Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one to get, 25 July 2009
By 
70s "arrow" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sound of Philadelphia (Audio CD)
I wondered wether to get the 4 cd box set of Philly sound but in the end went for this set. The tracks are a great mix and really distill all you need from this label onto 2 cds. Any more would be too much, any less not enough. As it is, you can tap your tootsies to the singles that you remember with all the classics that you need here within the 2 cds. Definately the one that you want
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An introduction to the fantastic Philadelphia Sound, 26 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Sound of Philadelphia (Audio CD)
This CD contains some of the first records I bought in the early 70's fromthe fantastic singers, musicians and arrangers who built the distinctiveSound of Philadelphia. You won't find very hard-to-find Philly gems inthis compilation but instead you'll get big hits that deserve to be heardagain and again.
If you're not already familiar with theultra-sophisticated soul sound that was recorded at Sigma Sound Studiosthroughout the 70's and early 80's, BUY THIS RECORD NOW ! Then you canbegin your search for the hundreds of other recordings featuring the samefabulous musicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sound of Philadelphia (Audio CD)
Been looking for this album for ages. so I'm really happy I managed to get it and I still love it as much as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bringing Back The Good Times, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sound of Philadelphia (Audio CD)
I bought this album for one very good reason. I used to be a dj in commercial radio some years a go, and used one of the instrumental tracks as a link to introduce guests and generally talk over. I lost the cart that it was on. I have now returned to radio presentation and just had to buy the album carrying the track I loved. I no longer talk over any of it, times have changed. The track, however, remains just about my all time favourite. The whole album is outstanding value, bring back, yes, those good times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars back to my youth, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sound of Philadelphia (Audio CD)
some fantastic tracks , watching recent documentaries on Disco prompted me to buy it. Would recommend if you like soul or disco.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Sound of Philadelphia Various Artists, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sound of Philadelphia (Audio CD)
Good soul group. Some great tracks to take you back to the 1970's & 1980's. A must for your soul collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The sound of Philly!, 14 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Sound of Philadelphia (Audio CD)
Ordered to replace a tape I played in the early 70s and it is fab! Reliving those soul years! Do buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Philly Magic, 9 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Sound of Philadelphia (Audio CD)
An enjoyable immersion into the distinct sound of a city. Comparable to New Orleans R&B or Nashville C&W. The mellow sound of seventies dance music is showcased here with a full range of familiar and influential tracks. A number of Philly compilations are available, this may be the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like TSOP, 29 May 2009
This review is from: The Sound of Philadelphia (Audio CD)
You will love this album.
Good compilation, good intro to TSOP, or as an addition to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sound of Philadelphia
The Sound of Philadelphia by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews