Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Music for the Monged
I cannot emphasize enough how monged and spaced out this album sounds, even more so than anything the Dandy Warhols (first two albums, not the new 'pop' encarnation) or SFA could muster.
'Vanishing Point', this albums template is one of my favorite albums ever, eclipsing both 'XTRMNTR' and 'Evil Heat' for essential Screamabilty, but 'Echo Dek' is totally off the...
Published on 8 Aug 2002 by plathandpinter

versus
7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a bit boring
This record uses vanishing point as it's base material, but the changes seem almost pointless compared to the briliance of the source.
It's a bit dub, and a bit chillout,...
it's also not a bit as good as the original.
Published on 6 Feb 2005 by Andy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Music for the Monged, 8 Aug 2002
This review is from: Primal Scream - Echo Dek (Audio CD)
I cannot emphasize enough how monged and spaced out this album sounds, even more so than anything the Dandy Warhols (first two albums, not the new 'pop' encarnation) or SFA could muster.
'Vanishing Point', this albums template is one of my favorite albums ever, eclipsing both 'XTRMNTR' and 'Evil Heat' for essential Screamabilty, but 'Echo Dek' is totally off the wall.
Existing in a completely different galaxy from the new Kevin Sheilds era Scream of moutains of sonic 'Valentines-ish' guitar, the Sherwood mix of an already horizontally challenged album is excellent in its appropriation of Augustus Pablo Dub, from randon bleeps to outbursts of what sounds like Classic FM and whole oceans of echo, this album sounds massive and can easily compete with Screamadelica's more relaxed moments for the sountrack to the end of an evening.
Not essential, or suprising if you own this albums inspiration, just you'd be pleased you bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bliss, 24 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: Echo Dek (Audio CD)
Scruffed up, chaotic and dark, play this when you need to loosen your musical waistband. Almost a genre in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing stuff, 19 Mar 2007
By 
Mr. L. Pokorny "LuPo" (Czech Republic) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Echo Dek (Audio CD)
I have listened to many albums but this one stays at the top. Maybe I just love those ones that have soul - I want to get scared, I want to smile, cry.... I have recently listened to Fourtet - Pause and even though a great piece of work I miss the subtleness that goes with Echo Dek. It's a joy to lie down and just listen. It's multilayered, emotional, great and I love it. Buy it. It's worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a bit boring, 6 Feb 2005
By 
Andy (Omega Land) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Echo Dek (Audio CD)
This record uses vanishing point as it's base material, but the changes seem almost pointless compared to the briliance of the source.
It's a bit dub, and a bit chillout,...
it's also not a bit as good as the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Dub-'Star', 4 July 2009
By 
J. Harrison (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Echo Dek (Audio CD)
Yes, it's the dub version of Vanishing point. Excellent to chill-out to. If you don't like Primal Scream?, even better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fuzzy echo beats, 29 July 2000
This review is from: Primal Scream - Echo Dek (Audio CD)
I enjoyed Vanishing Point so much I decided to buy it's dub remix sister, and let me tell you, it ain't arf bad.
Just don't listen to it at 3am whilst driving home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Primal Scream - Echo Dek
Primal Scream - Echo Dek by Primal Scream (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews