Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic among Classics, 4 Feb 2004
This review is from: 30 Something (Audio CD)
Of all the Carter The Unstoppable Sex Machine albums this is probably the best. Every track is an anthem. I can honestly say this album contributed to making me the man i am today. Not so much a cynical protest against the establishment but a pun sprinkled sarcastic piss-take of everyday living in Britain when your not one of the chosen few.
Everything is covered from wife beating to alcholism and racial bullying in the armed forces to inner city poverty.
The lyrics are amusing, thought provoking and, if you know your 80s TV adverts and large companys, very satisfying (a nod and a wink towards Martini and nestle powdered milk!).
How they were only sued once by the Rolling Stones is a wonder. These guys a working class heros. Thanks Jim-Bob and Fruitbat XXX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant!, 27 Jan 2003
This review is from: 30 Something (Audio CD)
CARTER USM were, for me at least, one of the great unsung bands of the 90s. Superb lyrics combine with catchy (often anthemic) tracks, driven along by strong guitar and synth melodies that'll have you singin along and dancing around like you were 17 again.
The CD starts with Surfin' USM featuring a sample of Rimmer from Red Dwarf and chants of "YOU FAT B*ST*RD" - it's these chants that immediately take me back to the heady days of my youth standing chanting that very same phrase waiting for Jim Bob and Fruit Bat to appear on Stage.
From there on in it's classic after classic for Carter fans:
Second to Last Will and Testament - opening with yet another sample this time from Michael Cane
Shoppers Paradise with it's distinctive synth horns and a hook that'll have anyone dancing & jumping up and down like a nutter
I could go on and on...Bloodspart for All, Sealed With a Glasgow Kiss, the Final Comedown.
AN ABSOLUTE GEM!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Underdog's Bible, 27 Jan 2004
By 
This review is from: 30 Something (Audio CD)
The thing with Carter was you either loved them or you hated them. They had the odds stacked against them in the world of pop-music; for most of their existence the band was just two 30-something blokes with keyboards, a guitar and a drum machine. Many people were put off their music because it attracted a lot of beered-up, violent hooligans. Funny when you think about it because it was exactly these kind of people that Carter lampooned. Their music was rousing, sometimes even aggressive, but it was aimed at encouraging the meek to shake off their inhibitions and fears, get merry and "dance to the music that nobody likes!".
30 Something is probably the best LP Carter recorded. It seemed to sum up everything they were about in one 40 minute burst. It opens with a quote from Rimmer of Red Dwarf describing one of the most worrying signs of realising you're not a kid anymore, then grabs hold of you and doesn't let go until Mssrs Morrison and Carter have bellowed a few home truths. Second track "My Second To Last Will And Testament" is a Carter classic - Fruitbat's upbeat, unstoppable guitar riffs and computer beats hitting you thick and fast, and Jimbob's vocals laced with a sense of humour so black you could make priests' socks out of it. Every song here is infused with so much passion and energy it's impossible to get bored. I defy anyone to say they don't feel the urge to start dancing once the bassline on "Shoppers' Paradise" kicks in. "Billy's Smart Circus" is like listening to a drunken Travis Bickle finally pouring his heart out, and is almost frightening by the time you hear the ominous last line. Then you get "Bloodsport For All", a single that attacked army life and the problems therein so caustically that it got banned on release (this was round the time of the Gulf War - the first one, not the Hollywood sequel we had last year). "Sealed With A Glasgow Kiss" again features the relentless music and vocals, but is almost unique in it's ability to be both rousing and chilling. For me, the centrepiece is without a doubt the heartbreaking "Falling On A Bruise", a perfect fusion of hangdog melody and lyrics from a man taking stock of his existence, before describing life in all it's poignant hollowness - this song is truly a masterpiece. The album ends not on a bang but more like a ghostly whisper with the etheral "The Final Comedown", again showing that behind all the puns there is a serious point. It may be over a decade old now, but this record is still as cutting today as it was back in '91. Jim and Fruity always had something interesting to say, and 30 Something perfectly sums up everything they stand for. If you're even slightly curious about this record, give it a try and you'll understand why the singer refers to himself as James Robert Injustice.
For anyone interested and / or new to Carter, you should also look at Jim and Fruity's recent solo work (Jimbob / Jim's Super Stereoworld and Abdoujaparov respectively), guaranteed to strike a chord with cynics who can smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bright, shining moment, 25 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: 30 Something (Audio CD)
Well, what words can be used to best describe Carter USM's 30 Something? Eponymous? Groundbreaking? Revolutionary even? Jimbob and Fruitbat skirted around edges of all these, their infamy hitting a peak for a brief, shining moment in the early nineties. Razor sharp, provocative lyrics paired with lo-fi, B-movie guitars spurred on a generation of the serial unhappy to cut lose the chains of shoe-gazing and give themselves up to frenetic, frenzied fun. For a short time 30 Something stood almost alone as an anthemic touchstone for the floppy-haired. Many let the music wash over them without true appreciation of just how incisive and angry and well-observed the songs actually were beneath the cheeky image and pile-driver style. To miss the depth of feeling in the songs is to miss the point. Carter said something about the underbelly of society with a panache and humour that was vastly underated. 30 Something was the Halcyon point of the time. Sure Carter had albums after this, but like a first kiss, this is the one that will linger in the mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carter USM at their best!, 10 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: 30 Something (Audio CD)
Carter were THE band of the early 1990's. They had tons of mad fans, sell out gigs and even a number one album (the follow-up to this release)! People who have never heard of them might now wonder what all the fuss was about, as the band only consisted of two thirty-something blokes (hence the title) with guitars and drum machine. Yet this album proves their ultimate greatness.
Carter spoke the minds of a whole generation, and their sound combined the noise, energy and attitude of punk with the synthesized sound of the Pet Shop Boys ... and it worked! There is not a single bad song on the album, and the only negative comment that I can cope up with is the fact that it could be longer. If you want to get into Carter, go and buy THIS album now (or alternatively get hold of their debut, entitled 101 Damnations, which is almost as good). Don't wait until you are 30 something!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still sounds fantastic - on your hi-fi or live!, 7 Nov 2007
By 
V. Delrieu (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 30 Something (Audio CD)
They were extraordinarily exciting, loud and snarky back in the early 1990s and again at their phenomenal farewell Brixton gig last week.

They played nearly every track on this album (and we shouted enthusiastically along with them!) and the clever lyrics, catchy riffs and grungy guitars are have lasted, sounding as pertinent and exhilarating today as 15 years ago.

The epic Prince in a Paupers Grave still makes me tingle, and Shoppers Paradise is bouncy and poppy, compared to the more punky, dark Anytime, Anyplace, Anywhere. They really are all classics and I can only recommend this album along with a mountain of B-sides and albums before and after!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bliss, 30 Jun 2011
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 30 Something (Audio CD)
I have cast off the old...the old worn out cassette has finally given up the ghost... but amazon to the rescue with a bargain price replacement 30 Something, probably the best Carter USM album, each track a total head rocking anthem. I have been given grief all day at work while i have this playing away on the Iphone... I feel 19 again.
Some of the uneducated fools i work with have been swung to the Carter USM side and more sales should be exppected. (my soft spot should have nothing to do with having the same surname...but it always made me smile)

Why should you buy this... because its fun, very track its just great fun to listen to, there are no B sides on this album every single one is an A side classic.

(Parm)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cd review, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 30 Something (Audio CD)
BRILLIANT!!! had this on vinyl pleased to have found this on amazon. one of my alltime favourites don"t always replace vinyl with cd but had to when i found this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great riff's, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 30 Something (MP3 Download)
A great blast from the past. Takes me back to my mis-spent youth... Ilove it !! A must buy for Carter fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Carter, 21 Nov 2011
This review is from: 30 Something (Audio CD)
The seminal album by the best band there never was. If you already know Carter then I'm preaching to the converted, if you don't then why not try something new? I cannot stress enough how much I love these boys and particularly this album, it was the soundtrack to the early nineties for me and I still listen to it on a regular basis.
Massive synth chords, screaming guitars, pounding basslines and clever witty sharp lyrics, it's got the lot. from anthems to alcoholism, love to being lost, it's all here!

Do yourself a favour, But it and listen to it until your ears hurt, you just might discover your new favourite band...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

30 Something
30 Something by Carter the Unstoppable Sex Machine (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews