Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars212
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 November 2005
For those of you wondering about the absense of "Hold on Tight" in the track list above - dont! It's there (track 13 disc 2). In fact I can't think of any hits missing from this collection from one of Britain's most versatile, creative and talented bands.
33 comments|53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2001
This is a terrific CD for anyone who has ever listened to the great classical rockers that were ELO. The CD contains all their UK singles and some album tracks as well. I think one of the things that made them so good was the fact that the utilised all of the technology of the time and were quite different to anyone else (although I suppose they are quite Beatles influenced). Look out for tracks such as Telephone Line, Xanadu, Mr. Blue Skies, Livin' Thing...all fantastic.
11 comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2006
The best compilation that E.L.O. have on the market. Every hit single is here. You realise how good a band is when you begin to like the tracks you don't really know more than the big hits. Check out "so serious" for instance. A classic. If you are looking for an E.L.O. best of this is the one to get.
0Comment|57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The group was the brainchild of legendary musician 'Roy Wood' and with 'Jeff Lynne' formed the group in 1970.
The concept was to bring together a group of talented musicians to bring a classical sound to the Rock/Pop
scene.......though because of issues with management and a unsuccessful tour of 'Italy' 'Roy Wood' left the group
early on to form 'Wizzard' however 'Jeff Lynch' continued with the music concept the group started out with.
During the early days the home audience (U.K) didn't really latch onto the sound, however in 'America' they loved
the material, of course as music-history shows 'E.L.O' did become popular with it's U.K homeland, the group in fact
actually became one of the biggest selling outfits world-wide from the mid to late 70's.
Ironically though the group had many, many Top Ten hits here in the U.K there only number one was in fact a track
they teamed up with 'Olivia Newton-John' to record - 'XANADU' mid 1980.
It would be fair to say the music the group recorded was 'pure-quality' achieving the vision of their creators........
The 2-CD release has just about all the chart-hits including 'Xanadu' listed above - '10538 Overture' Chart '9' 1972)
'Roll Over Beethoven' (Chart '6' 1973) 'Evil Woman' (Chart '10' 1976) 'Livin' Thing' (Chart '4' 1976) 'Rockaria'(Chart
'9' 1977) 'Telephone Line' (Chart '8' also 1977) 'Mr Blue Sky' (Chart '6' 1978) 'Wild West Hero' (Chart '6' also 1978)
and in the same year - 'Sweet Talkin' Woman' (Chart '6') and 'Hold on Tight' (Chart '4' 1981) - all of which can be
found on-board, the ones listed were the groups U.K TOP 10 successes, they had many more all of which can be
found among the 38 tracks on-board.
(I remember back in 73' going to a Disco i used to visit regularly with my partner back then, it was a 'Jazz' night, they
had a live group playing, when they finished playing the disco kicked in, the first few bars of 'Roll over Beethoven'
rang out, I'd not heard the release before, obviously when hearing the first few bars i wondered what the heck what
had we walked into this night, however, thankfully my fears were soon put to rest realizing it to be a great pop-soun d)
E.L.0 were indeed a quality outfit, i can say with confidence, if you love the music this 2-CD offering will give you pretty
much all you'll ever need to remember their music.
44 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2001
When you buy a greatest hits album/best of album you always nowadays expect a new single to be pushing it too.A new realese that goes alongside the album. Not here you dont.When it comes to greatest hits and near things too this album rocks alright it is perhaps the jewel of the crown of compilation albums releases no songle has been ommitted some songs included.This was and is the elo i knew and loved from 1972 onwards to 1986.All the essential songs are here, like the brilliant 10538 overture and Roll Over Beethoven and the fantstic stringing symphonies that are the ELO sound Mr.Blue Sky,Telephone Line, Wild West Hero, Living Thing,Rockaria,all from the early 70s and of course the 1980s selection include Xanandu,Dont Walk Away,IM Alive all from the soundtrack of the Movie Xanadu with Olivia Newton John. Not forgetting Rock n roll is King and 4 little Diamonds too a very under rated singles indeed from the Album Secret Messages. I f your new to the sound of the elo why not buy this first and work your way back through their entire collection and hear for yourself the genius of Jeff Lynne and co and prepare to feast your ears on a treat.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2001
A great cd for Electric light Orchestra fans, it covers all the classics like Mr Blue Sky, Sweet talking Woman, Xanadu, Livin'thing etc. Easy listening. great value for money. Worth buying
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 August 2007
For less than seven quid, this album is just a fantastic steal. Thirty seven tracks including all the hits and a couple of what, in reality, are lesser known gems.

As others have said, the track order is a little screwy, though it does encourage you to listen through a disc and not just cherry pick with programming. Not that that's too much of a privation in all honesty, because there is surprisingly little filler on there.

My one, tiny peeve is that the unutterably wonderful 'Bluebird' from Secret Messages doesn't merit a place on this collection (I certainly prefer it to Getting to the Point, for example). But you can't have everything.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
I was given this double CD as a Christmas Present and, having heard several greatest hits compilations of this band (I've still got the first Greatest Hits on vinyl), I was extremely impressed with what I heard. The first two Greatest Hits don't even cover their repertoir (10538 Overture and Roll Over Beethoven are missing), but every single hit's included on this, plus you get the single versions. I've followed ELO's hit career from the time I heard Showdown, but it wasn't until I bought their entire album collection on vinyl in 1983 that I appreciated Jeff Lynne's prowess as a songwriter. Time, I think, to be collecting the CDs, even though my vinyl collection still sounds as good as the day I bought the albums.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2000
I've been waiting for ELO to release a "Best of" album for a while so I could get all their songs onto one CD. And here it is!! Worth waiting for. All the songs spanning ELO's history are there; from the fast and downright funky such as "Four Little Diamonds" to the slower and moving "Don't Walk Away". Old favourites line up alongside tracks I hadn't heard before. Listening to this it's hard to believe that only one ELO song ever got to number 1 in the UK! Even though the album is 2 CDs, all the songs are different and there aren't really any weak tracks, just various shades of greatness! Check out "Secret Messages" and "Here is the News" especially. This one goes on repeat in my CD player - DEFINITELY!!!!!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2009
Searching through the compilation albums and trying to find a comprehensive one took a while, and then I came upon this one. It is brilliant. All the ELO hits you expect to find are on it and more. Some hits I had forgotten about were wonderfully reinstated in my memory and it gave me immense joy to be listening to them all again. Albums of 'Greatest hits' have been disappointing in the past with only a few tracks but this has 38 tracks! Don't worry about other compilations out there, if you want a good overview of ELO throughout the years, get this one.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)