Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cramping your style, 3 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Smell of Female (Audio CD)
This live EP, recorded at famed NYC punk venue The Peppermint Lounge, was released in 1983, bridging the lengthy gap between The Cramps' second and third albums. It's a bit of a classic in its own right, however. Taking its title from the voiceover prologue to Russ Meyer's cult film 'Faster, Pussycat! Kill! Kill!', 'Smell of Female' includes a cover of the film's hilarious theme song, along with four original songs and a cover of The Count Five's trash-rock hit 'Psychotic Reaction'. The best tracks are 'You Got Good Taste' and 'I Ain't Nothin' But A Gorehound', but The Cramps deliver energetically throughout, and there are no really weak songs. The CD release features three bonus tracks, including the studio cut 'Surfin' Dead', which was used on the soundtrack of 'Return of the Living Dead'. This is the best available document of the live sound of The Cramps in their heyday, and as such is highly recommended. The cover shots of Poison Ivy Rorschach shaking a tail feather are a nice bonus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Showing Their Live Appeal, 10 July 2009
This review is from: Smell of Female (Audio CD)
After Psychedelic Jungle, The Cramps world began to get invaded by the bitterness of royalties and all that rights for music stuff, the dispute between the band and Record Label IRS were destined to end in court. Because of such circumstances, not a lot happened for Cramp fans in 1982. This pause in material thankfully didn't last too long though. In February 1983, The Cramps took their instruments to The Peppermint Lounge in New York City; they also took some recording equipment and invited a crowd.

Smell of Female was the bands first live album, originally six songs long it was the first outing for the band on Big Beat Records, and it successfully filled the void left from the troubling times of 1982. The album begins with a couple of screams from some excitable girls (or men, with tight trousers on), even in these first few seconds of listening you can feel the anticipation in the audience building. After a short introduction from the compare, who of course is ushered in with a gong, The Cramps burst into a new original song, Thee Most Exhalted Potentate of Love, its like the band have never been away!

The second song on the album is probably the best song on the record, it begins with a dedication from Lux Interior; "This one's dedicated to all you Gucci bag carriers out there..... Its called you've got gooooood taste!" yes Good Taste is a stunning live number, thumping and heavy in a very Cramps way, splendid drums from Knox, gorgeous fuzz from Powers and an addictive riff from Ivy. The song also has a risk element to it which Interior really does revel in.

Track four is however very un-Cramp like, a cover of Faster Pussycat, Lux Interior actually sings this song in sections which makes me feel slightly uneasy somewhat, after a couple of listens though, it begins to dawn on you the actual gloriousness of this song and the drama of it all, something which The Cramps translate beautifully.

Originally this live album was six tracks long back on it's initial release in '83. It goes without saying that the originally closer to Smell of Female was something rather special. Back in 1966, a band from San Jose released a song which would go down in collector circles as quite possibly the most invigorating garage song ever recorded; I am of course referring to Psychotic Reaction by Count Five. In 1983, it was covered live by The Cramps; to say they have captured the true essence of the original would be underplaying The Cramps' achievement here, its absolutely tremendous stuff.

Now reissued, Smell of Female by The Cramps, now stretches to nine songs, these include a live version of Beautiful Gardens as well as the brilliant and it must be said electric She Said. Hearing the true nature of The Cramps live for the first time is something to behold. From that stage in The Peppermint Lounge, you can really hear the appeal of the band and why they won so many plaudits for their live performances. Lets put it this way, if you've come this far with your Cramps collection, you wont be disappointed with Smell of Female.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Cramps, 29 Nov 2003
This review is from: Smell of Female (Audio CD)
Somewhere I still have the picture-disc LP of this album but like all LP's it rarely sees the light of day and I was reluctant to play pic-discs too often anyhow. Now, 16 years later as a 'true grownup' with 'responsibilities' it is fantastic to be able to crank up the Cramps and remember it all.
This is a live set from the 80's which captured the atmosphere of the Cramps gigs perfectly in my opinion, taken at a time after they stopped taking themselves too seriously but before they moved on to more advanced self-parody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ohh Ahh, 20 Mar 2009
By 
A. Manson (Paisley, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smell of Female (Audio CD)
My brother owned this on 12" vinyl over 20 years ago, so it was good to hear it again and it did not disapoint. Full of bad attitude and high energy.
Three extra tracks with the CD including She Said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High energy rockabilly garage - 10/10, 7 Mar 2006
This review is from: Smell of Female (Audio CD)
If you already own anything by the Cramps and like it, then buy this!! Along with Songs The Lord Taught Us, this is the essential Cramps purchase. It's all fantastic stuff, but 'The Most Exalted Potentate Of Love' and 'Call Of The Wighat' are particularly mind-blowing, while the bonus studio track 'Surfin' Dead' is classic Cramps. High energy, fuzz-guitar, wild, dirty and darn-right crazy rock'n'roll – this is the muts nuts!!!!
If you like rockabilly, 50's rock'n'roll, surf, 60's garage - then buy this cd - it is all of these...soaked in drug-fuelled b-horror movie mayhem.
“You’ got good taste,
You’ got good taste,
You come here,
Sit on my......lap!!”
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Groooooovy, 6 April 2014
By 
L. Radwan "LAR" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smell of Female (Audio CD)
Oh how I love love love the Cramps! Literally seen the band, had the vinyl, had the t shirts. Bought this so I can play in my car and transport myself back to the Peppermint Lounge and sing my heart out whilst driving. Great quality CD and has made me very happy! So come all you Gucci bag carriers, you know you got good taste!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish I'd Been There, 22 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smell of Female (Audio CD)
This is a great live album which captures a band who are really tight and on their game whilst really showcasing their dark humour. I bought Songs The Lord Taught Us when it was released and thought it was great but it was only recently that I followed this up with Psychological Jungle (another great album) which just increased my curiosity as to how The Cramps would sound live. Smell of Female doesn't disappoint. I've played this CD alot and every time I have the same thought - Wish I'd seen them live.
If only it had been a double album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smell of Female, 29 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smell of Female (Audio CD)
Awesome cd. Takes me right back to the days when I had this on vinyl.
One track that sums up anyone that buys this cd, " you got good taste"
Smell of Female
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars rock n roll, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smell of Female (Audio CD)
Brilliant music, takes me back to my early teens and makes me feel so happy I was part of the psychobilly scene
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You've Got Goo-oo-ood Taste!!, 25 Aug 2013
This review is from: Smell of Female (Audio CD)
The Cramps never made a bad album and this is one of their better ones, even though it's not an album as in an LP but an EP. Damn' shame it wasn't an LP because this captures the Cramps at their awesome and demonic best. They were the best live band I've ever seen, and that's from a list that includes the Who, the Sex Pistols, the Ramones, Iggy Pop, Bo Diddley, and Dr Feelgood, and this is one of the best live albums ever made (although their 'Rockinandreelininaucklandnewzealand' of a couple of years later is pretty damn' good too).
Pure funking rock n roll!!
My only complaint: the original record only had 6 tracks. The CD has added some extra ones - Hasil Adkins' 'She Said' (awesome track!)and 'Beautiful Gardens' (best ever description of an acid trip on record - forget 'Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds', and 'Armenia City in the Sky' nonsense - this is the real stuff Huxley talked about)! Now, my complaint, such as it is. The album ends with 'Surfin' Dead', a little ditty they cut for the zombie classic, 'Return of the Living Dead'. I like it - it's a Cramps song, but what's it doing on this collection? Firstly, it's a studio recording, not a live one, and secondly, it was recorded 2 or 3 years after 'Smell of Female'. I wish they'd put 'Weekend on Mars' on the CD instead. Still, mustn't grumble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Smell of Female
Smell of Female by Cramps (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews