Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy it!
I think for its time, this album dererves 4 stars! Kylie's second album on the PWL Label back in 1989. This album, unlike her debut a year previous, has more varied styles and sounds, a sign of what we would be in for for years to come!
Starting with the first single to be taken 'Hand on your Heart' this is when Kylie peaked the first time around! With it's typical...
Published on 26 Mar 2004 by Mr. P. Cushion

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK if you are a Kylie fan
This album was probably recorded at the height of Stock, Aitken and Waterman's influence and contains the rather formulaic music that this implies. It makes for quite hard listening all at one go. With the passage of time some of the tracks have acquired 'golden oldie' status and individually may possess some nostalgia value. If you want to listen to old Kylie you are...
Published on 6 July 2012 by A. Owen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy it!, 26 Mar 2004
By 
Mr. P. Cushion "Paul Cushion" (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Enjoy Yourself (Audio CD)
I think for its time, this album dererves 4 stars! Kylie's second album on the PWL Label back in 1989. This album, unlike her debut a year previous, has more varied styles and sounds, a sign of what we would be in for for years to come!
Starting with the first single to be taken 'Hand on your Heart' this is when Kylie peaked the first time around! With it's typical 80's Pete Waterman's Hit Factory sound! A lot these sound the same such as 'Never too late' 'Nothing to lose' 'I'm Over (dreaming over you)'. But as i said this album appeared to be the first sign of experimenting with tracks such as 'My Secret Heart' 'Heaven and Earth' and the sweet 'Tell tale signs' these songs are more soulful and could vision her laying over the top of a piano singing to these!
This was also the time that Kylie made her first film 'The Delinquents' which featured Kylie's cover of 'Tears on my pillow' which also features on this album! If you like today's Kylie it's very interesting to take a trip back and hear this kind of stuff of hers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful pop music from Kylie's early years..., 10 Aug 2001
By 
Dave Beards (Sydney Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Enjoy Yourself [Australian Import] (Audio CD)
This is Kylie's second album produced and written by the production and writing team of Stock, Aitken and Waterman. This album sounds as fresh today as when I first heard it in 1989. Every track is a carefully composed pop song what will have you up and dancing around the lounge room! Contains the hits 'Hand on your heart' and 'Wouldn't change a thing', my favourite song would have to be 'My secret heart', a wonderfully composed ballad that has lyrics that I can very much relate to. A wonderful album and a great showcase of Kylie's early years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple message, simple album, 21 Jan 2003
This review is from: Enjoy Yourself [Australian Import] (Audio CD)
There is nothing remotely groundbreaking about Enjoy Yourself, the second album of Kylie's career and to me is just a follow-on from the previous year's Kylie album. The album came out in late 1989, around the time that Kylie was beginning to change and wanting to take charge of her own career. This must have been a difficult album for her to make with all the restrictions that were placed on her in the Hit Factory, but, like the true star she is she didn't let any of this show.
The first track recorded especially for the album was Hand On Your Heart and became the second song to be lifted from the album. It quickly became one of those annoyingly catchy songs that people loved to hate after a while although in 2003 it now sounds brilliant. The second track on the album and the third single, Wouldn't Change A Thing is much more polished pop and has a much less annoying feel to it. The video for this was the first to be filmed in the UK and sees her having bags of fun messing about in a large garden on a sunny summer afternoon. Never Too Late, the fourth single picks up where Hand On Your Heart left off and then hands the baton over to Nothing To Lose. It isn't until Tell Tale Signs that we notice a remarkable change in the album - a song that doesn't sound like one we've already heard. A cool ballad, it begins to show the true potential in her voice and makes you feel she is destined to do something much better than what she currently is. Especially For You is the soppiest point on the album. Who can forget the cheesiest video in pop hostory, filmed with Jason Donovan at her every beck and call. The fact that it was all over the charts at Christmas 1988 meant it had been played to death and could surely have been left off the album. I'm sure an extra track by just Kylie herself in place of this song would have been much more well received, but hey, it's unlikely she had a say anyway. My Secret Heart borders on stupidity as it seems to have no melody or purpose but you quickly forgive her when the next track I'm Over Dreaming (Over You) starts up. Disco Kylie is back and is even becoming less cheesy. Tears On My Pillow became her fourth number one single in the UK and was the theme to the (quite) good film she made, The Delinquents. This was actually a cover but the original was only really a hit in the USA so not instantly recognizable as a cover to Kylie fans. Heaven And Earth begins to wind things up on the album and then we suddenly hear Enjoy Yourself, the title track, and possibly the best message to people that any album has ever given. It's an upbeat track, a fun track with a simple message - just enjoy life. What could be any better than that. Not a brilliant early Kylie album but you get a feeling from this album that something better is just around the corner. This album waves goodbye to girl-next-door Kylie with the first single from the next album, Better The Devil You Know, changing everything...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's got a good beat and you can dance to it, 29 Nov 2002
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Enjoy Yourself [Australian Import] (Audio CD)
This has long been one of my favorite albums. It is unfortunate that this album's lukewarm reception here in the U.S. contributed to Kylie's exile from our radio stations. It is true that Kylie's second release isn't a groundbreaking, breakthrough achievement, and indeed it does reflect the pop music so popular in the late 1980s. It is only natural that today's listeners would view this album as a product of its times, but to criticize it for being what it is seems silly to me. Some might call this bubble gum pop, but I am not ashamed to say I have always loved that kind of music. These songs are all fun to listen to and never grow old. Had I an ounce of rhythm in my body, I would be compelled to dance to these songs; "Hand On Your Heart" and "Wouldn't Change a Thing" in particular have a great beat. As a young person contemplating the wonders of the fairer sex, upbeat tunes such as "Never Too Late" and "Nothing to Lose" often lifted my spirits. "Heaven and Earth," "Tell Tale Signs," and "Especially For You" are wonderful ballads, and Kylie's cover of "Tears On My Pillow" is enjoyable. "Enjoy Yourself" basically sums up the whole album--this is an upbeat album filled with tunes encouraging you to forget your troubles and just enjoy life. There are no bad songs to be found here; I cannot listen to one or two songs without listening to the entire album. Some may think the lyrics are sappy and shallow, but one must keep in mind that Kylie was only about 20 years old when "Enjoy Yourself" was released. I think this CD is much better than Kylie's debut, and I would hope that fans just now discovering this wonderful singer will seek out this early material and give it a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second album maintains style of debut, 28 Oct 2004
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Enjoy Yourself [Australian Import] (Audio CD)
In 1980's Britain, the most successful pop record producers were the team of Stock, Aitken and Waterman. Many of their singers faded from popularity as quickly as they emerged, leaving a legacy of doubtful importance. A few did rise above the rest but the star that shone the brightest was Kylie.
This album was produced entirely by Stock, Aitken and Waterman, who wrote all the songs except for Tears on my pillow (the Little Anthony fifties classic). This cover helped to convince me that Kylie should be taken seriously - it is brilliant. I've heard several versions including Reba McEntire's. Kylie should be proud of her cover, which went all the way to number one in Britain, even though I slightly prefer Reba's. Hand on your heart (number one), Wouldn't change a thing (number two) and Never too late (number four) were the other UK hits from this album.
While many will continue to dismiss Kylie (especially these early albums), she is much better than many of the singers she is sometimes compared to, and has proved it by lasting longer than any of her critics thought possible.
Note that this CD is also available via the boxed set - Kylie Minogue x3. It's only three individual CD's wrapped in a cardboard slipcase but it's much cheaper than buying the three separately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy Yourself Fine singer.otlichny disk., 14 Sep 2012
By 
Boris Cherniak "Boris" (rossia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enjoy Yourself [Australian Import] (Audio CD)
Very much was delighted when received your disk. Took great pleasure. Should recognize that the best songs, it is a track No. 1 and a track No. 2. They very much remind the first disk of the singer. The best disks of the singer, I consider the very first three disks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars why i love this album, 26 Nov 2007
This review is from: Enjoy Yourself [Australian Import] (Audio CD)
I spent alot of time in hospital and i listened to this album constantly and it pulled me through some very very tough times so this album out of every album ever available this has to be my very fave album EVER
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A strange sequel, 28 Jun 2012
This review is from: Enjoy yourself (1989) (Audio CD)
Kylie's second SAW release is a bit strange to me. It contains many hits and I think that they are actually catchier than the ones from her debut, I just love the title track that closes the album. On the other hand it contains a cover "Tears on my pillow" not my favorite Kylie track but her vocal performance is fantastic. A cover I can understand but there are also some "new" SAW ballads here that sounds like music from the 40s or 50s, not bad (I like "Heaven and earth") but strange. Was that modern and fresh in -89? Anyway I love her SAW years and it is a good album, I give it 4 stars, but it is her weakest from that era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK if you are a Kylie fan, 6 July 2012
By 
A. Owen "anthonymowen" (Orpington, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enjoy Yourself [Australian Import] (Audio CD)
This album was probably recorded at the height of Stock, Aitken and Waterman's influence and contains the rather formulaic music that this implies. It makes for quite hard listening all at one go. With the passage of time some of the tracks have acquired 'golden oldie' status and individually may possess some nostalgia value. If you want to listen to old Kylie you are probably better served with a Greatest Hits collection which will contain more variety. Unless there is a track on this album that triggers particularly special memories for any reason there are much better Kylie albums for you to purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Enjoy Yourself [Australian Import]
Enjoy Yourself [Australian Import] by Kylie Minogue (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews