Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Without Rivals, 12 Oct 2006
By 
Robert Knowles "109Rob" (Cardiff, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walk On Water (Audio CD)
Even without Michael Schenker, UFO are a very good rock band indeed. With Michael Schenker, they are capable of being the world's greatest rock band, as Walk on Water demonstrates. This is UFO's classic line-up, and it shows. The song-writing is first-class, establishing Mogg as rock's finest vocalist in my view. The guitar-work is what shines out, however. Schenker emerged in that pre-shred guitar era when there was plenty of raw power and speed, but without the generic 'sameness' of more recent shredders. Rock songs should not just be vehicles for guitar-tricks, but integrated units that take you on a journey. And yet, the guitar-work must still be great - Schenker achieves this here. The song dictates the guitar-work, and not vice-versa. And yet, the standard of playing he reaches on tracks like Venus is awe-inspiring. But because it fits the song so well, you are given a choice: either you can go on your own journey when you listen to the track without being distracted by a showcase of vanity, OR you can listen to the great guitar-work. Walk on Water is really an 8 track album with 5 bonus tracks. All 8 of the main tracks are good, with not a single filler. The first 2 bonus tracks are quality new versions of old classics. The last 3 bonus tracks are adverts for band-members' solo projects - i.e. of these three tracks Schenker only plays on the track from his solo MSG project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dreaming of Long Lost Summers, 9 Mar 2007
This review is from: Walk On Water (Audio CD)
I was a huge fan of the "classic line up" in the seventies but lost track of them for a number of years after Schenker left. I didn't much care for the replacement and what with frequent line up changes the band seemed to take an AOR direction. I followed MSG until they got "McCauleyfied" and I guess I just grew old and lost interest in all things UFO. I have always liked beefed up cover versions of old classic songs and recently got blown away by the Schenker Pattison Summit albums (awesome guitar work!). On the back of this and with new found enthusiasm I bought this album about six months ago and it was like being seventeen again. This is a terrific album and I was a re-born fan as soon as "Self Made Man" hit the headphones. "Venus", "Pushed to the Limit" and "Darker Days" are all great UFO tracks with the Schenker Mogg partnership rekindling their seventies magic. None of the other songs disappoint either as the classic line up are in fine form and the production is far superior to anything in the past. The album is a little short on new material with only eight songs but I prefer it that way like the good old vinyl days. This means there are no fillers, only quality tracks. To fill the CD space there are two great re-workings of old favourites "Doctor Doctor" and "Lights Out". This CD version also includes bonus songs from MSG, Paul Raymond Project and Mogg/Way, Raymond's solo effort being the weakest on the album (All are great non the less!). I can honestly say this is up there with their seventies stuff. Unfortunately it was another down hill slide as later albums "Covenant" and "Sharks" although good did not reach the heights of this. The more recent stuff with Vinnie Moore on guitars has rejuvenated the band once more so don't you Schenker fans ignore "You Are Here" and "The Monkey Puzzle". Also check out "$ign of 4" and the Mogg/Way albums which are also brilliant UFO-like albums in all but name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BLOODY GREAT ALBUM A MUST HAVE FOR ALL UFO FANS!, 5 Sep 2000
By 
This review is from: Walk on Water (Audio CD)
Yes as I said above this is an amazing album probaly one of the best by UFO with the great heavy tracks like 'Knock Knock' and the great new versions of 'Doctor Doctor' and 'Lights Out' this tops this off to be an all time classic album, this album will be remembered forever. If you like UFO, sorry I won't except your excuses NOW BUY THE ALBUM!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music for the grown ups, 29 May 2006
This review is from: Walk On Water (Audio CD)
As I write this is on sale for less than a fiver - if someone can come up with a better way to spend this, I'll eat my socks!

UFO have managed to avoid living on past glories or trying to keep up with trends - what they have done in recent times (starting with this album) is to continue to play the absolute best of melodic rock without feeling out of touch with their roots or their ever advancing age (they've been around for more than 30 years) - like some of us of advancing years, they seem to be able to recognise that you can be contemporary without having to be trendy.

There are some references to the past - the remakes of Lights Out and Doctor,Doctor are there I think to link new listeners to their past, but if you are a first time listener, ignore these and instead enjoy what is probably one of the best comeback albums of all time - when you put this album up against modern rock albums, you can see how hard it is for new acts to beat the past masters - any modern rock album has to reference UFO in one way or another, as these guys are on top of their game here, combining meaningful lyrics (listen to Pushed to the Limit if you want to know what being middle aged feels like) with guitar work of the highest level thanks to Mr Moody himself, Michael Schenker.

If you are under 30 and into modern rock oriented music, then risk a fiver and enjoy a dip into the past - if you are over 30 and remember bands like Thin Lizzy but haven't listened to UFO before, then sacrifice a pint and buy this instead - you won't regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thier Best Ever??, 4 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Walk on Water (Audio CD)
What a surprise. Well recorded and consistantly great material. Sounds great on a high rez system or a rock system. Standouts are "Self Made Man," "Knock Knock," "Stopped By A Bullet," "Dreaming Of Summer," but every track is good. As a bonus the new versions of "Lights Out," and "Doctor Doctor" are better than the originals. If you liked "Strangers In The Night," then get this disk now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believe The Hype -- "Walk on Water" is an Amazing album, 4 Aug 2008
This review is from: Walk on Water (Audio CD)
It's pretty rare that I'm in awe upon listening to a CD for the first time; and that's what happened with UFO's "Walk on Water."

I heard the hype surrounding this the first time around back in 1995/1996, but at that time I was just a casual fan with a passing interest in some of the band's earlier material from the 70's. It was also around that time that my interest in music took a nose-dive due to the proliferation of boy-bands corporate creations that dominated the music scene.

Fast-forward ten year later. I see the CD, remember the good press it got, plop down my money, then pop it into the car CD player. I was immediately impressed with the production and sound quality. "A Self Made Man" was good, but CD for me really kicked in with "Venus" and never let up.

"Dreaming of Summer" has got to be one of the best songs I've heard in the last 15 years by UFO, or anyone. I can hit replay on this one and never tire of it. Why they don't play this in concert in a mystery, as it's one of the best songs UFO has ever done.

Now let's get to the rarity of old bands resurfacing to create a successful album. There are only a few that have done this successfully to create a new fan base. Duran Duran is one that comes to mind from the early 90's with the 1992 "Wedding Album," but this one should be right up there with it. It's my understanding that the volatility of the relationship between Michael Schenker and the rest of the band resulted in the band titling the album "Walk on Water," as it was deemed a miracle such a reunion could happen. It's got to be hard to work under such conditions -- especially with Schenker's erratic behavior -- but if this album (and to a slightly lesser degree "Covenant" and the great "Sharks") is any indication, these guys can still create magic when they get into the studio.

This is one of those rare instances where you can believe all the four and five star ratings -- it's that good. If you're a fan of UFO and you don't have this album -- get it. No question about it, you'll be happy with your purchase. If you're a fan of guitar driven rock, Classic Rock, 80's hard rock, get this. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Comeback Album Ever !! (at least if you're a UFO fan), 30 July 2014
This review is from: Walk on Water (Audio CD)
I've been a fan of UFO since first hearing Phenomenon,their Chrysalis label debut, and their first with Michael Schenker the German wunderkind. I loved them and bought each new album, and went to every concert I could, including in 1978 during the Obsession tour, when they recorded the iconic Strangers In The Night album. So naturally I was devastated when Michael Schenker left UFO to form his own band, the fantastic Michael Schenker Group, or MSG. So when I heard about the classic line-up of Schenker, Mogg, Way, Raymond and Parker getting back together to record an album, I was excited. Well, let me tell you I was not disappointed in the least. The album they put out was Walk On Water, produced by the man who worked with them on their greats, Lights Out, Obsession and Strangers In The Night, Ron Nevison. From the blistering attack of Self Made Man,Pushed To The Limit, Darker Days and the little more relaxed Venus, every song is a rocker, not one dud on this album. It was almost worth the wait. This album is an instant classic . If you're a UFO fan you have to have this album, if you're not, buy this album and you will be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive return, 13 Sep 2009
By 
Maris Ginters (Riga, Latvia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Walk On Water (Audio CD)
Classic UFO lineup together again - sounds promissing. And it is! This is a top notch comeback album with many great songs and bonuses that make this album only better.

The album kinks in instantly and never lets go. The songs are catchy and melodic as ever "Knock, Knock", "Pushed To The Limit" and "Dreaming of Summer" being my favourites. The addition of fresh versions of "Doctor, Doctor" and "Lights Out" together with individual songs of UFO musicians makes this a worthy comeback. So sad it didn't last long enough to overpower or match this great record as follow-ups are weaker albums. Nonetheless, Walk on Water fits in well with UFO's classic sound and albums which made them rock stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars UFO Walk on Water, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walk on Water (Audio CD)
Their best album since Schenker left in 1980. Every bit as good as Lights Out, Force It, No Heavy Petting etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Funky Comeback album with Michael!, 13 May 2013
By 
Gerard Masters (Soggy Seattle, Wa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walk on Water (Audio CD)
This is the 'European' version with the two classic ufo remakes and the three 'solo' bonus tracks. I wish this album was recorded a bit more 'live'-it's very dry sounding but it's an excellent album nonetheless. UFO is a great band and fans are having a feast at these reissues coming out over the past two years or so. Getting this one from the 90's filled in that blank spot for me...
Gerard Masters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Walk on Water
Walk on Water by UFO (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews