Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Council Meeting, 29 Dec 2009
This review is from: In Concert (MP3 Download)
I was at the London Dominion gig in 1984 at which many of the songs were recorded. Weller was considered god at that time, even though many of the Jam fans didn't understand what he was trying to do with the Style Council. The gig was sold out within hours of tickets going on sale. Listening today, the recording quality is great, though some of the songs seem a bit dated. But the instrumentals like Le Depart are classic, timeless and It's a Very Deep Sea reminds me that Confessions of a Pop Group was a brave, brilliant album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is great. Buy it., 23 Jun 2005
By 
This review is from: In Concert (Audio CD)
Home and Abroad may have the better songs, but this album has far superior performances and sound quality. Highlights are an infectious version of Curtis Mayfield's Move on Up, the early Style Council single Speak Like A Child, an almost gospel-like re-imagining of It Just Came To Pieces In My Hands, and a fantastic rendition of one of the Councils best songs - A Man of Great Promise. Oustanding live album by one of history's great under-rated bands. Whay are you still reading this? Buy the CD!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One match short of a fire, 19 Feb 2010
This review is from: In Concert (Audio CD)
Great album both in terms of sound quality and content - next best thing to being at the concerts. My only disappointment is, I guess, a personal one since one of my favourites from their repertoire is missing: Paris Match. But the material that has been included is excellent. I guess I'll have to be content with the studio version of P/M. If you like Style Council then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Weller, 4 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Concert (Audio CD)
This is simply a brilliant album, and up there with PWs other live albums - his guitar playing is on form, and the band gel well together. The 'concert' is 20 songs in length, so that you don't feel cheated. This is simply a must have CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HERE'S ONE THAT NEARLY GOT AWAY, 2 Aug 2005
By 
COLSEE "colsee" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Concert (Audio CD)
Only recently browsing did I know this even existed!
What a fantastic live album. Sound quality is stunning, Wellers singing is deep and powerful and sends shivers down yer spine!
For any Style Council or Weller fan this is a must,it will bring back those concert memories. Live they were outstanding and to some (not me) didn't always transfer that in the studio.
How wrong they were !
One thing is for sure, this album will make you wish you were at this series of concerts.The talent of Weller is never in question, the level of musicianship is second to none.
The piano playing from Mick Talbot and Paul Weller is enchanting and moody, Wellers vocals have never sounded better.
The critics slated him for no reason as many of TSC songs were more powerful than THE JAM!
I know.........SACRILAGE!
Th overall sound quality is genuinely fantastic.
Put on the headphones and you are there!
Give it a listen and I assure you it will quickly become one of your favourites. At the moment it is being sold at a ridiculous price so grab it while you can.
You will love it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For All of Us Who Never Caught Them Live, 26 Mar 2003
By 
R. Janis "spiritofeden" (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Concert (Audio CD)
This collection captures some truly peak moments in the Council's career, but the real highlights for me are the inclusion of the fantastic covers of Curtis Mayfield tracks ("Meeting Over Yonder" and "Move On Up"), another that doesn't quite cut it but at least they tried ("One Nation Under a Groove"), and the track that never made it onto a Council LP, "Up For Grabs". It's far superior to the only other commercially released live collection, "Home & Abroad", and also includes terrific sleevenotes, along with remembrances from fans around the world, which are a real testament to the band's impact then and now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live as life, 22 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: In Concert (Audio CD)
This album picks the best of the council and sticks it in to one. Unlike other albums of live performances they have left the music and atmosphere to come out on the cd. You listen to the cd and you feel like you are there listens to them and jumping about. This is one of the best live albums i have ever listened to and a must be for Style Coucil fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN UNDISCOVERD GEM, 24 Jun 2010
By 
Gareth Kirkup (CWMBRAN GWENT WALES) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Concert (Audio CD)
NEVER NEW THIS CD WAS AVAILIBLE UNTIL BROWSING ON AMAZON BUT WHAT A FIND! GREAT SONGS GREAT VOCALS AND GREAT SOUND. A MUST FOR ANY JAM, COUNCIL, WELLER FAN... DEFINATE 5 STARS FROM ME........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Live, 22 Oct 2013
By 
SP Neep (Cyprus) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Concert (Audio CD)
It's the style council, they are class. I've not listened to much live stuff from them but this has opened a new door. Some good tracks new and old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Council Meeting, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Concert (Audio CD)
This gives a good idea of how good the band were live over a few years.
Sound quality is good. Sleeve notes good and good cross section of tunes.
Really pleased with this cd.
Anyone who saw them in their heyday will enjoy this.
Happy memories!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Concert
In Concert by Style Council (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews