Customer Reviews


25 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the obvious tracks, 24 Feb. 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bonnie Tyler: The Best (Audio CD)
This review relates to the compilation Bonnie Tyler: The Best and not to any other compilation with a similar title, which may have a completely different track listing. Amazon often link products incorrectly for review purposes, especially if they have similar or identical titles.

This compilation focuses on Bonnie's eighties music recorded for CBS, but her four UK hits for RCA (Lost in France, More than a love, It's a heartache, Married men) are also included under license. So this collection contains all of Bonnie's UK hits, plus a selection of her other tracks from the eighties.

Apart from the RCA hits already mentioned (two of which made the UK top ten), Bonnie's other UK hits to be found here are Total eclipse of the heart (a number one hit), A rocking good way (a top five hit duet with Shaking Stevens), Holding out for a hero (a number two hit) and three minor hits, these being Have you ever seen the rain (a cover of the Creedence Clearwater Revival classic), Faster than the speed of night and Loving you is a dirty job.

Also here is Bonnie's original recording of The best. Generally known as Simply the best, it completely missed the charts, but Tina Turner covered the song a year later and had a major international hit with it. Another song that you may be familiar with is To love somebody. Originally written and recorded by the Bee Gees, the song has been a hit for several different singers around the world. Nina Simone (in 1969) and Jimmy Somerville (in 1990) both took it into the UK top ten.

There are many Bonnie Tyler compilations to choose from. I wouldn't describe this as the strongest but it contains all the essential tracks that most people expect and it is reasonably priced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bonnie Tyler, The Best, 1 Sept. 2004
This review is from: Bonnie Tyler: The Best (Audio CD)
If you like rock music, pop music or country music this is the album for you! It has it all! Bonnie Tyler may of only had a few hits, Total eclipse of the heart, Its a Heartache and Holding Out For A Hero but this album Is amazing, Im going to run through the track listing and give the song my comment:
1. Total eclipse of the heart. Greatest song shes ever done, very emotional and very powerful! A great Power ballad
2. Faster than the speed of night. Fast and rocky! very good and fun!
3. Have you ever seen the rain. A Great cover makes it into an arena Rock anthem!
4. If you were a woman (and I was a man). Great pop song! Very good chours to sing along to!
5. Here she comes. A good song not one of her best but a good pop song!
6. Loving you's a dirty job but someone's got to do it. Amazing! Great deut! Very emotional and powerful!
7. Getting so excited. I have to be honest i dont like this one its quite boring!
8. Save up all your tears. Not bad, chers cover version was better!
9. Best. Again not bad, but Tina Turners cover version was better!
10. Holding out for a hero. Great song! Its pop, Dance and a bit of rock chucked in to!
11. Married men. This is one of her country songs i dont like it!
12. Rockin' good way (to mess around and fall in love). Her worst song. Its camp and just bad!
13. More than a lover. Another country one, this song grows on you over time! its very good
14. Don't turn around. A good song! One of her rock ones. I do like this!
15. Lovers again. Very good a really sad and romantic love song!
16.Lost in France. A great pop song! it gets stuck in your head and its a good tune!
17. It's a heartache. Another country one! its here best and very catchy!
18. To love somebody. A good cover song! Very catchy!
Overall 4 stars. The bad points are:
Total eclipse of the heart is made shorter!
Its missing very good songs : Tears, Take Me Back, Straight From the heart, Ravising and Rebel without a clue!
So 4 stars and a great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Rock Sound, 27 July 2007
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bonnie Tyler: The Best (Audio CD)
Bonnie Tyler had hits with Lost In France and It's A Heartache before she teamed up with Jim Steinman and created the album Faster Than The Speed Of Night which was a sort of female version of Meat Loaf's Bat Out Of Hell. The album was a megahit on both sides of the Atlantic and gave her top 5 hits in the form of Total Eclipse Of The Heart and the title track.

Her husky voice is backed by powerful rock instrumentation, rolling, pounding drums, shimmering keyboards and blistering guitar riffs. This comprehensive Best Of collection includes her other great hit Holding Out For A Hero plus a stunning version of Have You Ever Seen The Rain and a duet with Shakin' Stevens.

The tracks from Faster Than The Speed Of Night are exuberant and theatrical, but her sensitive side is also displayed here on songs like the aforementioned Lost In France. If you love the hook-filled big rock sound of artists like Pat Benatar, Joan Jett, Meat Loaf, Ellen Foley, Tina Turner or Jim Steinman, you'll love this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Clear Track Listing-Whenever You Need Me, 12 May 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All the Best (Audio CD)
Alkl the Best is a great set of releases with some great music for a great price.
This is a 3 CD set but from the listing on Amazon this is not at all clear.
Also I find it hard to pick out individual tracks from the cramped list/

So this is NOT a review just an aid to making the track listing more clear.

Tracklist:

Disc 1
1.Lost In France
2.Heaven
3.Fools Lullaby
4.Bitterblue
5.Back Home
6.Sally Comes Around
7.Send Me The Pillow
8.From The Bottom Of My Lonely Heart
9.Before We Get Any Closer
10.You Are So Beautiful
11.Stay
12.Fire In My Soul
13.Silhouette In Red
14.Bad Dreams
15.I Climb Every Mountain
16.Clouds In My Coffee

Disc 2
1.It's A Heartache
2.Breakout
3.Call Me
4.Against The Wind
5.James Dean
6.Save Your Love
7.Years May Come
8.Cryin' A Little
9.Take A Chance
10.Race To The Fire
11.Angel Heart
12.Daytime Friends
13.I'm Only A Lonely Child
14.All We Have Is Tonight
15.You're The Greatest Love
16.I Cry Myself To Sleep At Night

Disc 3
1.More Than A Lover
2.Where Were You
3.God Gave Love To You
4.Sending Me Angels
5.Careless Heart
6.Whenever You Need Me
7.Why
8.Till The End Of Time (Duet with Dan Hartman)
9.Heaven Is Here
10.Love Is In Love Again
11.Too Hot
12.Save Me
13.He's Got A Hold On Me
14.Tell Me The Truth
15.Keep Your Love Alive
16.Here Am I
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'ALL THE 'HITS' OF THIS 'ROCKER' ON-BOARD', 5 May 2014
By 
rbmusicman/and/movie-fan' (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bonnie Tyler: The Best (Audio CD)
'Bonnie Tyler' rocked the charts between 1976-1985 her rustic voice
appealed to 'Rock and Pop' fans alike, she burst onto the scene with
'Lost in France' way back in 76' she continued to pepper the chart
with many memorable numbers for the next decade.
Amazingly, considering the appeal she commanded back then she only
achieved the one, Number '1' that being 'Total Eclipse of The Heart' in
1983, however she did achieve three further Top 10 hits in addition to
those mentioned, those being (Three more Classic Tracks) 'It's a
Heartache' (Chart Number 4) 'A Rockin' Good Way' (Chart Number 5)
and her last 'new-entry' in 85' 'Holding Out For A Hero' (Peaked at Number
'2')
Some of her other well remembered numbers on board include...'More Than
A Lover' 'Faster Than The Speed of Night' 'Have You Ever Seen The Rain'
'Married Men' and 'If You Were A Woman' ( And I Was A Man) among the
list of 18 Rockin' Great Sounds on-board.
(All the best remembered solo releases on-board this release)
Of course as many will no doubt know, 'Bonny' is still 'Rockin'
I Would expect all Rock/Pop collector's to have at least one of this Lady's albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album!, 5 Aug. 2000
This review is from: Bonnie Tyler: The Best (Audio CD)
There's not much I can say except that I enjoyed almost every one of the songs on this album and that it's definitely worth buying if you don't have anything by Bonnie Tyler.The only thing I was disappointed about was that it did not have "Take Me Back".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect CD for the casual buyer, 19 May 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bonnie Tyler: The Best (Audio CD)
If you really don't care to hear anything else from Bonnie Tyler other than the songs that made her name in Britain - then this really is the only album you'll ever need.

It was originally released in 1993, and contains every chart hit that Bonnie had in this country up until that point. As Bonnie has only had one more hit over here since (1995's 'Making Love Out Of Nothing At All'), it still contains everything aside from that one song.

So, if it's 'Holding Out For A Hero', 'It's A Heartache', 'Lost in France' and 'Total Eclipse of the Heart' that endear you to Bonnie, you'll find them all here, as well as her duet with Shaken' Stevens, minor hits and album highlights to make up the numbers. As there are no liner notes to tell you this, you might be interested to learn that Tina Turner's 'The Best', Cher's 'Save Up All Your Tears' and Aswad's 'Don't Turn Around' were actually recorded by Bonnie first, and it's the Tyler originals you'll hear on this CD.

The material is an electric mix of rock, pop, country, even disco, and demonstrate what a versatile artist Bonnie is. If you really enjoy the husky voiced diva, and don't mind paying extra, I highly recommend the two disc set Total Eclipse - The Bonnie Tyler Anthology ,which spans her career 1976-1996, and includes lots of hits that were never released in Britain, that actually came after her 1980s UK heyday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bring on those memories., 7 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bonnie Tyler: The Best (Audio CD)
years ago i had 'Faster than the speed Light'. I loved it.
The vinyl has long gone, i bought this as i heard the song recently. A very good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant CD, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All the Best (Audio CD)
This is a triple cd that both hubby & I agree we like, there are so many tracks there has to be something for everyone to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oldie, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bonnie Tyler: The Best (Audio CD)
Got this cheaply as I used to have similar. Fills in a space in my 'retro' music collection.
Sounds good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bonnie Tyler: The Best
Bonnie Tyler: The Best by Bonnie Tyler (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews