Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you want rock, you got it!
If you want hard hitting rock'n'roll with edge and spice, buy "Electric" now. "Wildflower", "King Contrary Man" and "Love Removal Machine" are just three of the many highlights. The only minor let down is the drab, unadventurous cover of Steppenwolf's "Born to be Wild"...it just doesn't scan or fit into the rest of this otherwise brilliant album (that's why I can't give...
Published on 7 Oct. 2005 by Mr. J. H. Cook

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Not what I ordered
I was expecting The Cult - Electric and got the right case and wrong CD. Right Band wrong Album. Was surprised because the CD was advertised as being new. The mistake couldnt of happened if it was brand new still in its plastic wrapper.
Published 1 month ago by Colleen Brennan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you want rock, you got it!, 7 Oct. 2005
By 
Mr. J. H. Cook (Luton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Electric (Audio CD)
If you want hard hitting rock'n'roll with edge and spice, buy "Electric" now. "Wildflower", "King Contrary Man" and "Love Removal Machine" are just three of the many highlights. The only minor let down is the drab, unadventurous cover of Steppenwolf's "Born to be Wild"...it just doesn't scan or fit into the rest of this otherwise brilliant album (that's why I can't give it 5 stars). It's always dangerous covering classics...enough said I think. The Cult are a seriously good band; Ian Astbury's haunting, wailing voice and Billy Duffy's timeless, instantly memorable guitar work contribute greatly to making this album a "simply must have" for any serious rock fan or record collector...terrific stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Raw British Rock with Overdrive Set to 11, 21 Nov. 2000
This review is from: Electric (Audio CD)
A highly criticised album at the time because of its departure from the haunting Goth Rock of the (Southern Death) Cult's previous material. It was seen by many as a blatant move towards the more commercial metal scene and a demonstration of awful millinery taste. However, the album contains some of the best examples of crunchy n' punchy British metal in the form of Love Removal Machine, Li'l Devil and Wildflower. The much covered Born to Be Wild is true to the original and well worth a listen if you don't own a copy of Steppenwolf. The songs are short, gritty and fuelled with kerosine. Billy Duffy's guitar riffs are strong yet incredibly simple. OK this album is an aural dictionary of rock cliches but for all the stick they get, The Cult pull it off better than most. That said if you dont like too many Baby Baby Baby Babys a la Robert Plant style then this is definately not one for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yay Ugh!!, 7 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Electric (Audio CD)
In the 6th form there was a certain degree of antipathy and snootiness between the metal fraternity and the Goths. The Goths, for some strange reason, thought that bands like WASP and Twisted Sister were a bit low brow (`I Wanna Rock' was a magnificent piece of post-modern irony, in my view), whilst the metallers thought that The Sisters of Mercy, the Nephilim etc were as miserable as their fans. So imagine the consternation when Goth stalwarts the Cult flipped from frilly blouses to American Indian/Wolf Man biker chic and issued the album `Electric'. To the metallers, it simply proved we were right all along - hell, they were using Rick Rubin of Slayer fame (Reign In Blood), ripping off AC/DC and citing Metallica as a musical influence - at the time it felt emphatically like it was Metal: 1 Goth: 0.

Merging the swagger of simple recycled AC/DC riffs (e.g. check out the riff of Wild Flower and compare it to AC/DC's Rock N Roll Singer), the 60's howl of say Jim Morrison, a totally stripped down soundscape and some earth shredding guitar solos yielded an absolutely killer formula. The album was packed with massive raunchy singles (Love Removal, Wild Flower, Lil Devil) which could fill any dance floor in seconds and it created a sort of hippy `Rock Star' in the shape of the wolf child: Ian Astbury (as part of this transformation to Rock icon he had developed the need to yell `Yay Ugh' and use words like `Baby', love' and `Peace' a lot). The transformation was completed with the US `rawk' sounding follow up 'Sonic Temple' which even had the new Axe God Duffy throwing a metal shape on the cover - through my smugness I could hear the Goth's turning and groaning in their graves. Interestingly, though, The Sisters of Mercy also then got into bed with metal and released the classic 'Vision Thing' CD, ironically in order to parody a form of music that the main man Eldritch found derisory, and subsequent crossovers like Type O, Marilyn Manson and Tool also blurred the lines between metal and Goth. The Sisters started to appear at metal festivals and the New Model Army issued 'The Love of Hopeless Causes', which the singer Justin recently described as 'our metal album' - times were changing and the Cult's Electric was decidedly at the vanguard of the change.

The band even sort of proclaimed their new found 'Heavy Metal Thunder' by including an unwelcome lumpen cover of 'Born to Be Wild' (and not even in an ironic way), which to this day seems completely out of place in the running order on the album. Derision was heaped on its inclusion on the record at the time and, interestingly, it led to Zodiac Mindwarp releasing their own version purely, in their words, to `make the Cult version look like a pile of ****. Which it did.

So in summary, despite Born to be Wild, I feel this is a bone fide Cult Classic (and probably a classic, period), it stands up reasonably well to the passage of time (although the Rubin production possibly sounds a tad dated now) and it still rocks out hard when cranked up loud.

Footnote: Personally I subsequently discovered in the late 80s the immense charms of The Fields of The Nephilim and the New Model Army and so I guess the final score is a resounding score draw.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect but Marred by a Terrible Cover, 24 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electric (Audio CD)
I am going to get this out of the way and say this album would have been near perfection were it not for the inclusion of the cover of Born To Be Wild. I don't care for the origional and this is worse. It is one track that I always skip and it is something I never normally do when it comes to bands as great as The Cult.

Electric is a new direction from Love, moving more into the American rock genre and for a first effort in that market, this album has to be admired. The music is more fierce than before, creating storms in songs such as Lil' Devil and Love Removal Machine, my personal favourites. Lil' Devil is also part of a great opening trilogy of songs, Wild Flower (which introduces us to the new direction of the band) and Peace Dog, the title of which is inspired by The Doors' Peace Frog.

Unfortunately, one fault of this album is the consistency. Unlike Love, which had a more varied soundscape, Electric moves entirely in one direction and while this is great in the opening tracks, it becomes difficult to maintain and the album meanders a little in the middle, though not by much and there are tracks, Bad Fun and Love Removal Machine which save the album from catastophe.

The final three tracks would have been great had Born to Be Wild been ommitted, however, we do get Outlaw and Memphis Hip Snake, which close the album with as much feriocity and power as the album opened on.

Overall this is a good record for fans interested in the origins of the band's career in Amercia, as Love and Dreamtime are more orientated towards the goth genre. (Though Love is one of their best). It has also kept me eager to more and so my next stop shall be Sonic Temple, which is often hailed as a vast improvement from Electric.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hoover to this!, 26 Sept. 2002
This review is from: Electric (Audio CD)
Let me stake out my angle here:
I am a 40 something former punk / New Romantic, who has little truck with things heavy on the whole......however - this is quality hard rock, and stands proud next to the best of Zep, ACDC and Motorhead as a fine example of mane-tossing heaviness. I've gone past the stage of being au fait with every track on an album but suffice to say that I can't recall much Polyfilla on this platter - its pretty well all 5 star stuff all the way. The (admittedly overused) cliche of "play loud" definitely applies in spades here: to play at anything less than full volume would sell it seriously short.
It preens, it postures, it ROCKS, Godammit. A perfect blueprint for how a heavy band SHOULD sound. Quintessential Cult.
In case you hadn't guessed....I rather like this!
Surreally enough, I find "Electric" is the perfect soundtrack for doing the housework.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating crossroads for the band...., 19 Feb. 2003
By 
This review is from: Electric (Audio CD)
This is really a tale of two albums - "Peace", the album that never was, and "Electric", the finished product. The whole album was recorded during the famous "Manor Sessions" but subsequently binned; largely because it all sounded exactly like "Sanctuary". Rick Rubin was drafted in, and the Cult suddenly went florid goth poesy to sounding like AC/DC's harder-riffing younger brothers. It's very unpretentious rock (albeit tight as hell production-wise - try it with headphones, you'll see Rubin's magic in its full glory), only 4 or 5 tracks really stand out, but it's all serviceable. Two bits of advice - 1) if you like this, buy every album AC/DC have ever done, and 2) try and track down the original Manor versions - the difference between them and the final "Electric" versions is absolutely fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars As much Rick Rubin's album as the Cult, 8 April 2008
By 
Dmitri M. A. Hubbard (Hong Kong) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Electric (Audio CD)
This album starts of with such promise - Wildflower, Peace Dog, Lil Devil. Then, you start getting the feeling you have heard the songs before. Essentially the rest of the songs are fairly similar. The cover of Born to be Wild is terrible, you will have had enough of Ian Astbury's hoarse voice after that. 'Bad fun' is also ok. In the old days this would be one of those albums we would record five songs off on a cassette tape and forget about it. Now you would be better to get MP3s of your favorite tunes here and dump the rest of the album. Generally as other reviewers have said, an important genre-change for the cult into a harder-hitting rock operation. The evolution of the band is all the more interesting for this, and the next excursion, 'Sonic Temple' (1989) which is more of a halfway-house between 'Love' and 'Electric'.

Having said that, I remember from the late 80s this being a great album to listen to on road trips. Wind down the windows and turn up the volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Waaaahhh Yeaaaahhhh wowwwah!, 23 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Electric (Audio CD)
Wow this takes me back! I last heard this back in 87/88 (I cant remember when exactly, of course) in the back of a Sirocco heading to see Motorhead at Hammersmith... why has it taken me so long to come back to you my L'il Electric Devil? It was seriously slagged back in the day for a sell-out from the SDC days, but if anybody else remembers rainy windscreens, smoky fogged-up windows and hair flying left and right, then forget any bad things you ever heard about this album...it remains a piece of British Rock History, head and shoulders with the best of them...pure Joy Baby!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding album., 27 May 2012
This review is from: Electric (Audio CD)
A great album, sharp, ferocious, rock 'n' roll.
Electric is very different from anything else The Cult has released and has a strong personality. Stuck in between the mystical Love and the arena-rock giant sonic temple, Electric gave The Cult some of its best tunes: Wild flower, lil devil, Love removal machine to name only a few classics. Rick Rubin givin it a raw, stripped-down, minimal production, providing Astbury and Duffy with maximal room for their amazing talent.
Brilliant album, great artwork...A MUST HAVE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, of course, 12 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electric (Audio CD)
How could an album by The Cult be anything less than wonderful? I bought this because I'm going to see them during the Electric 13 Tour, when they are playing this complete album plus more, and can't wait. I missed The Cult first time round, during an era when music had generally slipped from my life, but am really enjoying catching up with all the great bands I missed, and to me they're new! I fell in love with Ian Astbury's voice the first time I heard it and this album showcases it well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Electric
Electric by The Cult (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews