Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars32
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£39.90+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 October 2015
What a let down after their seminal 1980's debut album,wasnt expecting it to be of course after reading online reviews,l still 100 times better then the
Simon Cowell induced poo that passes for 'music' now
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
I love the Age of Plastic, which is a synth pop classic, and this underated second album is also superb. Great songs and of course an amazing production. The cd version also includes some worthy extra tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2010
A great compilation to take you away from the dross of todays musical output.. No questions, you will love this set.. 5 stars for remaining timeless in every sense.. For this price you have to add it to your collection..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2016
Bought this as I was interviewing Trevor Horn and wanted to listen to all his music. Great album, sad that The Buggles aren't better known than they are.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
Trevor Horn at his best! Not as good as the first album but a nice example of early 80's synth-music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
A true gem from Buggles! Great sounds and fantastic arrangements!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2012
after such a long time i finally got this album
and to be honest i have heard better i think the buggles tried to be too clever here
there wasnt the raw edge they had with the 1st album
but it was ok some good tracks
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2007
I was a huge fan of the Buggles from the first time I heard "Video Killed The Radio Star" in 1979 and also loved the first album "The Age Of Plastic". I waited for what seemed like eternity for some new material and finally, in 1982, this album was released. What a disappointment! "The Age Of Plastic" was finely crafted; each song had an excellent tune, interesting lyrics, inspiring arrangements and, of course, brilliant keyboards and production. So what went wrong with "Adventures In Modern Recording"? It seems their interests lay elsewhere and their hearts weren't really in this album. Geoff Downes is absent from most of the tracks, too busy forging a career with Asia. Trevor Horn was busy producing ABC and the likes and this album seems to have been recorded in a disjointed fashion, fitted in when time was available.

Having said all of that, it does have some value. The title track is the most commercial song on the album and probably the best, being on a par with their earlier material. "On TV" was another single that failed to make any kind of impression on the top 75 even though it was co-written with Bruce Woolley who had also co-written "Video" and "Clean Clean". "I Am A Camera" is OK but could have been better produced and the rest of the tracks, well, they just don't have the sparkle and catchiness of the earlier material. They just wash over you without leaving much of an impression.

To sum up, don't expect another "Age Of Plastic". Don't pay an outrageous amount of money for a deleted CD. Instead, track down a secondhand vinyl copy for a few pounds and then make your own mind up about this album.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2001
Their debut, "Age of Plastic", was brilliant - while Synth Pop was taking a turn into the tortured tones of Gary Numan and Human League, they managed something bright and lively with some rather interesting songwriting.
However, after their spell with Yes (and Downes' impending debut with Asia), the comeback album was a little half-hearted. Of course, some of the songs do live up to the standard: "Rainbow Warrior", "I Am A Camera" and the title track especially, but songs like "On TV" and "Beatnik" tarnish the album with some rather irritating and uninspiring music. As for the retro-20's jazz section on "Vermillion Sands" - totally unnecessary and spoils an otherwise decent song.
I would recommend anyone to buy their debut first before buying this album. As it's a relatively short and incoherent album (my vinyl copy runs only 33½ minutes), I would recommend the CD version - vinyl copies are quite scarce at the moment and can prove to be a more costly alternative.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2013
for remember youth, party's, new wave music , camping , sleeping outside in the beach, technology, great synths,news sounds, madness, beers, redwine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)