Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Original Album and Still The Best By Far!!!
I am a long time lover of "A" and just need to tell you guys that this was definately the most defining album created by the band. It captures the true sound of "A" and sparks the realisation of their true originality.
Hard thrashing combined with their truly unique, upbeat, feel good sound make this an album that should be "as standard" in your collection, just for...
Published on 30 Aug 2004 by David Wood

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mmmm...so-so
Wonderful riffs and glorious tunes this album is truly a great punk noise and is very catchy indeed.
Unfortunately one of the most irritating voices ever heard is involved and by the middle of the album I could not switch it off fast enough.
If though you can stand the voice (it's a shame that I can't) then you have one of the best fast paced albums of the...
Published on 3 Jan 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Original Album and Still The Best By Far!!!, 30 Aug 2004
By 
David Wood (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How Ace are Buildings [VINYL] (Audio CD)
I am a long time lover of "A" and just need to tell you guys that this was definately the most defining album created by the band. It captures the true sound of "A" and sparks the realisation of their true originality.
Hard thrashing combined with their truly unique, upbeat, feel good sound make this an album that should be "as standard" in your collection, just for the respect of where this band has come from. I feel the band has shifted somewhat with very recent albums and chart entries ie, Nothing, but this is an album that shares something special!
Do yourself a favour if your pretty new to "A". Buy this album and "Monkey Kong" to understand the true greatness of talent, witnessed in this band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWEsome, 2 Aug 2002
This review is from: How Ace are Buildings [VINYL] (Audio CD)
This album is amazing, the first and my peronsal favourite album they have released. There is not one track on this album I do not like, and there are all diverse. Pop-punk at its very best, the sytle varies from slow to fast songs. As soon as you put this CD in your welcomed with "Turn It Up" a sort of intro to set up "Foghorn" which blast out of your stereo! All these songs are awesome and I could write about each one, but im not going to, ill just definately recommend you buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best kept secret in britain, too right., 2 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: How Ace are Buildings [VINYL] (Audio CD)
i think it to be a great shame that A have not perhaps got the coverage that they deserve because they have produced two albums, soon to be three, of absolute mastery. How ace are buildings in 45 minutes of constant rocking beats that leaves you wanting more. When i got this album i listened to it striaght for three weeks so encapsulating are the songs. JP (lead singer) himself said that their only aim was to produce good honest music, that is the understatement of the century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How ace is this, 15 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: How Ace are Buildings [VINYL] (Audio CD)
Pure pop-punk mastery. This album is what so many aren't full of great great songs, there's not a filler in sight. Even after the first play i was whistling, humming and singing along to this cd. Foghorn, number 1 and the almighty Sing along. The song are simple upretentious and rocking like an MS sufferer. There may be more meaningfull bands out there but there aint many that are going to put a smile on your face like this. "Everybody in the building has to sing this song", see simple, stupid and FUN. Do your self a favour and buy this. A deserve to be huge and you deserve to help them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mmmm...so-so, 3 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: How Ace are Buildings [VINYL] (Audio CD)
Wonderful riffs and glorious tunes this album is truly a great punk noise and is very catchy indeed.
Unfortunately one of the most irritating voices ever heard is involved and by the middle of the album I could not switch it off fast enough.
If though you can stand the voice (it's a shame that I can't) then you have one of the best fast paced albums of the year full of jollity, almost embarrassing lyrics and fun.
Overall, an acquired taste like no other!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Time to rock!, 20 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: How Ace are Buildings [VINYL] (Audio CD)
From the very start you can tell you are going to be rocking around your room. First you start with the short and sweet "Turn it up" and then you have your ears destroyed by "Foghorn".There are better songs to come. "No1" is the best song i've ever heard, then there's the truly amazing "Five in the morning" then to end it theres the pure rock hidden track. From start to end this is a rocking album that deaserves a place on your CD rack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A are the bestest, 12 Feb 2004
This review is from: How Ace are Buildings [VINYL] (Audio CD)
A are just the bestest thing, it ain't punk.it ain't raawck it ain't metal, nu or old. it ain't pop. It's just dam great, loud, fast and funny. songs to make you laugh and smile, whilst pogo-ing around the room. A are worth spending money on, you won't be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this buildings really ace, 8 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: How Ace are Buildings [VINYL] (Audio CD)
this for me is a must have album if you enjoy punk rock it is most deffinately your scene. It is far better than monkey kong (their second album) and I strongly reccommend you buy it ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You lucky, lucky people!, 30 Dec 2002
This review is from: How Ace are Buildings [VINYL] (Audio CD)
If you are reading this page with a mind to buying an album, then congratulations! You have just stumbled across the best thing that will ever happen to you (musically, anyway!).
We don't really appreciate how lucky we are to have been born into an era which can produce music of this quality, but we are. Every single fan good quality rock music should own a copy of this fabulous album. It is tight, well produced and - unusually for a modern rock album - happy! You come away from this (and almost any other 'A' album) with the most inexplicable sense of well-being.
That's enough about how great 'A' are, now to the album itself. Of the three albums (four, if you count the excellent Exit Stage Right live EP), this one stands out as an excellent debut, which is simply improved upon in the subsequent offerings. Bad Idea and Cheeky Monkey have that bouncy, self-deprecating humour which 'A' went on to make their own, whil Foghorn, Sing-A-Long and No 1 are among the best songs I've ever heard.
I won't go into any more detail. I'll just say that if you want something a bit different, and if you want to be part of the best thing to happen to British music in years, then BUY THIS ALBUM right now! There's a little button at the top of the page marked Add To Basket. I guess you know what to do...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How Ace are Buildings [VINYL]
How Ace are Buildings [VINYL] by A (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews