daddy the Knife, Cindy (Audio CD)
Sounds as great as I remember it. The Damned doing 60's garage punk. Obscure covers and a couple of originals that show what great musicians they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool and Groovy!, 2 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give Daddy the Knife, Cindy (Audio CD)
It really is cool and Groovy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Give Daddy the Knife, Cindy
Give Daddy the Knife, Cindy by Naz Nomad & The Nightmares (Audio CD - 1988)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews