Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greasy Rock N Roll As It Should Be
In my opinion - with the exception of Smell Of Female - this is the Cramps best album. Its the perfect combination of rockabilly, humour, gas station punk rock & kitchsh gore.
I am really annoyed because I have just noticed the 2 star review on Allmusic for this and they referred to it as "one of the weakest efforts in the Cramps canon" - utter nonsense. This is...
Published on 2 Jan 2005 by D. Knight

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars you cant be serious
the dammed meet the b52s and look like extras from the rocky horror show.this is a fun album of basic rockabilly styled songs given a snarling somewhat juvenile {not intended to be approved by any grown ups!)attitude with its delivery.they claim to write their songs,though i failed to hear a single original melody here.check out bob segers old time rock and roll from the...
Published 10 months ago by niggle


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greasy Rock N Roll As It Should Be, 2 Jan 2005
By 
D. Knight "David Knight" (The Shadow Of St Albans Abbey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stay Sick (Audio CD)
In my opinion - with the exception of Smell Of Female - this is the Cramps best album. Its the perfect combination of rockabilly, humour, gas station punk rock & kitchsh gore.
I am really annoyed because I have just noticed the 2 star review on Allmusic for this and they referred to it as "one of the weakest efforts in the Cramps canon" - utter nonsense. This is quality.
There is a great version on here of Muleskinner Blues, as well as the usual selection of completely insane Lux/Ivy originals.
For all its worth - I also thoroughly recommend "Flamejob" CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stay Sick!, 3 Mar 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The recording/production is not true to the Cramps on stage sound (check out Big Beat in Badsville, Flamejob for that) but this beautifully remastered edition on Ivy and Lux's own label is a jewel.
The recording, 1989, is very well produced/mixed. The ride cymbal, like in all Cramps albums, is very rich.Miss Candy del Mar on bass, given a different lease compared to fuzztones rocked out by Brian Gregory, Slim Chance,bounces her riffs against the bass drum and floor tom..Ivy resumes her all conquering rockabilly, tremolo guitarring, and King Lux gives it the Cramps signature with his reverberating, finely tuned vocals. If you like this album, almost certain you'll buy another Cramps release..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sickeningly Good for Cramps Fans!, 3 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stay Sick! (MP3 Download)
If you like the Cramps you have to get this album with some great tracks such as their souped up versions of Macy "Skip" Skipper's Sun recording of Bop Pills and the Fendermen's Mule Skinner Blues. Who can resist titles like Bikini Girls With Machine Guns and The Creature From The Black Leather Lagoon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wore mine out, 19 Feb 2014
By 
L. Radwan "LAR" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stay Sick (Audio CD)
Bought this to reprocess the original which I had worn out! Brilliant! This is one album I could not live without
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Turn blue!!, 25 Aug 2004
By 
grass staggers (Big Knob,East Germany) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stay Sick (Audio CD)
Lux'n'Ivy dish up the expected mix of choice covers,spankingly great new tunes and tons of innuendo.Put simply this is how rock'n'roll should be played.If tunes like All Women are Bad,Bop Pills and the hit(!)single Bikini Girls don't get you throwing the chairs around the lounge then you're probably a Dido fan.Invest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Cramps, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stay Sick (Audio CD)
Real music, its great!! Will be getting more, just wish I had seen them live....Poison Ivy & Lux Stay Sick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm Sick with the Cramps!, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stay Sick [VINYL] (Vinyl)
The Cramps have contaminated me with rock 'n' roll! When the record turned up in the mail and i opened it to reveal it's full vinyl glory it was like that of the second coming of Christ. The artwork here is trashy and that typography is almost hypnotic in it's oozing cool. As for the music, i can't describe the serotonin levels increasing in my brain as i revel in such great songs as Bikini Girls... and Everything Goes. There's also some great cover songs on here too that The Cramps make their own to the extent where the originals are virtually blasted to hell with a good helping of gunk and gook splattered all over them.
If you get the vinyl record you WILL NOT regret it, it is like a material manifestation of the soul!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great stuff!, 16 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stay Sick (Audio CD)
there seems to be a tendancy with The Cramps for people to discredit or ignore or simply not know about the mid to later albums but this, like the rest is well worth owning. get it and your life will be rosier, even just for the version of shortnin' bread. recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars you cant be serious, 30 Aug 2013
This review is from: Stay Sick (Audio CD)
the dammed meet the b52s and look like extras from the rocky horror show.this is a fun album of basic rockabilly styled songs given a snarling somewhat juvenile {not intended to be approved by any grown ups!)attitude with its delivery.they claim to write their songs,though i failed to hear a single original melody here.check out bob segers old time rock and roll from the brilliant stranger in town album and then listen to god dam rock n roll here!they have it note perfect.a fun album but not one for any serious moments. the sort of thing i liked at the time of punk in blighty because the frumpy adults who were not cool didnt,and i had a lot of growing up to do.a bunch of camp poachers !!! niggled
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stay Sick
Stay Sick by Cramps (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews